Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Scottish Tartan Trousers

The Highland spirit lives in these 6.6-oz. pure worsted-wool tartan pants. Royal Stewart, Black Watch and Buchanan clan tartans serve you well while entertaining at holiday festivities or relaxing beside the fire, a dram of single malt in hand. Plain front with an inconspicuous comfort waist. Rear besom pockets. Classic fit, trimmer through the thigh. In Black Watch, Royal Stewart. Dry clean. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
32 of 36(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Review 1 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Christmas pants,
December 6, 2014
By: Doceyes
from Houston, TX
"Fabric was fine, not the softest wool. Poor construction with uneven side seams. I asked for straight bottoms and they came totally unaltered. I called and got some credit to go to an alteration place here, plus had to do extra alterations to fix seams, etc."
Review 2 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas pants,
January 19, 2014
By: jtweedy
from Chicago, IL
"Given how expensive these type of pants are, these are the best trousers on the market! They look great, hang very well, and are warm. I have worn these pants out to dinner and holiday parties. Each time, I get stopped by multiple people to ask "where I got those pants." I plan on buying the red pants next."
Review 3 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Trousers,
January 16, 2014
By: MBnJET
from Richmond, VA
"Great fit and comfort in a classic look trouser. High quality fabric; unlined."
Review 4 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CLASSIC TOUCH TO ANY OCCASION,
January 16, 2014
By: MEILLES
from BATON ROUGE, LA.
"Normally I would wait for a sale to purchase pants at this price but I'm glad I didn't. These pants are nice in every way and fit like they were tailor made. They seem to dress up any outfit for any occasion. There is something festive about the wearing of the tartans. Great pair of slacks."
Review 5 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Expectations Fulfilled,
January 2, 2014
By: Francly1
from Central New Jersey
"Always pleased with the quality of products offered by Orvis and these trousers reinforced my commitment to your fine company. They are well made, comfortable, and exactly what I wanted. Thank you!"
Review 6 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trousers,
December 30, 2013
By: BigRedIrish
from Philadelphia, PA
"The Stewart Scottish Tartan trousers are a great fit especially well in size 42 I used them on Christmas eve to a few affairs and received great complements"
Review 7 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice quality,
December 30, 2013
By: AKStevens
from Memphis, TN
"My husband was very pleased with the quality of these pants and how quickly they were delivered. He wears a long length that is never in the stores, so it was nice that we received them so quickly."
Review 8 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black watch plaid,
December 26, 2013
By: Muggymoo
from Manchester MAY
"These pants were a gift for my 26 yr old son. They fit perfectly and were the hit of all the Christmas parties. They are classic and traditional, you can't go wrong with these pants!"
Review 9 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for!,
December 26, 2013
By: Cryan
from Mobile,AL
"I wore them on Christmas Eve attended 3 parties and church and everyone liked my new red tartan trousers! Several of my friends ask where I got them. I like the feel and quality of the fabric -- the tailoring was exactly as I'd ordered. To say I was EXTREMELY pleased with my new plaid trousers would be an understatement. I'm a true Orvis fan!"
Review 10 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointing in most ways,
December 25, 2013
By: mapache
from no. california
"initially excited to don the stewart tartan trousers. they were a big hit at the holiday jamboree. the fit was a bit snug and the fabric less than satisfactory, but the crowning blow came when then inner thigh seam began to unravel and fail miserably. will send them back scornfully and promptly."
Review 11 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scottish trousers,
December 20, 2013
By: blackcloud
from Corning CA
"Bought these Black Watch wool trousers to replace a pair I had had before which had worn out. They fit well and were cuffed to the right length for me. The wool is of a fairly heavy weight and hangs well. After being involved in Scottish events for over 24 years, I find that I sometimes prefer trousers to always wearing my kilt to some of the more casual events and that these still look better than just regular wool trousers."
Review 12 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great color and quality,
December 16, 2013
By: JackieH
from River Forest, IL
"I had my eye on these pants for awhile for my husband and when they arrived the quality and color/fabric were beautiful. Unfortunately, the thighs are cut straight and not giving at all.....hockey player thighs don't fit in these pants. I was very sad.....whoever gets these will for sure be a hit at the next holiday party though!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
December 16, 2013
By: NattyGreen
"I ordered a pair of the Black Watch Tartan trousers for the holidays, and ended up returning them after they arrived. My main reason for doing so was that the outer seam on the trousers had a very noticeable "pucker" - there was too much loose, overlapping fabric on the seam. This may have been a flaw with this pair of trousers, but I would rather have the option to see these in a store, rather than online only."
Review 14 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants for hubby!,
December 14, 2013
By: outinthecold
"These came in four days cuffed and hemmed to order, so my husband wore them to a party that night. They fit perfectly and are made well and fabric is very nice. They were very wrinkled and needed to be steamed, but shipping was free, so I can't really complain."
Review 15 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
POSITIVE,
December 14, 2013
By: svenskapojke
"Pants arrived on time and fit perfectly! The quality on initial valuation seems excellent. I am very pleased with the on line transaction!"
Review 16 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
December 11, 2013
By: PaulT
from PA
"Always a hit at holiday gatherings, this is my second pair of Scottish Tartan Trousers. I went with red this time, but I've had the green pair for years and they've held up very well. The material is high quality and they always get a positive comment at parties."
Review 17 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scott's Pride,
November 24, 2013
By: Schoonering
from Long Island, NY
"These tartan pants are superbly tailored and the wool is soft enough to wear comfortably from late fall on. Can't wait to wear them during the holidays and to our annual Robbie Burns' birthday dinner."
Review 18 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finally got Blackwatch slacks!,
October 23, 2013
By: Catnipherb
from Wilmington, NC
"I've been looking for a sport coat and/or slacks for years that would cost less than $500. Orvis provided it!
My only complaint is the 44 waist size is a large 44 and buckles around my waist under my belt."
Review 19 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another pair,
October 15, 2013
By: flyfishr
from North Carolina
"This is the second pair that I've ordered. The first was the Royal Stewart and liked them so well that the Black Watch was next. They'll do very well dressed up with a dinner jacket and vest., or simply at holiday parties with a sweater.
Can't go wrong with these."
Review 20 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tartan trousers,
October 1, 2013
By: flyfishr
from North Carolina
"A great pair of pants! Good weight; perfect fit; and although unlined, with this lightweight wool, you don't really need a lining. This is more a Scottish summer-weight wool. :>) Perfect for Fall and Spring in the U.S. Ordered a second pair in the Black Watch tartan."