Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger

Conehead flies are perhaps the best prospecting fly pattern ever. The classic wooly bugger is tied with a cone head to get the fly down quickly in faster, deeper water. The Cone Head Wooly Bugger is a consistent strike producer. Sizes: 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Review 1 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
truly best all-round fly,
March 2, 2014
By: Miguel417
"i am a saltwater fly fisherman, so when i had to go freshwater, i purchased 5 of this flies on a size 6 olive, but i didn't wanted to write a review until i had finally tested it to the max, this is one of the best all round flies on the market, got out to a ranch lake, caught 14 bass in one hour (all between 1-4pounds!) then on a trip to argentina i caught one 26 and one 27 1/2 inchers. best freshwater fly out there, very pleased, thank you orvis"
Review 2 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Mid-Depth Woolly Bugger Fly,
December 8, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I find the brass cone head woolly bugger to be a great choice on mid-depth waters; it gets down quickly but not as deep as a tungsten head fly. Great producer on lakes, ponds and streams, especially for bass."
Review 3 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cone heads a good bet for Bass,
March 11, 2013
By: TK121
from South Central Texas
"I use the cone head wooly bugger for Texas Bass. They work good in olive, black, and brown colors in size 4-8. Been on the water a few times with conventional Bass fishermen and caught more fish using these."
Review 4 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smallmouth Killer,
October 25, 2012
By: denmac
from Thorntown, Indiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Was out over the weekend and caught six smallmouth in about an hour and half and missed 3 others.I had one that I saw at about 24 " break my 6 lb. tippet and got away with one of the four I order. I ordered different sizes and colors and they all catch fish! Love those Wolly Bugger!!!!"
Review 5 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hopeless: Try this!,
May 2, 2012
By: bangorme
from Bangor, Maine
"Was striking out and tied one of these on. Within a half hour caught a large brook trout and a good sized salmon. Good in fast water especially, but try it when you can't tell what they are feeding on."
Review 6 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Has what it takes,
December 6, 2011
By: logic
"Well constructed fly, I have caught more than a dozen trout before it finally started to come apart. The fly is very effective for some reason, as it's a fairly generic pattern. It works."
Review 7 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly,
November 22, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"Fly box should be loaded with these. Will catch anything from trout to panfish. Weighted head helps get it down quickly."
Review 8 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One fly not to be without,
January 14, 2011
By: mojoky
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The wooly bugger is probably the best fly available. Stranded in the wilderness with one fly, this would be it. I fish the olive, bead or cone head, here in southern Kentucky and it's never let me down. I'd would stretch to say, it would catch fish in a parking lot. A good dependable fly when nothing else works."
Review 9 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Versatile Fly Ever,
February 23, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The wooly bugger is probably in the top 10 of most recognizable flies in the United States, having the ability to catch about almost any fish. The orvis conehead edition is a superb version of the fly, adding weight to get the fly down where the fish are. The extra crystal flash triggers those harsh strikes when nothing else seems to be working, and you can't beat Orvis' flytiers (masters of the craft). I gave it a 4/5 for cost, because if you can tie your own flies, then it this moderately easy-to-tie fly is a easy to tie and modify to your own liking at home, saving you a little bit of cash for purchasing other orvis products. If you don't tie your own flies though, make sure you have a handful of these in different sizes, weights, shapes, and colors."
Review 10 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best single fly out there,
January 18, 2010
By: Teflon
from Colorado
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I think the cone head (or bead head) woolly bugger is the best fly out there for general fishing. It'll catch just about any species of fish on the planet if tied in the right size, and can mimic bugs, baitfish, or other things depending how you fish it. If I only had one fly to fish an unfamiliar stretch of water this would be it."
Review 11 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
go-to fly,
June 15, 2008
By: MacH
from Joseph, OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is the best producing black woolly bugger that I've found in 15 years of guiding. I'm not surprised that JayM caught his first steelhead with this fly. I'm an Orvis Endorsed Guide on the Grande Ronde and I've had clients catch many steelhead on this pattern in sizes 8, 6 and 4. This is a "go-to fly" for trout and steelhead."
Review 12 for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steelhead,
October 31, 2007
By: JayM
"Caught my first Steelhead using this fly on the Grande Ronde river (tributary of the Snake) in late October."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Brass Cone Head Woolly Bugger
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1