Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

White & Dirty Bucks

You've never owned a genuine suede buck made as well as these leather shoes for men. Fully leather lined with full leather midsole for comfort. Leather piping detail for handsome looks. Clean by suede method only. Leather shoes for men in tan only. Brazil. Whole and half sizes: 7. In D width.
Average Customer Rating:
4.414 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
26 of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for White & Dirty Bucks
Review 1 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old School,
July 20, 2014
By: HappyOwner
from San Francisco, Ca.
"I own a pair of Orvis Dirty Bucks. Please bring back the white shoe in 71/2 D. I'm a buyer."
Review 2 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
red soled shoes,
June 19, 2014
By: mottt
"Dirty bucks, white bucks, blue suede, saddle suede need to be kept in stock and should include size7&1/2
Thanks.
3-4pair/year every year for 10-15yrs.
"
Review 3 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoe!!,
July 15, 2013
By: Professional44
from Syracuse NY
"Perfect fit right out of the box. No breaking in time at all. Sole provides good traction and support. Great looking."
Review 4 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
White Bucks,
June 18, 2013
By: ConnecticutYankee
"A Classic I can't live without. The style & fit is Perfect!!
Ordering online was a breeze. The shipping was super fast
Excellent merchandise and wonderful service from this company.
Happy Camper!!!"
Review 5 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Splendid retro shoes!,
May 15, 2013
By: Richardtheyardman
"Was asked to order these for a wedding. They're reminiscent of some I had years ago, and I am absolutely. Quality is first-rate!"
Review 6 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
White Bucks,
April 12, 2013
By: JCinAlabama
from Mobile, Alabama
"I purchased these shoes because I have returned to the Deep South to live where they are often worn. This was my first pair in many years.
I was most pleased with the fact that they were much more comfortable than I expected.
Sizing/fit from online purchase was exact.
Great shoes."
Review 7 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shoes,
January 24, 2013
By: Boomer215
from Haymarket, VA
"Great quality for the price, properly appropriately. Similar quality shoes from other brands were significantly more expensive"
Review 8 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good-looking,
January 23, 2013
By: DD111
from Southern California
"It's a good-looking shoe, but be very careful selecting the size; cross-country purchasing can be unbelievably frustrating. My suggestion is to order a half-size larger than your normal shoe size just to give your foot a little more breathing room. The white bucks are a cut above the marketplace, but they can soil much more easily."
Review 9 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Cool"shoes,
January 13, 2013
By: Frednita
from SPRINGFIELD MO
"Cool shoes for an eighty six year old man who had been looking for some just like them in his size 13 D. They are classic for gentlemen of all ages,especially for those who have worn them in happy times in the past!"
Review 10 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compare B4 You Buy,
June 2, 2012
By: elvisdog
from Chattanooga, TN
"Shoes are personal and tricky to buy on line and returns can be a hassle. Therefore, shop B4 you buy.
These will be the shoes you will love and won't return.
Pros: True to size. Use the size of your most comfortable shoe and order that size. No break-in period required (no blisters or rub areas). Like all shoes that fit well they "relax" and fit even better over time. Within a day of wearing the souls flex easily and the uppers obtain their natural crease for all day walking. The insole is leather, slightly cushioned and a comfortable arch (I am almost flat footed). Two amazing attributes; one, they are extremely well constructed and you would expect these shoes to be heavy - they are extremely light weight! And secondly, they are surprising cool all day which is not expected for a leather lace up shoe. Wore them at daughters graduation in outdoor 96 degree heat in the sun. My feet were the only thing comfortable.
Cons: Laces are very flimsy. Be careful and buy a new pair because these will break on you. The shoe tongue will be stiff at first where it hits the top of your foot. Simply flex it back and forth at the tip end and it will be fine from then on.
Note: These are near white shoes (bone color) and can be dressed up or down. I wear with jeans and Sersucker suite. You must spray them with a leather waterproofing before you ever were them. I wore them in grass, dirt roads and parking lots and they stayed looking great. Many people comment on how well they look and "how do I keep them clean?". I waterproofed them first.
Orvis: I shopped for a week before I settled on Orvis. They are a little more money but well worth it. Do not buy shoes that stand out like these and then not enjoy them all the time. Shipping was fast too. They have a great return policy, but I haven't had to use it. Hope this helped in your decision.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good looking shoes,
May 4, 2012
By: Philray
"I really liked the quality of the shoes. My only problem is that they were darker than I was looking for."
Review 12 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An old favorite,
March 4, 2012
By: Woots
from Union, Kentucky
"This is my third pair of dirty bucks from Orvis. I keep coming back for a reason. I still wear the first and second pairs (they last forever), but needed a "dressier" pair. Comfortable right out of the box."
Review 13 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite Shoes,
July 13, 2011
By: JayPhilip
"Great look and broken-in comfort from the first time I put them on. Just like the dusty bucks I wore so long ago I'd rather not say. In the office and on my travels, they serve me well."
Review 14 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 15, 2011
By: SArchitects
from NJ + VT
"This is the third pair of tan-dirty bucks that I have purchased from Orvis in the past four or five years.
I wear them for work almost every day - every two-plus years I look to replace them - they are very well made, fashionable and comfortable.
"
Review 15 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not fancy - Justcomfortable!,
June 4, 2011
By: Kennn
"It's a simple shoe. A shoe for the weekend. Not fancy, you do not have to shine it, just wear it!
KGA
"
Review 16 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty good bucks,
May 17, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Seabrook NH
"This is my second pair. They are a litttle pricy at $150, but this time I had a $25 coupon. These bucks are fairly beefy - most bucks now days are too lightweight.
When they came by UPS, the bucks were a little scuffed, like they rubbed together in the shoebox during shipping. Not badly scuffed and I know i will scuff them the first time I wear them...but "I" want to scuff them.
They sent me another pair right away and they were scuffed, too. So, I kept the least-scuffed pair and sent the other back.
"
Review 17 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis means Tradition & Quality,
May 11, 2011
By: CountryGentlemen
"Those of us who grew up with "white bucks" truly appreciate the Orvis version of this classic shoe for men. Down to every single detail, the Orivs white buck is perfect. I wore them at a Kentucky Derby party on Saturday (Derby Day) and I was amazed at the compliments that I received on my new white bucks. I think that I might have revived a tradition among my friends for wearing this classic shoe. I heard a number of the wives making very positive comments to their husbands. Thanks Orvis. P.S. Unbelievably comfortable! Like walking on air. My 21 year old daughter wants a pair for herself."
Review 18 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not worth the cost.,
January 7, 2011
By: Beretta
from Chicago, Illinois
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I purchase the "Dirty Bucks" because I use to wear them all the time while in college and wanted a casual shoe to were with jeans on the week end;trying to relive my youth. The laces broke after a month, could not find a replacement , eventually useing ones from another shoe. They are not as comfortable as advertised. I've thought it was the socks (wrong) I even use a different inner sole (wrong) not worth the $149. Since I had them for several months an can't return them I'm considereding giving to homeless slelter.."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 12, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize that these shoes did not work out for him. We gladly offered to refund this purchase if the customer decides to return them. Remember-you may return any item, for any reason, at any time. That's our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee!
Review 19 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nubucks,
November 18, 2010
By: Aeropoint1
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am about to purchase my sixth (6th) pair of these shoes. They are "extremely" comfortable from the outset of wear, and they compliment almost every casual attire. I wear them at least five (5) time per week while on campus and/or while at work. I clean them less than regularly, yet they wear extremely well.....I wish they would last more than six (6) months but....the price is right so I don't mind replacing them semi-annually."
Review 20 for White & Dirty Bucks
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes,
September 10, 2010
By: dmilo
from Denver
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a pair of dirty bucks in college and had forgotten how much I liked them until I bought a pair from Orvis last month. They're very comfortable, attractive and go with almost anything. I get compliments even from my students who invariably ask where I got such cool shoes. Not a compliment I'm used to hearing much these days. I think I'll buy another pair. Highly recommended."