Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Jefferson River Hat

Fur and wool together provide more durability and water repellency than a hat made exclusively of one or the other. The Jefferson River Hat combines both for ruggedness and packability, with a 3-inch turndown brim, genuine leather band around the crown with feathers, and a leather sweatband. In sage. Made in USA. Men's hat sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼ -7⅜), XL(7½ -7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
23 of 26(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jefferson River Hat
Review 1 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice hat, runs large...,
June 11, 2013
By: MikeNicelyDressed
from Lake Wylie, South Carolina
"Hat is very nice but runs larger than sizing diagram.... had to return to the store and they didn't have the next size down, rather then take a chance on shiipng another I went without... Next time I'll buy at the store after fitting correctly..."
Review 2 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My first real hat...,
May 14, 2013
By: Winterpro
from Williamstown,MA
"Move over baseball cap... I have long searched for the "right" hat and this it. Just a good blend of 'city' and 'country' and not too 'stuffy'. I personally like the soft, not too wide brim. To call it a "rain hat" would be an over statement; first time out in a rainstorm the elements came right through..."
Review 3 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PURCHASE,
April 19, 2013
By: CHRIS1BOB3
from OHIO
"HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR THE MAN OF YOUR DREAMS. COLOR AND STYLE ARE BOTH GREAT. SHOULD RECEIVE A LOT OF COMMENTS LIKE "WHERE DID YOU GET THAT HAT"" OR "OH I REALLY THINK THAT'S A SHARP HAT YOUR WEARING""
Review 4 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not As Good As Original,
March 19, 2013
By: BeachRick
from Ormond Beach, FL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"First, Orvis CS was fantastic, via the online chat, at finding what we had hoped was an Orvis hat I already owned (literally a Salvation Army purchase with which I was thrilled). It appeared to us that the Jefferson River hat was "it". I was ordering it for a family member who had admired mine.
And it ordered/shipped very timely and he was thrilled to receive it.
However when I visited him in New York City recently, eager to see the hat...I NOTICED IT SEEMED DIFFERENT. I couldn't place the difference...but the brim just seemed "floppy" - less substantial than I recalled MY hat feeling/looking.
All the other parts - material, inner silk liner, inner leather band with all the same gold lettering (e.g. "Wings of the West"), leather/feather band - were the very same.
But when I got home to mine I found the difference: where my brim was "trimmed off" - with a rollover stitching to give it substance and hold the brim shape - HIS was just plain material out to the brim...no trim/rollover stitching...which led to the "floppy" look when he was wearing it.
HE didn't know the difference - he was very happy. But I did.
Love MY hat...go back and reinstitute the original design!"
Review 5 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor quality construction,
March 11, 2013
By: goingback2Filson
from Virginia
"I have had a couple other Jefferson River hats from Orvis,, My new one my wife got me through me for a loop. It is by first look the same but after closer inspection the quality is noticeably substandard. It is of a lesser grade wool felt, and the construction is not the same as my previous ones. The brim is unstructured on the new one and does not hold a shape, not so in my older ones. Orvis did not loose my future business, but I will check their quality very closely. Traditionally their quality is never a question, but I hope this is not my first hint toward lesser quality products and ever growing increased prices.. disappointed to say the least.."
Review 6 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darn good hat,
December 30, 2012
By: Chinatech
from Salisbury, NC
"This hat seems as good as advertised and looks great. However, the best selling point was the excellent way it was packaged for shipment."
Review 7 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Somewhat disappointed,
October 8, 2012
By: mwillia
from Monroe, NC
"I recently purchased this hat after it became available again. I have had 2 other Jefferson River Hats in the past and simply worn them out. I was not pleased with the new hat because the brim has been shortened and was no longer bound at the edge. In my opinion this detracts from the overall look and fit of the hat."
Review 8 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 31, 2010
By: cranford
from Northern VA.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband picked this out of the catalog and really seems to like it. I wasn't sure because he was only used to the Army Beret. But he says it is comfortable and flexible, and it really does look nice on him."
Review 9 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Hat,
December 28, 2010
By: OregonAndrew
from Eugene, OR
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This hat is fantastic. i wear an XL, and its hard to find a hat that looks right on my big head, but this hat is just excellent. It looks great with formal or casual attire, wears well in cold wet weather. The brim is a bit floppy, but that just means you can train it to however you want it to look if you take the time.
This is the most "western" hat i own, but still looks great with a scarf and top coat, and i get many compliments on it.
No one can believe what i paid for it, either; everyone thinks it must be an expensive hat.
Thank you Orvis!:)"
Review 10 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Hat,
September 30, 2010
By: OregonBuckeye
from Gateway to the Gorge, Oregon
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm a type of buyer who will research things through and through before making a decision to purchase.
After reading everyone's review on this particular hat, I thought perhaps this is the one I need for use here in the Pacific NW.
I'm VERY pleased with the quality and construction of this hat. I expect to be able to wear this for years to come."
Review 11 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Babe Magnet,
May 26, 2010
By: BRN2RUN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love this hat overall for it's style, material and comfort. While I am a married man and generally oblivious, I have to say that it never fails to draw the ladies' eyes (and a few guys wishing they had such a hat). Remarkable. More remarkable is that my wife liked it from the start, too, when she's usually indifferent to hats. Really not good for the summer season but a nice addition to my wardrobe and I agree that the brim could be stiffer. Other than that, pretty darn good buy, I'd say."
Review 12 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
New hat,
March 24, 2010
By: spyder
from Burleson,Tx.
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Hat , quality material, finish good quality, trim couldn't be better. Only bad thing in my estimation is the brim is to floppy needs to be a little stiffer . Otherwise one of the nicest hat I've owned ."
Review 13 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Hat,
March 18, 2010
By: Lillah
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this as Christmas gift for my husband. He loved it. Everyone wanted to try on when he opened this gift. He wore his hat quite a bit during the winter snow storms . Kept him warm and protected from the weather. Kept its good appearance through snow and then recently, rain. Highly recommend. Tried to order same hat for another family member but needed size small which is not an option! Very disappointed about that."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
February 24, 2010
By: Cabforles
"I have only had this hat for a little over a month now, and we have had allot of rain here in northern California, it has held up fine, really like the color and style."
Review 15 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Workhorse of a hat,
February 7, 2010
By: Bamabrushbuster
from Alabama
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This hat fits comfortably and performs well in all weather conditions. It holds its shape through the packing and traveling that hunting involves, whether near or far."
Review 16 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
January 15, 2010
By: sgbtn
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I don't usually wear hats, but the Jefferson River hat feels so good on my head that I wear it everywhere.
I love this hat. It was a great value! Once again Orvis has exceeded my expectations with another great product.
"
Review 17 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift This Christmas,
January 15, 2010
By: LLC3
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this hat as a gift for my boyfriend, and he absolutely loves it! It looks great on him. He has said numerous times this was his favorite gift this Christmas! I had shopped locally prior to going on-line, and this hat is superior to anything I found in any store."
Review 18 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great style - but!,
January 6, 2010
By: Norrie
from West Scotland
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had my hat for a couple of months. Look great wears well. But!
Got caught out in the heavy snow a few days ago and the feather detail partially came of the hat band. Bit disappointing. That apart Great Hat.
"
Review 19 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
January 1, 2010
By: halfpin
from Northeastern PA
"This hat is as good as advertised. Everyone compliments me and wants to try it on. I would highly recommend this hat to any one. Rich looking, very fashionable and fits well."
Review 20 for Jefferson River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
river hat,
November 9, 2009
By: colinwil
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This hat certainly met my expectations. Comfortable to wear with either casual or more "formal" attire it fits the bill!"