Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

World's Coolest® Patch Shirt

Our famous World's Coolest® Men's Patch Shirt is made of squares of pure 3.5-oz. cotton Indian madras that are stitched into a muted multipatch design. The word patch, short for the Telug pach'chadamu, meaning "thin pieces of cloth at Madras," has been in use for more than 300 years to describe the lightweight patch madras used in one of the world's hottest climates. The cloth of the shirt features an open weave to allow plenty of ventilation. From the cloth to the cut, this men's madras patch shirt is designed for warm-weather wear. Button-through chest pocket. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.754 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
63 of 65(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Review 1 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like it !,
June 16, 2014
By: Bassman1960
from West Chester , PA
"Great shirt ! Just as advertised ! Shipping was outrageous ! Need to change that ."
Review 2 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great short,
June 14, 2014
By: FlyRunner
"Love the shirt. Great quality and style. Fits well and is great in a casual fun setting. My son keeps trying to borrow it. As always, Orvis doesn't disappoint."
Review 3 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it, but,
June 12, 2014
By: Oldwalt
"This is my happy shirt. It would be a five except I had to resew one of the front buttons as soon as it came out of the packing. Soft, feels good."
Review 4 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun Shirt,
May 29, 2014
By: Janthonygroup
from Boston, MA
"Great quality and colors....this shirt is great with jeans .....or....dress it up .... wearing with kakis & a sport jacket!!!!!"
Review 5 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worlds coolest patch shirt,
May 28, 2014
By: wingo
from florida
"my husband has had an illness and needs to ware long sleved shirts. this is the softiest , beautiful colored
shirt that he has.i love to see him in it, and very happy we have it.
thank you very much
"
Review 6 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
May 12, 2014
By: DubnBev
from Conroe, Texas
"Great Fit and "Very" different that other casual shirts."
Review 7 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband's favorite shirt,
May 8, 2014
By: Tagsmom
from Tx
"Husband 6 ft, 235 lbs. Ordered xlarge, was slightly tight across shoulders. Exchanged for 2x, which is slightly roomy. No matter, he loves it. Washed on cold, line dried. Requires pressing to look sharp. It's his favorite shirt."
Review 8 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easter Shirt,
May 7, 2014
By: Harv75
from Bedford MA
"Our whole family wears this shirt on Easter, and we walk about the house saying "nice shirt" to one-another as we hunt for eggs."
Review 9 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coolest shirt!,
May 6, 2014
By: Clark12
"No wonder they call this shirt worlds coolest. It will also be a favorite for yrs to come. Great colors and fun design!"
Review 10 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
May 2, 2014
By: LouK3
from Lynden, WA
"Many people complemented me on my shirt. I love it."
Review 11 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great shirt,
April 29, 2014
By: Ohio1931
from Florence, OR
"Some years ago I purchased the short sleeve version of this shirt. It has been a favorite of mine ever since and I have received a number of positive comments on it. I was sorry to see it vanish from the Orvis catalog and I am delighted they brought it back and with both long and short sleeve options. I purchased the long sleeve version this time and it is just as good as the older one."
Review 12 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing shirt,
April 21, 2014
By: GuntherSpass
"I was expecting printed patches. This shirt is composed of lots of little solid color patches stitched together. You might think that would be uncomfortable. Not so. This is a great shirt."
Review 13 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't do without this shirt,
April 16, 2014
By: Farouk
from West Sussex UK
"It's just the 'bees knees'. Everyone likes it and I feel great wearing it."
Review 14 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yesterday Perfect,
April 7, 2014
By: Ron38
"My wife thought I'd lost my
mind when I bought this...
until she saw me wearing it.
Yesss!
"
Review 15 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
March 31, 2014
By: Charon2
from Edmond, Ok
"I wore this shirt to a 40 year pledge class reunion. Everyone wanted to know where I got it. The TRUE madris patch work was a hit. It is an unusual yet comfortable shirt. Glad I wore it. I think it will look great on the golf course too. Thanks."
Review 16 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Right!!,
March 25, 2014
By: DrRockChalk
from Winchester, VA
"I had previously purchased this shirt in an XL Tall and it was always too long in the sleeves and the tail (not to mention big in the body). So this time I bought the XL and it is just right. I am 6'3' and 200 lbs. with 35 in. sleeve length. This shirt fits me to a "T". I plan to wear it unstarched - just washed/natural as Madras should be."
Review 17 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Item,
March 15, 2014
By: Fiery
from Olympic Peninsula, WA
"Great shirt...very well made. Plan to enjoy......."
Review 18 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking shirt!,
March 12, 2014
By: Hengen
from Memphis, TN
"I love this patchwork shirt! When my husband and I were flipping through the Orvis catalog we both loved this shirt. I made a deal with him that I'd go buy it, if we could share it! So we now have an awesome looking shirt that we can both wear! Cool, comfy, and casual, yet could be dressed up for a guy with slacks and deck shoes! Or I can wear it with a pair of white shorts! So preppy!"
Review 19 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever.,
March 12, 2014
By: Dan45
from Hickory, N. C.
"Quality and Aristocracy in looks champion your products."
Review 20 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
versatile,
December 26, 2013
By: petesshirt
from springfield, VA
"delivery was said to be delayed on this item until after the new year....but surprisingly it came a week before Christmas, so was a nice surprise gift. great colors. go with anything. but will have to iron hard on this every time since it is little squares of fabric. but HE wanted it, so he'll be the one ironing it. Merry Christmas to him!!"