Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bluegill Bug

The most underestimated gamefish there is. On light tackle a good size bluegill is pound for pound one for the piscatorial world's great fighters. This little bluegill popper fly is just the ticket for drawing angry strikes on top. Want to teach a child to fly fish. Bluegills and this fly are the ticket for getting them excited. In red/white, black, yellow.Size: 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bluegill Bug
Review 1 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bluegill Magnet,
August 26, 2014
By: zonker1984
from St. Paul, MN
"Was out today around noon and this bug was just killing. Pulled a one pound bluegill out of the lake with it, as well as a bunch of just smaller ones. This popper draws serious attention, I had a whole school of little bluegill trying to hit it while I waited for a bigger one to come up and take it."
Review 2 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Gift For Both Of Us,
July 15, 2014
By: Foorme
from Avon, IN
"I bought these for my husband. I love bluegill and wanted him to take our grandson fishing when he visits us from Florida. Orvis had them here quickly and the guys are ready to go."
Review 3 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bluegill Bug,
July 2, 2014
By: MSFlyFish
"I was pleased with this purchase, but the bug does have a tendency to sink after fishing a while. After treating it with a dry fly treatment, it worked great."
Review 4 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Fly,
June 4, 2014
By: WD56
from Iowa
"Purchased several Bluegill Bugs and they have held up very well fishing big bluegills this spring on their spawning beds. Good quality and priced right. Will continue to order my flys from Orvis."
Review 5 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking fly!,
August 11, 2013
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"Quality fly with a great look! Can't wait to go try it out on the Bluegill!"
Review 6 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Good,
October 22, 2012
By: willy23
"Too small, It will not bring up the larger bluegills and is hard to spot"
Review 7 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black Bugill Popper,
July 24, 2012
By: habusan
from Virginia
"This little popper is used for numerous insects. I use it to imitate crickets, beatles and small bait fish. Don't let the small size fool you...the fish love it."
Review 8 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
popping popper,
March 30, 2012
By: litefoot
from naperville IL.
"In still waters ponds ,small lakes and slow streams, this is a vert effective fly. Most times I get strikes before the ripples stop.Panfish and smallmouth are the results"
Review 9 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 3, 2012
By: Scoutingtrout
"When I pond fish - this fly is good for bass and bream"
Review 10 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hoppin poppers,
May 10, 2011
By: ddssbb
"This may seem strange when you can by these at just about any large grocery store but, these are special. The quality is top notch and worth the price. They will far out last the cheaper ones."
Review 11 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flawless fly that's great fun,
January 28, 2011
By: TheOkieKid
"For a great day of fun fishing the blues, sunfish, bass - just can't go wrong with this fly."
Review 12 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bream/Panfish Fly,
August 15, 2008
By: JLMTX83
from Dallas, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This fly has really produced some nice bream and panfish for me when the it has warmed up for me. Lately i have been fishing and tying these flies in black with a little flash with great results. Give them a try in shallows around cover and this fly will put you on fish."
Review 13 for Bluegill Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why Isn't This A Top Fly?,
June 3, 2008
By: Boulder
from Blue Ridge, Va
"This is, without a doubt, the best blue gill fly ever. I've tried worms, lures, but none of these outshine the orvis blue gill bug. One day, I caught 20 blue gill in about an hour and a half.
PS- Try the yellow. It works best
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bluegill Bug
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1