Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lefty's Deceiver

Unquestionably the most famous and ubiquitous saltwater fly pattern in history. The Deceiver's profile matches so many baitfish and every saltwater fly box needs both sizes and all colors or it's not complete. Length 3½, 4½.Sizes: 1, 2/0.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lefty's Deceiver
Review 1 for Lefty's Deceiver
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
repeat purchase.,
June 12, 2014
By: Nymphlover
from Fort Worth, TX
"I really like this pattern and the Clouser minnow. I have been lucky with this in the past and I bought these for my brother. I feel like it presents well and holds up well in salt water."
Review 2 for Lefty's Deceiver
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Fly,
March 1, 2014
By: DetroitontheFly
from Detroit
"Fly is of good quality, however there is no option to have the flies shipped faster. That is kind of a fail in that regard."
Review 3 for Lefty's Deceiver
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Striper Lure ever,
August 19, 2013
By: KalvinwithaK
from Plymouth, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My expiernece with this product was very nice. My first time I used it I caught 5 striped bass in just one day. I highley recomend this product to saltwater fly fisherman, fishing in small areas such as rivers and marshes."
Review 4 for Lefty's Deceiver
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality Flies,
February 19, 2013
By: tulsaflyfisher
"I ordered a half dozen of these in different colors for bass fishing in Oklahoma. These are very good quality and will catch lots of fish before finally being eaten away by those angry black bass."
Review 5 for Lefty's Deceiver
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Deceiver,
December 28, 2012
By: planefun01
from Freeport, NY
"great quality, great price and caught a few good fish too!"
Review 6 for Lefty's Deceiver
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Quality,
June 24, 2011
By: TFR2
from Casco Bay, Maine
"I've stuck some nice striped bass with this fly. I've found the Orvis deceiver to be a higher quality than what I was purchasing locally. They last longer and fish better."
Review 7 for Lefty's Deceiver
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perhaps the best baitfish imitator ever!,
March 7, 2011
By: MBBC05
from New England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished the Deceiver in many situations in both freshwater and the salt. This fly has caught more species of fish than any other fly I have used. I caught several smallmouth bass in one morning on Cape Cod and used the same fly to catch schoolie stripers and blues that night! This is a wonderful pattern and a must have in any situation when baitfish are a main forage! The color of the Deceiver can have an influence on success and vary by species of forage, conditions and even the region. I often ask the locals for advice when in doubt."
Review 8 for Lefty's Deceiver
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Albie killer!,
October 26, 2007
By: Kingfisher810
from Sandy Hook, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Spanked roaming albies from the beach on this fly, very durable to last me the day and imitates the rainfish well... a picture speaks a thousand words!"
Review 9 for Lefty's Deceiver
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Stipers,
October 4, 2007
By: todd
"I've caught many striped bass on this fly in the Kennebec River in Maine. And as a plus I also caught 3 brown trout with it. So I would say this is a fly that should be in everyone's fly box."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Lefty's Deceiver
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3