Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Super Strong Knotless Leaders

The Super Strong nylon fly fishing leaders excel in the widest range of fly fishing conditions because the material balances three crucial elements better than any other fly fishing leader material: elasticity, knot strength, and suppleness. In olive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.849 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
52 of 53(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Review 1 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great price,
March 18, 2014
By: ffforever
from Wyomissing,Pa.
"I have used these before and am very happy with the product. Strong and durable and I would recommend these to anyone."
Review 2 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yet another Orvis Supurb Product,
March 7, 2014
By: DryFlyFisherman1
from Seattle, WA
"In the Pacific NW regon, these leaders will last throughout the entire fishing season. The taper is well designed and is supple enough to turn over flies perfectly."
Review 3 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tarpon tapers!,
March 7, 2014
By: FPDP
from Puerto Rico
"I use these short tapered leaders for baby tarpon and usually tie about 12" of 20# fluorocarbon to the end so I don't lose the flies. The leaders turn over very well and are ideal for this type of fish where a long leader is unnecessary."
Review 4 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long time user,
January 3, 2014
By: FISHERMAN206
from Pensacola, Fl
"I have been using Orvis leaders for many years and have never been disappointed. The material they use is strong and the taper allows it to lay out nicely. If I do my job, these leaders do theirs!"
Review 5 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most reliable product,
December 31, 2013
By: earthquake
from Leavenworth, Washington
"These leaders are by far the best knotless leaders I have used. here in Washington State I hook into some very large fish while fly fishing and the one thing I do not have to worry about is the leader breaking in your Super Strong Knotless Leaders. It assures me that I won't leave a fish with a fly or dangling leader in it mouth when i release the fish back into the wild or keep when I catch a hatchery steelhead for example"
Review 6 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Well Received Gift,
December 26, 2013
By: MomToHumansAndDogs
from Texas
"I mentioned to the person who received the product as a gift that Orvis had been asking for feedback. He said to say that he "is very satisfied" with the product--"it's overall a good company with trusted products.""
Review 7 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
December 13, 2013
By: PSUflyfisherman
"I have used these leaders for salmon and steelhead. They have very good strength and seem to perform well in cold weather too."
Review 8 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product as usual,
December 7, 2013
By: Retired09
"Top grade products . A pleasure to visit the Orvis store."
Review 9 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product,
October 21, 2013
By: NewMexicoFlyfisher
from Washington State
"Bought 6'length 1X (!3lb) leader on sale cheap. Worked great to tie on 12 lb fluorocarbon tippet for catching 10 pound steelhead."
Review 10 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Leaders,
September 16, 2013
By: DocOH
from Houston, TX
"Very strong leader with no bumps or irregularities. Good to buy!"
Review 11 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Strong,
July 15, 2013
By: firstfan
from Anchorage, AK
"These leaders are called Super Strong for good reason. I attach the 6' 1X to the fly line and then put on a 18 to 24" 3X tippet to land 5 lb. + Alaskan rainbows. Excellent value."
Review 12 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tapered leaders,
May 12, 2013
By: TroutBumApprentice
from Lincoln Park, Michigan
"Great quality leaders. I never had a reason to use anything else."
Review 13 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb leader!,
April 25, 2013
By: JoeS3
"Allows for excellent presentation of fly, and has wonderful handling characteristics. Rarely breaks off when fish strikes."
Review 14 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough Leader,
March 5, 2013
By: FPDP
from Puerto Rico
"I always keep a batch of these leaders with me when I am fishing pout of the country. I find that they turn over very well and are an excellent value for the cost."
Review 15 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
match leader length to cast & fly-type,
February 28, 2013
By: MisterDee
from NewEngland
"Have had nothing but good luck with Orvis's standards of taper. Always think you want to match leader length with your casting length as well as fly-type."
Review 16 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Same high quality!,
January 30, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Saginaw, MI
"Received the leaders quickly! As always, this is a product that measures up to the high quality we expect of Orvis products!"
Review 17 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely would recommend!,
January 25, 2013
By: brgnhunter
"These are probably the best leaders I have ever purchased! The loop that comes on one end of the leader makes attaching this leader as well as "change-outs" under some rougher conditions - very easy! I carry a few of these in different sizes in my vest and I'm ready for any conditions all day!"
Review 18 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Strong is Super Good,
December 28, 2012
By: Jack2
from Central California
"I've been using Orvis Super Strong Knotless Leaders for several years and they have never let me down. I became a believer after fly fishing trips to Kodiak Island, Alaska in 2011 and 2012. The pink salmon are tough fighters from hook up to they're beached. I couldn't believe how much pressure and load the leader could take run after run and run."
Review 19 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
super wow,
August 29, 2012
By: snakee
from missoula, mt
"Caught a 16 inch rainbow 20 trico first fly tied on stayed strong where others have broke"
Review 20 for Super Strong Knotless Leaders
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leaders: a most interesting topic.,
August 20, 2012
By: Ghostdog
from WI
"I don't always use packaged leaders, but when I do, I use Orvis Super Strong leaders."