Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

World's Coolest® Patch Shirt

Our famous World's Coolest® Men's Patch Shirt is made of squares of pure 3.5-oz. cotton Indian madras that are stitched into a muted multipatch design. The word patch, short for the Telug pach'chadamu, meaning "thin pieces of cloth at Madras," has been in use for more than 300 years to describe the lightweight patch madras used in one of the world's hottest climates. The cloth of the shirt features an open weave to allow plenty of ventilation. From the cloth to the cut, this men's madras patch shirt is designed for warm-weather wear. Button-through chest pocket. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
66 of 68(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Review 1 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attention grabbing,
August 6, 2014
By: fball
from Traverse city, mi
"An extremely comfortable and useful shirt for many occasions, sporting as well as casual wear."
Review 2 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coolest Patch Shirt,
July 31, 2014
By: Velvet1
from Estero, Fl
"My recent purchase is just a great buy. I have been watching it for sometime and decided now was the time. I am glad I did many likes on the shirts. I am truly pleased with my purchase, nice!!!"
Review 3 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Patch Shirt - Pt. II,
July 29, 2014
By: Morobi
from San Diego, CA
"This shirt was magical when it started. Each stitch masterfully sewn, making it a slightly heavier shirt - perfect for not-quite-warm and not-quite-cold weather. Initially, this shirt had much smaller sewn squares. I've had one of the older shirts many years, and cannot remember having worn it where I didn't get a compliment ... and I'm talking honestly hundreds of times. You have to remember, it is a signature shirt that you have to love in order to have the courage to wear it. The smaller pattern squares are/was much more defined than the current model. I ordered one of the new ones tonight since my old shirt is starting to go after visiting everywhere I've gone throughout the world over the last 15 years (had to even pay a seamstress to replace two squares on the shirt so I could keep wearing it. Hopefully the newer model I just ordered has the same high standards of style and comfort. Order the long sleeve version, and have it laundered with medium starch. Hope the new one's as great as my old one!"
Review 4 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like it !,
June 16, 2014
By: Bassman1960
from West Chester , PA
"Great shirt ! Just as advertised ! Shipping was outrageous ! Need to change that ."
Review 5 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great short,
June 14, 2014
By: FlyRunner
"Love the shirt. Great quality and style. Fits well and is great in a casual fun setting. My son keeps trying to borrow it. As always, Orvis doesn't disappoint."
Review 6 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it, but,
June 12, 2014
By: Oldwalt
"This is my happy shirt. It would be a five except I had to resew one of the front buttons as soon as it came out of the packing. Soft, feels good."
Review 7 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun Shirt,
May 29, 2014
By: Janthonygroup
from Boston, MA
"Great quality and colors....this shirt is great with jeans .....or....dress it up .... wearing with kakis & a sport jacket!!!!!"
Review 8 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worlds coolest patch shirt,
May 28, 2014
By: wingo
from florida
"my husband has had an illness and needs to ware long sleved shirts. this is the softiest , beautiful colored
shirt that he has.i love to see him in it, and very happy we have it.
thank you very much
"
Review 9 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
May 12, 2014
By: DubnBev
from Conroe, Texas
"Great Fit and "Very" different that other casual shirts."
Review 10 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband's favorite shirt,
May 8, 2014
By: Tagsmom
from Tx
"Husband 6 ft, 235 lbs. Ordered xlarge, was slightly tight across shoulders. Exchanged for 2x, which is slightly roomy. No matter, he loves it. Washed on cold, line dried. Requires pressing to look sharp. It's his favorite shirt."
Review 11 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easter Shirt,
May 7, 2014
By: Harv75
from Bedford MA
"Our whole family wears this shirt on Easter, and we walk about the house saying "nice shirt" to one-another as we hunt for eggs."
Review 12 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coolest shirt!,
May 6, 2014
By: Clark12
"No wonder they call this shirt worlds coolest. It will also be a favorite for yrs to come. Great colors and fun design!"
Review 13 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
May 2, 2014
By: LouK3
from Lynden, WA
"Many people complemented me on my shirt. I love it."
Review 14 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great shirt,
April 29, 2014
By: Ohio1931
from Florence, OR
"Some years ago I purchased the short sleeve version of this shirt. It has been a favorite of mine ever since and I have received a number of positive comments on it. I was sorry to see it vanish from the Orvis catalog and I am delighted they brought it back and with both long and short sleeve options. I purchased the long sleeve version this time and it is just as good as the older one."
Review 15 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing shirt,
April 21, 2014
By: GuntherSpass
"I was expecting printed patches. This shirt is composed of lots of little solid color patches stitched together. You might think that would be uncomfortable. Not so. This is a great shirt."
Review 16 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't do without this shirt,
April 16, 2014
By: Farouk
from West Sussex UK
"It's just the 'bees knees'. Everyone likes it and I feel great wearing it."
Review 17 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yesterday Perfect,
April 7, 2014
By: Ron38
"My wife thought I'd lost my
mind when I bought this...
until she saw me wearing it.
Yesss!
"
Review 18 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
March 31, 2014
By: Charon2
from Edmond, Ok
"I wore this shirt to a 40 year pledge class reunion. Everyone wanted to know where I got it. The TRUE madris patch work was a hit. It is an unusual yet comfortable shirt. Glad I wore it. I think it will look great on the golf course too. Thanks."
Review 19 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Right!!,
March 25, 2014
By: DrRockChalk
from Winchester, VA
"I had previously purchased this shirt in an XL Tall and it was always too long in the sleeves and the tail (not to mention big in the body). So this time I bought the XL and it is just right. I am 6'3' and 200 lbs. with 35 in. sleeve length. This shirt fits me to a "T". I plan to wear it unstarched - just washed/natural as Madras should be."
Review 20 for World's Coolest® Patch Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Item,
March 15, 2014
By: Fiery
from Olympic Peninsula, WA
"Great shirt...very well made. Plan to enjoy......."