Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Snowy River Hat

An authentic Panama straw hat shields your face from the sun and reduces eyestrain while you survey the back forty. This rancher's-style men's hat fends off harmful rays with a 3" brim and traditional pinched front. Soft CoolMax® sweatband for comfortable fit and flexible sizing. 3 inch brim. Made in USA.Men's hat sizes: S/M(6¾-7⅛), L/XL(7¼-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.284 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
19
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 star
3
80 of 95(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Review 1 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snowy River Hat,
April 22, 2014
By: DrRick
"This hat is super. I bought 2. It fits very well and blocks the sun. It has a super nice style."
Review 2 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great results,
April 4, 2014
By: TeddyLynn
from Yorktown, IN
"We ordered a jacket, 2 shirts and were very satisfied--everything fit well and we love the quality."
Review 3 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good looking comfort,
March 25, 2014
By: Ivducks
from Manhattan Beach, CA
"Hat is very comfortable, nice fit and looks great! What else is there?"
Review 4 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TIMELESS CUSTOM LOOK,
March 17, 2014
By: OKIE53
from Charlotte, NC
"Enjoy the timeless, custom quality of your individuality with a profound fashion statement. This piece of apparel reflects your "mood-of-the-moment" based on how you position the brim to your eyes. What a wonderful ability to make a statement without ever uttering a word."
Review 5 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Close to getting it right,
February 24, 2014
By: SunshineGolfer
from South Florida
"Perfect hat for golf when you want complete facial protection with two exceptions: shallow crown makes it difficult to stay on in the wind and lack of size choices. If you have the "average head" of 7 1/4 (like me) you head will not fit into the smaller size and will not stay on your head in the larger size (I tried both). But good value that holds up well."
Review 6 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought 2!,
January 15, 2014
By: June48
"Bought my husband one of these hats and my brother-in-law kept commenting on it. So...bought him one for Christmas. He immediately put it on and has worn it since. I understand the frustration with only 2 sizes but I found them to be pretty true to size and the hat will stretch a little bit. It looks terrific!"
Review 7 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 9, 2013
By: JP54
from Hilo Hawaii
"This is the second time I have ordered this hat. The first was several years ago. It held it's shape and was very comfortable in the humid climate in Hawaii. I ordered the darker color this time for a change of pace."
Review 8 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Fine Hat,
November 27, 2013
By: TMike
from Oklahoma City, OK
"This is the best straw hat I have ever owned and I've worn more than a few. I purchased a Panama hat from an upscale men's store and paid twice the cost of this hat only to have the crown crack after a couple of months. The hat (L/XL) fits my large head (7 5/8) perfectly. Best of all, even thought it has a rather tight weave, it breathes well which suits my bald head fine on a hot and humid summers day. The hat band adds a classy touch to a great hat."
Review 9 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice hat,
August 9, 2013
By: McElwane
from Northern New Mexico
"In addition to being a well made hat, it is coated with something that appears to make the material hold it's shape better and more water proof. It's also a perfect fit. Very nice hat."
Review 10 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hat,
August 9, 2013
By: Cat1dog1
"I thought this was a really cool hat for my husband. He didn't like the band on the inside that allows for difference in sizing, and I don't think he really liked the color. I still think it is a good looking hat."
Review 11 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2 Flaws,
July 28, 2013
By: otis2487
from Utah
"Nice hat this is my 3rd one first one blew off the second day I had it. Was not able to retrieve it big ship in the way. #2 has been a good hat but straw cracked in the crown at the pinch other than that hat is in good shape. so Flaw one is sizing no way to adjust fit . flaw 2 straw breaks at pinch Have tried other hats this is the best one"
Review 12 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jazz it up,
July 26, 2013
By: ColonelTom
from New Mexico
"Bought this hat in Denver 2 years ago and still wearing it but got some Navajo beads to replace the leather band and like it better than the piece of leather with Orvis written on it. Prefer a straw hat like this that breathes to a baseball hat in the heat of New Mexico."
Review 13 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hat ever Worn,
July 18, 2013
By: wbpjr
"This is quite simply the best hat I have, and I have many as I am a professional who lives in the country and enjoys my small ranch and working with my animals as a hobby. Whether on the horse checking fences, or on the land feeding my animals, this hat is always comfortable and secure."
Review 14 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Hat,
July 2, 2013
By: PrairieBee
from Oklahoma
"Based on reviews, we ordered the sm/med. We needed a hat for 7-1/4" which is the smallest measurement for the lg/xl. It was the right decision and seems the hat runs a little large. The hat band is not great and the fact it's glued was a poor decision. We had a hat band to add; the removal was fine, but took off a little coating and fractured some fibers. Other than that, the putty is a beautiful hue, the weave is gorgeous and the hat is handsome."
Review 15 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
June 25, 2013
By: JuanM
"The hat is very comfortable as well as stylish. It is well made and I especially like the crush protector. The service was excellent and the hat arrived promptly and was very well packed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect Hat,
June 18, 2013
By: Balducci
from Philadelphia
"Wonderful product.
Unfortunately only two sizes S & L are available, both tend to run big. Would suggest Orvis includes a medium. Otherwise I would rate this a five star product ... love it."
Review 17 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Satisfied,
June 17, 2013
By: Nord78ie
from Holland, MI
"Although more than I wanted to spend, the hat was exactly what I needed for sun protection. The hat is comfortable and the brim large enough to deflect the sun. I have other hats, but needed one that was more dressy. This fit the bill."
Review 18 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great straw hat,
June 12, 2013
By: Undergardner
from Central Pennsylvania
"Good Quality and good fit. This is my third Snowy River Hat and I have always received complements on the hat's looks.Good protection from the sun while keeping you cool."
Review 19 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best. Hat. Ever.,
May 30, 2013
By: codya
"I wanted a broad-brimmed hat to keep my head out of the sun. This one delivers, and looks great."
Review 20 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer clays,
May 14, 2013
By: 1Hotshot
from Northern NJ
"Great hat for warmer weather. Ah, customized it for a woman with a brown velvet ribbon and a feather. Surprised that your hats aren't geared toward woman. I also have 2 of the felt hats that I wear in winter with a long feather too! Everyone seems to notice these stylish hats. Maybe my shooting will improve."