Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Zambezi Men's Watch

These military wrist watches are inspired by our rugged Zambezi® line, with a Zambezi fabric band, genuine leather accents, and a stainless-steel buckle. A tough stainless-steel case houses a face that displays standard and military time. Sapphire crystal is the most durable available. Military wrist watches are water resistant to 165 feet. Luminous hands. Case diameter: 1 3/8".
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
6 of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zambezi Men's Watch
Review 1 for Zambezi Men's Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Watch - Until the band needs replacement,
February 22, 2014
By: CuzinVin
"Orvis insists that you mail the entire watch to a company in Illinois, just to get the watch band replaced. They won't just send a wrist band. Ridiculous, lousy excuse for servicing the customer."
Review 2 for Zambezi Men's Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Casual Watch,
April 15, 2013
By: RenfroeDrake
from Tennessee
"Great for the field, and equally well fit for the office."
Review 3 for Zambezi Men's Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Watch,
March 14, 2013
By: Torgy
from Minneapolis, MN
"I love this watch. Simple & inexpensive, yet distinctive"
Review 4 for Zambezi Men's Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zambezi watch-Great value,
January 14, 2013
By: Bucksnort4
from Houston, TX
"I'm surprised by a previous customer's comment saying the watch was cheap and scratches easily. I have had this watch for 12 years now and wear it 90% of the time. It's has had at least 3 batteries changed and 3 replacement straps.
I wear this to work, hunting & fishing and get it wet often. There are absolutely no scratches on the crystal. It's simple & easy to read. I would highly recommend it.
"
Review 5 for Zambezi Men's Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
2nd try Failed too!,
February 11, 2012
By: curmugeon
from Sarasota
"The first Zambezi Watch ( a gift) lasted approx 1.5 years, then the stem and crown fell off. The luminous hands had failed at about 6 months. The original gift giver decided to replace it and took the broken watch to a local Orvis Store. ( A WATCH SHOP HAD ESTIMATED $65 TO REPAIR IT) The store had no Zambezis in stock and so issued a gift card and ordered a a new one from HQ on line. Since it was to be sent to my winter home, there was addittional tax required above the Gift Card retrurn amount.The watch was on back order and took almost 2 weeks to receive. The packaging was great, but the watch hands would not glow in the dark after repeated direct sunlight exposures to activate. I plan to return it to my local Orvis store for a refund when I return in the spring! There won't be a third try for me."
Review 6 for Zambezi Men's Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value in a simple watch,
September 13, 2010
By: Gentleman
from NJ
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very happy with this simple elegant watch. Accurate and durable. Wear it playing tennis and out fishing. Reliable performance with a good match to all my tan clothing."
Review 7 for Zambezi Men's Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing,
February 6, 2010
By: Anniehank
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I bought a Zambezi watch a few years ago and loved it. It had a calmer face layout, and had a glow button that would light the entire face. Sadly, it died, and Orvis sent this version of the Zambesi to replace it. The only thing the same was the watchband. This one does not have the glow button, and the watchface looks much cheesier to me. I hope that Orvis will bring back the original model sometime. THAT one I'll buy; THIS one I sent back."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 5, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We were disappointed to hear this watch design wasn't as he expected. We welcome customer comments and suggestions, as we learn much from our customers, and we are always striving to improve our products. Orvis will happily refund or exchange any purchase, as we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 8 for Zambezi Men's Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Looks good but bad quality,
December 14, 2007
By: KMCGator
"I loved the look of this watch and was eager to purchase it but was disappointed when I received it. It feels cheap and has not worn well. I'm not sure about the sapphire crystal being "the most durable available." It scratched very easily. I don't even wear it anymore because it has deteriorated so badly in the 2 months or so I wore it. So, this is a great looking watch in the pictures but I wasn't impressed once I received the product. I love everything from Orvis but I think this product should be discontinued. I would try purchasing a more popular model like the field chrono."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 18, 2008
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full refund. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 9 for Zambezi Men's Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Basic, Goodlooking Watch,
October 5, 2007
By: Finn
"Received this watch as a gift and enjoy wearing it. Downside is cannot read the time in low light. Upside is that it is a handsome watch, size is suitable for a man or a woman."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Zambezi Men's Watch
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1