Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates

Give this liquor-filled chocolate candy to the chocolate lover on your list. This delicious assortment of rich Belgian chocolates comes with an added kick—they're filled with a shot of rich liquor! These handcrafted artisan chocolates are created using the centuries-old European style of a cast liquid center. The casting forms an edible moisture barrier - a "zuckerkrust" or sugar shell - that encapsulates and enhances the essence of the liquor. Flavors include Grand Marnier, The Famous Grouse Whisky, Otard Cognac, Cointreau, Mandarine Napoleon, and other fine liqueurs. 17.6 oz., 40 pieces. Belgium. Gift packaging not available.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
28 of 32(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Review 1 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zukerkrust,
April 19, 2013
By: vjyunk
from San Francisco
"Excellent Candy.
To all that complain about the sugar crystals, please read the description of the product. This is actually a desired and desirable part of the candy making process: The casting forms an edible moisture barrier - a "zuckerkrust" or sugar shell - that encapsulates and enhances the essence of the liquor. It's delicious! I love them!
"
Review 2 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Crystalized and Broken,
April 9, 2013
By: Krashkitty
from Essex Jct, VT
"Received order, many chocolates were broken. All of the chocolates (checked many) had sugar crystals inside, coating the chocolate. Called in, got a replacement order and the same happened. These were on sale, so maybe they are left over from a holiday. Will not take the chance with these chocolates again. Very disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great chocolates,
April 8, 2013
By: jascwdc
from Washington, DC
"I have purchased this type of liqueur filled chocolates over the years and several different brands lately, and these are the best I have ever had, by far. I have re-ordered twice as they are such a hit with my guests."
Review 4 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
crystalized,
April 1, 2013
By: lynn1
"The alcohol seems to have formed sugar crystals at the boundary to the chocolate. Might be good fresh, but I did not enjoy them at all."
Review 5 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
March 12, 2013
By: brownfox
"I actually purchased this to send in a care package to our troops serving in afganistan. Oh, boy did they love it !! They are already asking for more :-)."
Review 6 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sugary inside,
February 1, 2013
By: Dolly55
from Allen Park, MI
"The chocolate was good, and the liqueurs true. However, I wondered if the product was old as crystallized sugar coated the inside of the chocolate."
Review 7 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Chocolates!!!,
January 20, 2013
By: Artie1434
from Chicago, IL
"I bought several of these to use as gifts. They were so good that I kept them for myself!!! They are addictive!"
Review 8 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
liq chocolates/begium,
January 16, 2013
By: SPENCE
from ATLANTA,GA
"since i don't drink ,don't know how they are --- but the people who got them as a gift said to me , wonderful could really tell they had correct liquor in them."
Review 9 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delicious,
December 31, 2012
By: Molly123
from Utah
"I bought these as a gift and they just loved them!"
Review 10 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,,
December 29, 2012
By: Anonymous
from New Haven, CT
"Wonderful chocolates for those that want something other than the typical alcohol filled cherries."
Review 11 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thrilled,
December 29, 2012
By: crane
from Califon, NJ
"This was a gift which he opened and shared so we were able to sample the richness and surprise in each chocolate cup. I would order this again for someone else as a gift."
Review 12 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great gift,
December 29, 2012
By: cpurinton
from North Carolina
"I ordered and had Orvis send this gift to two friends and they were both very happy it. I would send this gift again. Hope you have this again next year. May get it for our house too."
Review 13 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For all chocolate lovers,
December 29, 2012
By: Felinelover
from Albany, NY
"A great way to end a dinner with a drink and dessert combined."
Review 14 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Liquor Chocolates Available,
December 29, 2012
By: clara
"These are amazing. High quality chocol;sate full of real liquor. Just pop them whole in your mouth!"
Review 15 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Tasty!,
December 29, 2012
By: Ducatisti
from Marietta, GA
"Chocolate is of very high quality and so is the liquor! Makes for a nice evening treat!"
Review 16 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very tasty purchase!,
December 28, 2012
By: HappyAnn1
from North Windham, CT
"I was looking everywhere for these liqueur filled chocolates. I used to enjoy the bottle shaped ones living in England but these were just as good and made a nice Christmas treat and a gift for a friend who found them very enjoyable."
Review 17 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Stocking Stuffer,
December 28, 2012
By: Mallardhunter
from East Texas
"The liqueur-filled Belgian chocolates are really good--perfect for after a meal. They're a great value, with 50 candies, representing 5 different liqueurs in each box."
Review 18 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best tasting chocolates,
December 28, 2012
By: sushigirl
"Very tasty liqueur filled chocolates.
My family loved them."
Review 19 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
belgian chocolates,
December 27, 2012
By: toogood
"I felt these chocolates with liquor were quite tasty, fun to taste the different flavors."
Review 20 for Liqueur–Filled Belgian Chocolates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazingly Surprised,
December 19, 2012
By: Rell
from Afghanistan
"I cannot express how much your chocolates have helped improve the morale of my coworkers and myself. We use your chocolates to get us through those stressful times as well as moments when we just like to come together and share a moment. Thank you; that is how I would rate your product. Thank you very much!!"