Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sneaky Pete Popper

A superb surface fly or popper fly to strip along the surface of the water to get big strikes from bass or pike. Give this popper fly a strip so it dips into the water, then let it rest. Strip it again. Fish love these flies. Everything from the rubber leg movement to the sound attracts fish. A great fly for fly fishing ponds and lakes for warm water species. In chartreuse, red, white, black, yellow. Sizes 4, 8.
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 of 23(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sneaky Pete Popper
Review 1 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these poppers,
April 3, 2014
By: Markfish
from Georgia
"Best bait ever would like to find the very small ones they are hard to find.the ones I bought are great for bass"
Review 2 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
LOOKS nice,
June 11, 2013
By: pm317
from Columbus, OH
"I've used sneaky petes' for years from several makers, and have consistant sucess with them. I bought a few from the local Orvis store recently in a couple different sizes and have to say they are the best looking petes' I've owned. Problem is they are just too heavy, tied on too heavy a hook. They float so low in the water that you can't see them, the nose barely breaks the surface. I plan to return them to Orvis."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Fly,
November 1, 2012
By: ACHC
"Well put together fly. Made up of solid materials, and a craftmans eye.
Competitive pricing as well...Well done Orvis!
"
Review 4 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy Popper,
May 29, 2012
By: SLTrout
from Kansas City, MO
"I have used these poppers in all kinds of water. They are made well and hold up for many fish. Bluegills Beware!"
Review 5 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tops,
May 23, 2012
By: Mountie
from Rogers, AR
"What fun I had catching fish on this fly. The fish couldn't resist."
Review 6 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bass fly,
December 13, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"Bass love this thing. Doesn't snag when thrown in the weeds which is a plus"
Review 7 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not bad action,but...,
August 25, 2011
By: revdon
"I used this lure in some of Oregon's prime smallmouth water, the John Day River. I liked the action quite a bit, moving underneath the surface the rubber legs moving back and forth. I like the weed guard, which does not show in the picture of it in the online catalog. I didn't like that it made no popping sound. I had bought it as a popper. I have yet to catch a fish on it, or even have a strike. I will continue to try it, but it will not be a MUST carry for me."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 14, 2011
The Sneaky Pete is technically a slider which ducks underneath the surface when retrieved as opposed to a popper which pushes water. A proven presentation is to cast it out and let it sit until the rings disappear. Strip and dive the fly and then let it sit again until rings disappear. Repeat.
Review 8 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal Fly,
July 25, 2011
By: PureMichigan
"This fly works wonders. I've caught more bass and panfish on this fly than any other fly in my inventory. The fly is also substantially versatile. You can cast and twitch it, or switch up the speed of retrieve for quick strikes. I highly recommend this fly to all levels of angler; beginner through advanced."
Review 9 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Huge Bass,
July 6, 2011
By: Fishonator
"I took this popper to a lake that I fish often. I had previously bottom fished it, catching huge numbers of smaller bass, perch, etc, along with some large mouths.
I fished a yellow version of this popper this past weekend. I caught consistent and HUGE bass, without having to unhook a million sunnies and baitfish in the process. The wiggle of the popper's legs imitates a frog or crayfish and drives the Bass crazy. It is also relatively tangle free in weeds, allowing you to get to places a worm can't go.
A great popper!"
Review 10 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Popper,
July 5, 2011
By: bbb13
from toms river,nj
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use these Sneaky Pete poppers all the time with my Orvis Power Matrix rod. I have a variety of sizes. Catch just about every species in the small lakes I fish. By far my favorite top water lure."
Review 11 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perch killer,
June 27, 2011
By: gfmd33
"This fly in either white or chartruese will catch perch hand over fist in my local Texas Hill Country rivers. It will also catch bass as well, but it really shines when fishing to perch especially in calm shallow water where a loud popping noise may scare fish off. This should be one of the first flies you go to when fishing warm water rivers."
Review 12 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
June 20, 2011
By: MJN94
"This fly gave me the best night of fishing I've had in a long time. I caught dozens of Sunfish and Bluegill, and six Largemouth Bass, as well as some Crappie and Chain Pickerel, all with an orange Sneaky Pete. I retrieved the fly quickly, using consecutive small strips to attract the fish. The bass absolutely exploded on the fly, jumping often. The Sunfish and Bluegill cleared the water to get the fly, which I've seen before, but not often. The Pickerel cleared the water as well, which I'd never seen before. The Sneaky Pete is worth the money, and I've got 10 in my box at all times so that I never miss a chance to catch a plethora of fish."
Review 13 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smallmouth Love It!,
June 11, 2011
By: Trout24
from Boston, MA
"Bought this to catch small panfish and bass. Ending up using it on a smallmouth excursion. Couldn't keep them off it. It cast easily and has a great motion. A must Buy. Tight lines!"
Review 14 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite Topwater Fly,
June 5, 2011
By: bass12345
"My favorite topwater fly for bass and panfish would have to be a small, black Sneaky Pete Popper. It slides across the water smoothly, so i would call it a slider not a popper. I would definitely suggest purchasing this fly if you are into warmwater fly fishing."
Review 15 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sneaky Pete,
May 20, 2011
By: WSLC
"Awesome quality and the fish love them - perfect combination."
Review 16 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great beginner fly!,
April 16, 2011
By: DanoG
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Sneaky Pete was the first fly that I ever had consistent success with. In my early days of bass fishing I tried the "best" flies recommended for bass and pan fish. On my birthday one year my wife bought me a chartreuse Sneaky Pete not even knowing what it was. It is now number 1 with me and my fly casting buddies. If you are just starting out as a fly fisher, Sneaky Pete is highly recommended.
Pete casts easily and fish cannot resist it's surface action. SO MUCH FUN!
"
Review 17 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 3, 2011
By: fish83
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I just got the fly a few days ago and I have been out a few time since then. This fly is really turning into my go to fly. I have caught some nice largemouths each time out with this guy. Its a great quality fly!"
Review 18 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not an ordinary popper,
October 8, 2010
By: CycleGirl
from Burlington, VT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Small mouths, Crappie, and Black bass can't leave this alone. This Sneaky Pete works well even when all other poppers and flies do not produce"
Review 19 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best surface go-to fly for bass,
September 21, 2010
By: SoCalKayaker
from Orange County, CA
"I have used this fly when all others fail and it works great on surface and sub-surface feeding bass. Biggest yet is a 7 lb. largemouth caught mid-September early evening; bass sounded like a rock hitting the water when it sucked the fly in. Fly color was red and conditions were full moon, slight breeze, air temp being upper 60's F, and fishing around vegetation. The fly stood out on the surface with the moonlight shining down."
Review 20 for Sneaky Pete Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 8, 2009
By: JLMTX83
from Dallas, TX
"Cast this fly to a weedy area of still water and let it rest. Many times this fly gets hit as soon as it hit the water and before I am even able to strip it. Great job on this fly Orvis"