Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Murphy's Pub Jacket

A handsome cut and classic, soft Donegal wool make this jacket as timeless as the public house that inspired it. The bi-swing back and ultrabreathable power-mesh-lined body provide an easy fit; acetate-lined sleeves allow easy on-and-off. Faux-suede elbow patches for long wear, as well as faux-suede trim beneath the collar. Three-button front. Four flap-closed exterior pockets. In brown mix. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 32¼" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.022 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
2
31 of 45(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Review 1 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't wait to purchase this on sale!,
February 6, 2014
By: NotAHunter
from California
"So after two years of waiting to purchase this coat, I finally bought it! I am very happy with the fit (I am a 48R) and the XL fits nicely, A true XL. It has enough room to layer, and the inner lining helps with getting the sleeves on and off. It is fairly light weight, so if you are worried about it being too bulky, it won't be a problem."
Review 2 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like a Norfolk Jacket,
January 16, 2014
By: Pg232
from East Hampton, NY
"I have been looking for a Norfolk for a long time, this is more like a 1/2 Norfolk, (belted in back only). A nice compromise between a hunting coat and a casual jacket. wearable indoors and out, cut well for layering. Love the classic look, and the feel. Buttons are well secured, throat latch doesn't reach - clearly a button needs to be moved.
Overall, I actually love it.
"
Review 3 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not What I'd Hoped...,
January 29, 2013
By: FarmerDoggett
from Texas
"It's a nice product, just not what I'd hoped for, or expected to recieve when I ordered it. I returned mine to a retail store in Dallas without any issues. The sleeves run fairly long, and tailoring them would have been a pain. The construction of the jacket was not as heavy as I'd hoped... that coupled with the fact that I thought it would be a Herringbone tweed based on the photographs on the website led me to decide to return the product. I'm thinking of trying the Traveler's herringbone jacket instead... If they offered it in corduroy again, I'd have to think twice about altering the sleeves... Great style, execution of details lacking..."
Review 4 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Jacket,
July 16, 2012
By: DrGrady
"This jacket is unique and stands out from the crowd. I have never had another jacket that resulted in so many compliments and questions from people wanting to know where I bought it. This jacket fits perfect and is great for mildly cool to cold temperatures. I find adding a sweater under it makes it great for almost all winter wear. I highly recommend this jacket."
Review 5 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not like tweed jacket,
June 13, 2011
By: DocNemo
"I bought this thinking it would be externally like a tweed sports coat; however, when received, it was more like a crumpled hanky, which you can see from the picture. Tweed is straight, clean draw across all areas but this coat was like it was just hanging. I returned it, but kept the sweater I was going to wear with it."
Review 6 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good quality but not quite right for me.,
May 23, 2011
By: PoppiT
"The quality of this jacket is very good. I would have found it ideal if there were side slash pockets behind the bellows pockets. Also, the sleeves were too long by almost an inch, so I've had to have it tailored. It won't look quite the same but I can live with it."
Review 7 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice pub jacket,
May 17, 2011
By: Padraig62
"This is truly a nice jacket. Comfortable, and formal enough with a laid back pub feel. Once again well done Orvis!"
Review 8 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Irish do it right again!!!,
May 10, 2011
By: westPAgunner
"The color,the quality,the fit were all first rate. My family is as close to being pure Irish as you can get in this country and just a weekend ago most of them wanted to know when I had been to Ireland and where did I get this fine coat? I may have played a wee bit with the truth,but the point is all were impressed. T.Y. Orvis!"
Review 9 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
April 21, 2011
By: Reinhard
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had wanted this since it appeared in the Orvis catalogue. When it was offered at less than half price I grabbed it. There are no inside pockets, which is fine but I felt it should have been mentioned in the description. I also wish it had no vent.
None-the-less this is already one of my favorite jackets and have worn it numerous times. Bravo!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Authentic Experiences,
March 24, 2011
By: TechTraveler
from Seattle, WA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We travel to enjoy authentic experiences and to collect great stories that demand retelling. We choose what to wear for similar reasons.
When I first tried-on Murphy's Pub Jacket my speech took on a wee bit of an accent, I had a sudden craving for a pint, and I recalled a story that ended with a thought-filled walk in Dublin's night drizzle about two years ago.
The evening began with a glance across the pub that suggested possibilities. This jacket could have only made for a better ending.
I wear this jacket with jeans and cowboy boots or with dress slacks and loafers. Each night out makes me feel as authentic as my vivid memories from that foggy Dublin night."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fit like it was tailor made,
March 24, 2011
By: Logres
"Once again Orvis comes through with clothing that is distinctive and eye-catching. Customer service gave me detailed measurements that allowed me to select exactly the right size without the need for returns. I'm 5'8" with a bit of paunch and short arms, and size medium fit like it had been tailor made. Most tweedy jackets look the same, but this jacket doesn't look like it was off some rack. It's the right mix of casual and intellectual so it doesn't look odd as a dress coat or a hiking jacket."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine pub jacket!,
March 7, 2011
By: BostonBen
from Danvers, MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I liked the way that this jacket looked online, and when I saw that it had gone on sale I jumped at getting one. I am glad I did! This is a fine jacket for an evening at the local Irish pub, and I love it! If you like what you see online, I think you will be very happy with it!"
Review 13 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pub Jacket,
March 5, 2011
By: Dalon
from Cedar Rapids, IA
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This jacket is a good value for the sale price. It is heavier than I expected and is good looking. I read the previous reviews before purchasing this jacket. The real problem is no inside pocket. I am looking forward to wearing it in early spring and fall. I would never have paid full price and, in the future, always include at least one inside pocket in any sport coat or jacket."
Review 14 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, Practical, and Country Stylish,
March 5, 2011
By: Fitzy
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
""Pub Jacket" is the perfect name for this item. It is casual and comfy, and meant to be worn while doing active things. It is not too heavy, and breathes well.
I like the real button holes on the sleeves, and the fine mesh in the lining. Although the pockets are not cargo pockets, they do have functioning center bellows, which to me are a good compromise between capacity and getting snagged on something. I think cargo pockets would make this cross the line from a comfortable pub jacket into a work or shooting coat, which it is not, and in my opinion, should not be.
It is not a dress jacket, either, and I did not buy it for that purpose, although it is certainly presentable enough for most occassions.
I expect to happily wear this in the Spring and Fall while walking the dog or going out in the country for the day."
Review 15 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good idea but,
March 1, 2011
By: Thom
from Buffalo
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I have both the Murphy's Pub coat and vest. The design and style is a great idea but unfortunately the cut and manufacturing process do not live up to the idea of the thing.
A button came off the vest when I put it on the first time to try it with the coat.
The vest colar and the jacket colar are are not cut to be worn with each other really. The vest colar bunches up under the jacket.
Frankly, the jacked arrived rather crumpled and creased. I havent really worn either of them as they just really were not the quality I would have expected.
Great design idea.....love the idea, but hard to get the manufacturing process under control maybe to get the real quality.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 11, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and let him know we were disappointed to hear this jacket failed to meet expectations. Please remember: Orvis will happily exchange or refund your purchase if any item does not meet your expectations.

Review 16 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pub Comfort,
January 29, 2011
By: Aikenite
from Aiken, SC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I admired the Murphy's Pub Jacket when it first came out last year. I had waited though as I was looking for a water proof at the time. When it went on sale this winter I had to have it. It is very comfortablbe and surprizingly soft, not scratchy to the touch and its not particullarly heavy as is a Harris Tweed, due to the web lining; made of nylon and spandex. The acitate sleves makes it go no and off well as it does not cling to shirts or sweaters.
I was disapponited in non- true-bellows pockets, they appear to be so; they are sewn on and I normally perfer side vents vs center vent as they provide more give when sitting down or while driving. I do roll up my sleves when doing barn work to keep them cleaner and do like that feature, but at dinner they didn't quite look right with darker lining showing all the way to the cuff instead of same outer fabric. While scotch-garding the coat outside on porch on a hanger I was suprized at how thin the back of the coat was; you can see light clear through it. For me living in a fairly mild winter climate that is fine as it is not so bulky or heavy, but some Northerner might not appreaciate it.. Of course there was plenty of room to layer the jacked over a shirt and sweter, if warmth is needed. Facing, placet and seams were all doubled fabric, which helped it drape well.
Overall I am pleased with the jacket and would recommend it to a friend.
Aikenite"
Review 17 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
midweight, soft-styled comfort,
January 13, 2011
By: CasualStyle
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Was a bit reluctant to purchase after reading many ambivalent reviews regarding fit, quality, and overall expectations. I am pleased to report that the buttons were secured correctly, and it fit perfectly (I wear a 50-52 and the XXL fits well). I actually feel not having internal pockets keeps the profile smooth, especially given the 4 external pockets.
I do concur with previous reviews that it's probably not a good idea to apply an iron to the faux-suede elbow patches. Perhaps they will wear better than other patch material, but only time will tell.
Arrived as expected, including a wooden hanger and deep green Orvis garment bag (not a big deal but a nice touch). Have received many compliments given the short time I have had/ worn it.
Overall very pleased with the product and am looking forward to using it as a midweight layering piece, and to dress up jeans and slacks."
Review 18 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Pub Jacket...,
January 10, 2011
By: Sciphier
from Saratoga Springs, N.Y.
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"...probably looks its best when you're on a chair at the pub! I would like to preface my review by saying that I really love the outdoor and country style clothing products that Orvis offers. I have numerous items and love them all. That being said, this particular item is a real disappointment. My, my, what might have been... I did just receive my jacket a few days ago and I was really anticipating it's arrival. I love tweeds and the online images made me really relish the chance of adding this "common man's" garment to my collection. I could already see myself wearing it with moleskins and brogues. Too bad for me. It's already on its way back. The photo(s) online looks so much better than the actual item "in the flesh". What did I like? Nice, coarse, "tweedy" fabric, yet lighter in weight than the more traditional weaves that use a bit more wool. Still, the fabric appears quite a bit how I would imagine the original homespun may have looked. Oh, and the operable leather cuff button is a cool feature on shirt-jacs and better sports coats. Well, that's about it. What could use some fine tuning? No interior pockets? That's a no-brainer; if you offer this item again, fix it please. At 6'2", I wear a "long" in most garments, which you don't offer for this jacket. It was a marginal fit, but even with that said, the partial belt band design on the rear actually falls too low on me; you would think with a regular fit it would be too high up on my waist. The center vent should also be lengthened somewhat for more ease of movement. Most of us can forget about the throat latch. The bi-swing back pleat doesn't need to come all of the way down to the above mentioned belt band, as it causes the back to "puff out" like you're carrying pheasants back there! While it is a "soft" jacket, a glorified sweater, must that mean shapeless as well? As stated before, the tweed is a little on the lighter weight side, but at this price you're getting into the range where Orvis has in the past offered a much better designed garment made from authentic, traditional tweed weavers for just a little bit more. In short, for discriminating tweed buyers, this item can be fixed, but in this iteration and price, it's not a good "tweedy" value, in my humble opinion. Hope this helps anyone on the fence."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 13, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize this jacket did not live up to his expectations. We appreciate this honest and constructive feedback and will have our product specialists review these suggestions. We gladly processed this customer's refund and hope to offer more products that will fit the bill.
Review 19 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 7, 2011
By: grendelotto
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I liked that the jacket was "wooly" and "unstructured." As a pub jacket, it should be (and is) comfortable and able to soak up a spilled beer without ending your evening.
As previously mentioned, not the best constructed or designed product from Orvis. The buttons will need some extra thread, and the stiching on one of the sleeve liners is undone after one day's wear. The lack of an inner pocket is a weakness as is the unworkable lapel strap.
However, the overall quality and style are great. The jacket appears belted from the back and has shoulder expansion gussets. True to size and fits well over bulky sweaters.
Recommended."
Review 20 for Murphy's Pub Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good looking jacket,
January 7, 2011
By: RustyB
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The jacket looks and fits great. Stylish and warm. One problem: within the first two days of wearing all three front buttons fell off and I had to get my wife to sew them back on. So far the only problem, but gives me some pause on the craftmanship and limits my expectations of how it will hold up to wear."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 12, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize that the buttons on this jacket were not attached well. We appreciate this feedback and will alert our product specialists to this issue.