Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

World's Coolest® Patch Shirt

Our famous World's Coolest® Men's Patch Shirt is made of squares of pure 3.5-oz. cotton Indian madras that are stitched into a muted multipatch design. The word patch, short for the Telug pach'chadamu, meaning "thin pieces of cloth at Madras," has been in use for more than 300 years to describe the lightweight patch madras used in one of the world's hottest climates. The cloth of the shirt features an open weave to allow plenty of ventilation. From the cloth to the cut, this men's madras patch shirt is designed for warm-weather wear. Button-through chest pocket. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.712 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
50 of 52(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Review 1 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't do without this shirt,
April 16, 2014
By: Farouk
from West Sussex UK
"It's just the 'bees knees'. Everyone likes it and I feel great wearing it."
Review 2 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yesterday Perfect,
April 7, 2014
By: Ron38
"My wife thought I'd lost my
mind when I bought this...
until she saw me wearing it.
Yesss!
"
Review 3 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
March 31, 2014
By: Charon2
from Edmond, Ok
"I wore this shirt to a 40 year pledge class reunion. Everyone wanted to know where I got it. The TRUE madris patch work was a hit. It is an unusual yet comfortable shirt. Glad I wore it. I think it will look great on the golf course too. Thanks."
Review 4 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Right!!,
March 25, 2014
By: DrRockChalk
from Winchester, VA
"I had previously purchased this shirt in an XL Tall and it was always too long in the sleeves and the tail (not to mention big in the body). So this time I bought the XL and it is just right. I am 6'3' and 200 lbs. with 35 in. sleeve length. This shirt fits me to a "T". I plan to wear it unstarched - just washed/natural as Madras should be."
Review 5 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Item,
March 15, 2014
By: Fiery
from Olympic Peninsula, WA
"Great shirt...very well made. Plan to enjoy......."
Review 6 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking shirt!,
March 12, 2014
By: Hengen
from Memphis, TN
"I love this patchwork shirt! When my husband and I were flipping through the Orvis catalog we both loved this shirt. I made a deal with him that I'd go buy it, if we could share it! So we now have an awesome looking shirt that we can both wear! Cool, comfy, and casual, yet could be dressed up for a guy with slacks and deck shoes! Or I can wear it with a pair of white shorts! So preppy!"
Review 7 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever.,
March 12, 2014
By: Dan45
from Hickory, N. C.
"Quality and Aristocracy in looks champion your products."
Review 8 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
versatile,
December 26, 2013
By: petesshirt
from springfield, VA
"delivery was said to be delayed on this item until after the new year....but surprisingly it came a week before Christmas, so was a nice surprise gift. great colors. go with anything. but will have to iron hard on this every time since it is little squares of fabric. but HE wanted it, so he'll be the one ironing it. Merry Christmas to him!!"
Review 9 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A shirt I really wanted,
December 23, 2013
By: BigBronco
from Bloomington, IN
"Usually, I like short sleeve shirts best. However, this patchwork shirt is very nice and if I wear it in warm weather, I can roll up the sleeves. It is colorful and in winter, it reminds me of summer!"
Review 10 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Shirt,
December 14, 2013
By: Mamma
from Baltimore, MD
"I purchased this shirt for my husband and we love it. It is true to size, washes well and looks good by itself or with sweaters. I bought the same shirt for Christmas for my son in law. I hope he loves it too."
Review 11 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many compliments,
September 3, 2013
By: cdnrunner4ever
from Halifax, NS, Canada
"This shirts is the coolest in both keeping you cool in hot climes but also drawing much attention and compliments about how " cool" the shirt is.
It is a winner for sure.
Always asked " where did you get that shirt?", especially from the ladies!!"
Review 12 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
coolest of colours,
July 26, 2013
By: Fairy
from Lincolnshire, UK
"My husband has this shirt 6 years after his first purchase of the same. It has lasted him all this time being worn on a regular basis. He also had the long sleeve one. They keep their colour and I think they are very nice and unusual shirts. He loves them!"
Review 13 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flat out just nice.,
July 4, 2013
By: Coldhammer
from pittsburgh pa
"The shirt is well made and very nice .Id buy another"
Review 14 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great summer shirt,
May 24, 2013
By: TheGallopingMajor
from Somerset UK
"This is a great shirt, very casual and comfortable. It is exactly as described in the Orvis blurb. A good buy."
Review 15 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Shirt,
May 17, 2013
By: bnphotog
from Madison, Wisconsin
"Great colors, great fit, quality construction. Can't ask for more than that."
Review 16 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second one,
April 23, 2013
By: Mjwh
"My husband liked this shirt so much and received so many compliments that he ordered a second one."
Review 17 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very colourful summer shirt,
April 20, 2013
By: RossshireBuff
from Scottish Highlands
"This shirt is a favourite for summer time, and always elicits comment (mostly favourable!)."
Review 18 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous,
April 20, 2013
By: SiJohn
from Hereford UK
"The cloth not only looks great, it's gorgeous to wear !"
Review 19 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madras,
April 19, 2013
By: Matt6246
"Have not run across madras fabric for a while; the material feels sound and the buttons appear to be sewn on very well. I ordered a L size and that fits me pretty well. The shirt I received is like the one in the catalog...."
Review 20 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool shirt,
April 19, 2013
By: mikeyboy
"I bought a medium for me and a small for my wife. Great fit.
We wore them on a party night at our home. Guests loved them and you could pick out the host and hostess from across the room.
"