Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cone Head Marabou Muddler

Add a cone head to the front of a Marabou Muddler fly and not only do you get great action from the marabou, but the fly gets down where the fish are, particularly in heavy current. Use the cone head version of the Muddler fly when the water is fast and deep. In sizes: 4, 6, 8.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Cone Head Marabou Muddler
Review 1 for Cone Head Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice little streamer,
April 13, 2015
By: Flyfisher96
from Fresno,CA
"I bought this streamer and a few others for my backpacking trips in the high sierra mountain range. the fly is a little smaller than i was expecting but over all is of good quality. Orvis' customer service is through the roof they sent my flies to an old address and when i contacted them about it they sent me new flies free of charge."
Review 2 for Cone Head Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good!,
April 8, 2015
By: SkysoldierWWF
from Western Washington
"Picked this up for a trip bass fishing and it worked very well for both Largemouth and Smallmouth. The fly is well made and the color combination makes it a good choice for just about any fish I would target."
Review 3 for Cone Head Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Fly,
December 18, 2014
By: RDO126
from NYC Fishing Department
"Purchased two dozen white Maribou Muddlers. They're our "fly of choice" for big rainbows during our annual trip to Alaska. Always keep some for myself and share with friends who wonder why we're doing so well!"
Review 4 for Cone Head Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crappie,
April 15, 2014
By: Sonnek
"Caught 4 to 5 15in crappie with this just the other day, its the one do all fly for sure!!"
Review 5 for Cone Head Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Change Up Streamer,
March 16, 2014
By: VirginiaTom
from Southwest Virginia
"Great pattern in the black. On a recent trip caught a difficult rainbow who kept short striking on a black bunny muddler. Changed over to this and finally got the 14" rainbow hooked up. Was using size 8 in both patrterns.
Thanks for great patterns like this."
Review 6 for Cone Head Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
too large,
May 25, 2012
By: scarletlady
"well made but a size 8 or 10 hook would be better for trolling for trout."
Review 7 for Cone Head Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mottos minnow streamer,
April 21, 2011
By: carpmaster
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Tthis is one of flys you would do anytjing to get back if its your last one,for example: i ordered 2 of the mottos minnow so i was already short i got hung in a tree an climbed the tree to retrive the last lure. But it is the best brown trout ever i garunteeeee!!!! TRY IT OUT."
Review 8 for Cone Head Marabou Muddler
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
4lb 5oz Rainbow Says YES!,
September 7, 2010
By: DrPresto
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Biggest fish I've ever caught Fly Fishing. 9/1/10 White Maribou Muddler.
Must have for deep water and big trout."