Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shawl-Collar Pullover

The innovative blend of cotton and spandex is a unique combination of softness and durability that gives every piece a superior fit. Brushed to feel comfortable from the very first wearing, in a 2x2 rib that will hold its shape. Long tapered sleeves, straight hem. Washable. Imported.Sizes XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
33
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
4
109 of 124(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Review 1 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this top!,
March 5, 2014
By: farmgirl67
from LaGrange, KY
"I have one of every color. They don't require ironing. The collar adds a little more interest and elegance. I wear them out to dinner."
Review 2 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go-to winter top,
March 1, 2014
By: Babs123
from Minnesota
"This is one of my go-to winter tops. It is so soft and comfortable. The fabric is high-quality too, as I expect from Orvis.
I've had one for 10 years, bought another color every couple of years and wear them all through the fall and winter.
Flattering and comfortable, what more can I ask.
"
Review 3 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great sweater,
February 4, 2014
By: Acceber
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I received one of your shawl-collar sweaters for Christmas, and liked it a lot. Got a lot of compliments. So I ordered 2 more in different color. They fit so nicely."
Review 4 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not a Good Buy,
February 3, 2014
By: MichiganShopper
from West Bloomfield, MI
"Have had other tops from Orvis and find the same problem with this one. Tops are not long enough. One washing , cold water, line dry and STILL the length shrunk. Not happy.."
Review 5 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
January 16, 2014
By: Shopngirl
from Virginia
"Love this shirt. The quality of the material is very good; made to last. I bought one of these several years ago and it still looks like new."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fabric,
January 15, 2014
By: clpcap
from Bay Area, CA
"The Shawl-collar Pullover has great lines when worn and the fabric feels great to the touch. I will be buying another one in a different color."
Review 7 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good fit and color and feels good,
December 26, 2013
By: Buck8193
"Love the feel and fit of this pullover. You could wear it with jeans or slacks and feel comfortable."
Review 8 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for between the Seasons!,
December 10, 2013
By: JEAR
from Falls Church, VA
"The shawl-collar pullover is a great weight for late Fall, not too heavy, not too light, just right! I particularly like the contour of the shirt and the way it sits on the hips.The shawl collar keeps the neck warm and provides ample space to wear a necklace, an especially nice feature during the holiday season."
Review 9 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warn and Cozy,
December 8, 2013
By: LMayer
from Maine
"Very comfortable and thick. I did not give it a 5 only because the color was not as red as I hoped, just was a tad toward orange. I prefer deep red, but realize colored viewed online are always distorted. It is red enough for me, and I will keep it because it is SO comfortable yet dressy enough for work!"
Review 10 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
December 5, 2013
By: mlat
from Phoenix
"This shawl-collar pullover was exactly what I was looking for. I had one similar to this for MANY years until it almost fell apart. This one from Orvis is even better. It is so comfortable and fits well, not boxy!"
Review 11 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy Care,
November 13, 2013
By: Georgiashopper
from Georgia
"I ordered the pumpkin color; it's soft and as described. It runs true to size, leaning toward slightly smaller after the first wash. Appears to retain shape and needs no ironing. I can tell that with many washings the color may fade but that is normal with this type of cotton rib."
Review 12 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dissappointed,
November 12, 2013
By: Mistake
from Kansas City, Kansas
"I purchased this item and liked it very much so I bought two more colors. Before the two arrived I washed the first one according the directions on the garment and it shrunk. I compared it with the new ones and the sleeve length shrunk 2" and the overall length shrunk 1.5". The two are being returned.
Unfortunately this shrinkage has happened with every top I have purchased from Orvis. For the price paid this definitely should not happen. I will not be ordering any more."
Review 13 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Choice!,
November 6, 2013
By: stampqueen
from Muscatine, IA
"This is not so much a sweat shirt as a wear for or to most anything. The plum color makes a nice neutral. I have already worn this often. The collar is a nice touch. I plan on buying two more."
Review 14 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More earth tones, please!,
September 30, 2013
By: autumnlover
from Pacific Northwest
"I'd give five stars, but the color choices are frustrating. I discovered this top at a thrift store. I love the style, the ribbed knit, and the comfortable fit. It holds up well in machine washing. I still have the used one (a soft red) and three (3) in Autumn Glaze. Orvis, please offer this in a sage green, khaki, a warm tomato-soup red, soft brown, russet, etc. -- we autumn and spring, yellow-toned women are not flattered by black, blue, purple, or cool reds. I live in these tops in the cool seasons, and people must think I have just the one pumpkin-colored top."
Review 15 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent fit,
July 9, 2013
By: Gwagwa
from Northern UK
"It would have been 5 stars but for the fact that the colour is a little darker than I expected, but is brightened up with a scarf or necklace. Good quality."
Review 16 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 26, 2013
By: longtoesII
from North Carolina
"I liked this so much I bought two but it does run a little large. Material is great and perfect for fall or spring. Too warm for summer. Colors are true and the collar is great!"
Review 17 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm happy,
June 25, 2013
By: j13d
from Palo Alto CA
"Good autumn color, nice in-between weight (not t-shirt, not sweater), very becoming (though my arms are unusually long, and I wish the sleeves were half an inch longer). Too warm for current weather, so haven't washed it yet."
Review 18 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oh so very comfortable and stylish,
April 21, 2013
By: dinkyd
from Scotland
"This is already one of my favourites. The brushed cotton soft rib makes it very comfortable to wear. It is not bullky but provides just enough warmth without being heavy - more of a sweatshirt type than a jumper. The shawl collar sits beautifully and makes it that bit different."
Review 19 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good alternative to turtleneck,
April 10, 2013
By: LaurieElizabeth
from AL
"When only one layer is needed, this is a great alternative to wearing a turtleneck--much more stylish. I love how it fits out of the package, but after washing, it does shrink. Still fits, but would like more length in sleeves and body. Nearly all Orvis tops seem to have this problem--I like to stay covered when I raise my arms or bend over."
Review 20 for Shawl-Collar Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfy,
April 8, 2013
By: leogal
from Seattle, WA
"This pullover is soft and comfy. Fit is perfect. Love wearing it around."