Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Snowy River Hat

An authentic Panama straw hat shields your face from the sun and reduces eyestrain while you survey the back forty. This rancher's-style men's hat fends off harmful rays with a 3" brim and traditional pinched front. Soft CoolMax® sweatband for comfortable fit and flexible sizing. 3 inch brim. Made in USA.Men's hat sizes: S/M(6¾-7⅛), L/XL(7¼-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (144 reviews)
5 stars
100
4 stars
24
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
3
127 of 144(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Review 1 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snowy River Hat,
August 30, 2015
By: BTKrause
from Rockport, MA
"Light weight and cool, provides good shade, with a good fit."
Review 2 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
August 10, 2015
By: Kosh
from Chisholm, MN
"I recently purchased the packable fedora hat and I liked it so much that I ordered the snowy river hat, and like the packable, this hat is also very stylish and great fitting. I wear an actual size 7 and the S/M fits me perfect, not to tight , not to loose. It came packaged in a perfect hatbox, even FedEx wouldn't be able to squash this box, great hat, lots of compiments."
Review 3 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Hat...on the eyes and on the head,
August 7, 2015
By: rcolvin42
"Hat fits well and the elastic band allows for a variety of head sizes to wear the same hat. The hat keeps the sun off and lets some of the breeze in to keep cool. Definitely a staple for all outdoor activity in the Louisiana summer!"
Review 4 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
top hat,
July 21, 2015
By: ydoog
from colorado
"always wanted one and it has lived up to everything I thought it would. and I look great in it!"
Review 5 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snow River Hat,
July 21, 2015
By: whimpy
from South Dakota
"I bought one for my self & my grandson liked mine so much that I either had to give him mine or buy him one, so I bought him one."
Review 6 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I need,
July 14, 2015
By: bi2l
from Dayton Ohio
"Having ignored for years advice to use sun block, I am now prone to skin cancer. During my latest deep chemical peel (to get rid of basal cell carcinoma on my face), I vowed to use sun block and wear a broad brimmed hat. I purchased a Snowy River hat which, together with sun block, should keep skin cancer at bay."
Review 7 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 Hats !!,
June 25, 2015
By: DIB148
from Kent & Costa Teguise
"So comfortable and so good I bought 2
One for the UK and the other for Lanzarote
The packing will ensure an intact hat at the other end of the flight to Lanzarote
Thanks Orvis"
Review 8 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work and Fun,
June 22, 2015
By: JoeSFM
from Piney Flats, TN
"I have been searching for a hat that I could wear at work, where I have the sun betting on my head, ears and neck. But I also wanted a hat to wear on the river while I enjoy the well-earned time off. This hat is amazing; it looks respectful and dignified at the same time. The best part is that this hat really does help keep the sun off and helps keep you cooler. I would recommend this hat to everyone and many people have asked where I got it and I am proud to tell them, Orvis."
Review 9 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cool ultra light hat!,
June 17, 2015
By: Winterhawk
from Midland Texas
"This hat is rapidly becoming my favorite! Very light weight, cool, flexible brim (doesn't interfere with my sporting clays shooting!) and good air circulation even there are no vents. The Large fits my 7-3/8 head perfectly and stays in place in our West Texas winds. Very Very happy with this hat!"
Review 10 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old Faithful Hat,
June 16, 2015
By: InfidelMike
from Orlando, FL
"The Snowy River panama hat I purchased is the second one I've owned. The first one is a few years old and showing a lot of wear so I bought a new one. I've received so many compliments on this hat. Very handsome and durable, reasonably priced. I'm very pleased with the item and the excellent, fast Orvis service."
Review 11 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the Job,
June 12, 2015
By: lazurite
from Peterborough UK
"Really cool summer hat, in more ways than one. I bought the darker colour & it matches the tobacco colour trousers I have just bought from Orvis (my favourite brand)"
Review 12 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat!,
June 3, 2015
By: TopwaterBeagle
from Eastern, NC
"Well made, quality hat that sure helps with the hot sun."
Review 13 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite Orvis purchase yet,
June 2, 2015
By: sagamore1157
from Arlington, Va
"Excellent product...Could sell a 100 and have given 2 as gifts!"
Review 14 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Hand Cover,
May 6, 2015
By: 2Picky
from Colorado Springs, CO
"It is a risk buying a hat on-line because one man's large is another man's x-large. But taking the Snowy River out of its well- packed box and putting it where it belongs was a pleasure! The wicking hat band felt comfortable and secure. Pure, tightly woven panama fibre in natural color makes the hat look cool. A generous brim will keep the sun off, and the reinforced crush will last a long time. Go ahead, top yourself off with a Snowy River by Orvis."
Review 15 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
snowy river hat,
April 14, 2015
By: byrdman1933
"Excellent hat. I have purchase 2 and they always look great and wear well."
Review 16 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this hat,
April 13, 2015
By: Number1
"As always all of the Orvis products are just great. I would recommend this hat to all men looking for a hat that when you put it on everybody says I love that hat"
Review 17 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this hat.,
April 9, 2015
By: Robertman
from San Antonio, TX
"I am glad I made this purchase. It's comfortable and good looking."
Review 18 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Straw cracking after a week,
March 31, 2015
By: 3princes
from Boulder, CO
"My husband was so excited to receive this hat and enjoys wearing it. However, after 1 week of daily use, two of the straw pieces at the front have broken, which makes me not so impressed."
Review 19 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,
March 26, 2015
By: Chrism43
from Walla Walla WA
"Just received my straw Snowy River Hat and was exactly what I wanted. Fast Delivery in special hat box"
Review 20 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a summer hat!,
March 23, 2015
By: Gregnorth
from Hicksville, NY
"First of all Fred at the Orvis store on old country rd in nassau county NY is amazing. Time and again he has been a great source for knowledge on Orvis products and really makes me feel comfortable with my purchases because of this. My first panama hat did not quite weather well and Fred was able to take care of it, no problem. I hv since bought the crushable 100% wool hat and have enjoyed it tremendously through the late winter. Thank you Fred and thank you Orvis. I will be back soon!!"