Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Scottish Tartan Trousers

The Highland spirit lives in these 6.6-oz. pure worsted-wool tartan pants. Royal Stewart, Black Watch and Buchanan clan tartans serve you well while entertaining at holiday festivities or relaxing beside the fire, a dram of single malt in hand. Plain front with an inconspicuous comfort waist. Rear besom pockets. Classic fit, trimmer through the thigh. In Black Watch, Royal Stewart. Dry clean. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
52 of 60(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Review 1 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 19, 2015
By: urlepuex
from Winsen ( near Hannover ), Germany
"Hello!
I'm versy interested to buy this trousers in blackwatch.
My dates: Waist= 52 cm, length fom waist = 105 cm, uncuffed
"
Review 2 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love 'em so much that I purchased a second pair!,
April 8, 2015
By: DoVo
from St. Louis, MO
"These dress slacks are gorgeous and great in the fall & winter months... a Holiday "go to" item for sure. I believe that they fit true to size and the comfort waist is a plus. I highly recommend and know that you'll NOT be disappointed."
Review 3 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these trousers,
March 31, 2015
By: captjake
from Colleyville TX
"Wore them on St Patrick's Day with a Irish sweater. Got many complements.
You can dress them up with a coat and tie. Very Cool.
"
Review 4 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy these,
March 9, 2015
By: JohanR
from Great Falls, VA
"I bought two pairs of this model. Both pairs tore along the seam between my legs, the first time I sat on a chair.
The stitching was very poorly done.
It is a pity that a company with Orvos' reputation would sell such a poor garment."
Review 5 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A couple of dissatisfactions,
February 21, 2015
By: Quig487
from Silver Spring, MD
"I didn't notice that this pair of pants had the "inconspicuous comfort waist which is hardly "inconspicuous." It is a doubled-over somewhat bulky fold over of material on each side above the hip with a piece of elastic running thru it. And I wish the fabric were a bit heavier -- it is luxuriously thin. Nevertheless a nice pair of pants."
Review 6 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed in fabric,
February 11, 2015
By: JCCG
"I was so excited to see that you had black watch wool
Slacks! Such a classic. I bought them for my husband and 3 sons. Unfortunately, I had to return all of them. The fabric was very thin. when I returned them at the store, the salespeople agreed that the quality/fabric wasn't what you usually have:(. Please bring the old wool fabric back ( these felt like thin flannel). I will buy 4 pairs of each fabric! You don't need to post this. I don't like to leave negative comments but I hope you'll switch suppliers and/or fabric!
"
Review 7 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Search Is Over,
February 10, 2015
By: Ratherbhunting
from Racine, WI
"I have searched a long time and finally found a quality pair of Scottish Tartan Trousers. The fabric, fit and detail are excellent. Every time I wear these I receive compliments and am asked where did you get these."
Review 8 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Holiday Trousers !!,
February 9, 2015
By: Bluehorse1
from Charlotte, NC
"I was very pleased with my new Black Watch Tartan Wool trousers ! Weight is just right, not to heavy for N. Carolina. Sizing and hemming done very well."
Review 9 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
February 4, 2015
By: raybates
from Newfane, VT
"These Tartan Trews are very well tailored and are a perfect fit. The quality was apparent from the moment I opened the package, but then anything I've ever bought from Orvis is!
I have even ordered a second pair."
Review 10 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality!!,
January 20, 2015
By: STLRichard
from St Louis Mo
"I have been looking at these pants for a while! And when they went on sale I ordered a pair!! And when I received them I was amazed at the quality!!!! Wool Black Watch pants are very hard to find!! I was very glade to find them with the quality and price that only Orvis had!! And the first time I went out in them I had a number of people ask me where I got them!!"
Review 11 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scottish Tartan Trousers,
January 14, 2015
By: KsWhirly
from Mission, Ks.
"Very well made; has an elastic waistband expansion feature which makes them very comfortable.
I ordered these to replace a pair of Black Watch Plaid trousers I had years ago.
Very pleased."
Review 12 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic pants,
January 9, 2015
By: Plamuktod
"These pants will serve me well during the holiday season and beyond. Great color and nice fabric, too."
Review 13 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beatuiful Pants,
January 7, 2015
By: ChristmasPants
"I love the pants. Bought the red one this year for Christmas because last year i purchased the green one. But having a pair already i bought a larger size as i thought the green ones were a little tight. The new ones fit and felt great but some time Christmas night the split on the seam in the seat area. I will have them fixed but its annoying."
Review 14 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
January 3, 2015
By: JRDone
from Madison, CT
"These pants are made of a fine quality fabric, the tailoring provided for an excellent pattern match and the fit is very comfortable
Needless to say, I am very happy with these trousers.."
Review 15 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CHRISTMAS pants,
January 2, 2015
By: BBbloor
from Plymouth Ma
"My father, who passed away a year ago, used to wear similar pants pretty much all December. It was wonderful to find your tartan pants on your website. The pants arrived the morning we were leaving for Ohio to spend CHRISTMAS Eve with my father's family as we have for the past 50 years. The size was perfect!! They were the hit of the party. It was a great way to keep my Father's memory alive!! Thank you for making my Christmas so special!!"
Review 16 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tradition with added value,
December 30, 2014
By: Thwack1
from Illinois
"Having received the Scottich Tartan Trousers just in time, I wore them Christmas Eve for the first time. What to my discovery were many nice enhancements over my retired Orvis Tartans. The hidden, expandable waist band was not a bulky configuration. Yet, the flat front update still offered a comfortable amount of fabric through the hips and thighs.
An updated classic trouser was worn with my suble grin of repeated satisfaction from another Orvis product.
"
Review 17 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these pants,
December 23, 2014
By: Whg4
from New Jersey
"Super comfortable pants that look great. Love wearing these for the holidays. The comfort waist is greatly appreciated this time of year."
Review 18 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor product,
December 20, 2014
By: DCMD
from Washington DC
"Sizing was huge in the rear. Poor construction. Would not recommend. Product was returned."
Review 19 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
December 20, 2014
By: PaulG48
"Classic look for Christmas. Nice fit and quality tailoring."
Review 20 for Scottish Tartan Trousers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Christmas pants,
December 6, 2014
By: Doceyes
from Houston, TX
"Fabric was fine, not the softest wool. Poor construction with uneven side seams. I asked for straight bottoms and they came totally unaltered. I called and got some credit to go to an alteration place here, plus had to do extra alterations to fix seams, etc."