Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Snowy River Hat

An authentic Panama straw hat shields your face from the sun and reduces eyestrain while you survey the back forty. This rancher's-style men's hat fends off harmful rays with a 3" brim and traditional pinched front. Soft CoolMax® sweatband for comfortable fit and flexible sizing. 3 inch brim. Made in USA.Men's hat sizes: S/M(6¾-7⅛), L/XL(7¼-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.449 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
24
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
3
121 of 138(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Review 1 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 Hats !!,
June 25, 2015
By: DIB148
from Kent & Costa Teguise
"So comfortable and so good I bought 2
One for the UK and the other for Lanzarote
The packing will ensure an intact hat at the other end of the flight to Lanzarote
Thanks Orvis"
Review 2 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work and Fun,
June 22, 2015
By: JoeSFM
from Piney Flats, TN
"I have been searching for a hat that I could wear at work, where I have the sun betting on my head, ears and neck. But I also wanted a hat to wear on the river while I enjoy the well-earned time off. This hat is amazing; it looks respectful and dignified at the same time. The best part is that this hat really does help keep the sun off and helps keep you cooler. I would recommend this hat to everyone and many people have asked where I got it and I am proud to tell them, Orvis."
Review 3 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cool ultra light hat!,
June 17, 2015
By: Winterhawk
from Midland Texas
"This hat is rapidly becoming my favorite! Very light weight, cool, flexible brim (doesn't interfere with my sporting clays shooting!) and good air circulation even there are no vents. The Large fits my 7-3/8 head perfectly and stays in place in our West Texas winds. Very Very happy with this hat!"
Review 4 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old Faithful Hat,
June 16, 2015
By: InfidelMike
from Orlando, FL
"The Snowy River panama hat I purchased is the second one I've owned. The first one is a few years old and showing a lot of wear so I bought a new one. I've received so many compliments on this hat. Very handsome and durable, reasonably priced. I'm very pleased with the item and the excellent, fast Orvis service."
Review 5 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the Job,
June 12, 2015
By: lazurite
from Peterborough UK
"Really cool summer hat, in more ways than one. I bought the darker colour & it matches the tobacco colour trousers I have just bought from Orvis (my favourite brand)"
Review 6 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!,
June 3, 2015
By: TopwaterBeagle
from Eastern, NC
"Well made, quality hat that sure helps with the hot sun."
Review 7 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite Orvis purchase yet,
June 2, 2015
By: sagamore1157
from Arlington, Va
"Excellent product...Could sell a 100 and have given 2 as gifts!"
Review 8 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Hand Cover,
May 6, 2015
By: 2Picky
from Colorado Springs, CO
"It is a risk buying a hat on-line because one man's large is another man's x-large. But taking the Snowy River out of its well- packed box and putting it where it belongs was a pleasure! The wicking hat band felt comfortable and secure. Pure, tightly woven panama fibre in natural color makes the hat look cool. A generous brim will keep the sun off, and the reinforced crush will last a long time. Go ahead, top yourself off with a Snowy River by Orvis."
Review 9 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
snowy river hat,
April 14, 2015
By: byrdman1933
"Excellent hat. I have purchase 2 and they always look great and wear well."
Review 10 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this hat,
April 13, 2015
By: Number1
"As always all of the Orvis products are just great. I would recommend this hat to all men looking for a hat that when you put it on everybody says I love that hat"
Review 11 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this hat.,
April 9, 2015
By: Robertman
from San Antonio, TX
"I am glad I made this purchase. It's comfortable and good looking."
Review 12 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Straw cracking after a week,
March 31, 2015
By: 3princes
from Boulder, CO
"My husband was so excited to receive this hat and enjoys wearing it. However, after 1 week of daily use, two of the straw pieces at the front have broken, which makes me not so impressed."
Review 13 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,
March 26, 2015
By: Chrism43
from Walla Walla WA
"Just received my straw Snowy River Hat and was exactly what I wanted. Fast Delivery in special hat box"
Review 14 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a summer hat!,
March 23, 2015
By: Gregnorth
from Hicksville, NY
"First of all Fred at the Orvis store on old country rd in nassau county NY is amazing. Time and again he has been a great source for knowledge on Orvis products and really makes me feel comfortable with my purchases because of this. My first panama hat did not quite weather well and Fred was able to take care of it, no problem. I hv since bought the crushable 100% wool hat and have enjoyed it tremendously through the late winter. Thank you Fred and thank you Orvis. I will be back soon!!"
Review 15 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
no chin strap,
January 9, 2015
By: Robert1958
"I really like this hat, however, the only drawback is that there was no chin strap for windy days. It is my intention to wear this hat for golfing."
Review 16 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best hat for the job!,
November 13, 2014
By: krobie
from Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria also Sunderland UK
"Here in Pto. Rico, Gran Canaria it is hot and has kind of powerful sun in a cloudless sky, found in few places. As a keen walker, but vulnerable to the sun's rays, I find my hat so light to wear and I am happy that the wide rim is protecting my facial features and ears. Still applying sun cream, I confidently strike out walking every morning for a couple of hours. I would not venture out without my hat on, but initially I often forgot and left it in our apartment... I never got more than 50m before I realised and returned for it. So is it the best hat for the job, Certainly is! The fit, band, lightness and room above your scalp is just right! I would recommend this hat to anyone without reservation."
Review 17 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite golf hat,
October 22, 2014
By: CubbyD
from CT
"My husband had to have another of these after the inside band stretched and began to irritate his forehead. He was not interested in any other hat. When returned to the local Orvis, one was sent to our home, but came damaged. We returned that one, and another came in perfect condition and was very welcomed. The sales help were very accommodating and efficient."
Review 18 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One flaw hat,
September 9, 2014
By: jima4
from Glenwood Springs, Colorado
"Great summer hat with one flaw: the crown isn't high enough. I like the hat a lot but the crown literally rubs the top of my head. I've owned a lot of straw hats and never had a fit just like this. Love the color, love the look, the brim, the weave, coolness, etc. but it's not a decent fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Panama Ever,
September 8, 2014
By: Goomba1
"I have always wanted a Panama Hat. To have my first exactly as I expected and wanted is fantastic. Thanks Orvis for sourcing such a great product.
I have zero negative comments.
"
Review 20 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
September 1, 2014
By: Flyguy2go
from Petoskey, MI
"Wanted a hat for summer that would be substantially made, nice appearance, fit comfortably. Love it. Have added a few self tied flies for embellishment to make it my own."