Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Snowy River Hat

An authentic Panama straw hat shields your face from the sun and reduces eyestrain while you survey the back forty. This rancher's-style men's hat fends off harmful rays with a 3" brim and traditional pinched front. Soft CoolMax® sweatband for comfortable fit and flexible sizing. 3 inch brim. Made in USA.Men's hat sizes: S/M(6¾-7⅛), L/XL(7¼-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.415 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
24
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
3
113 of 130(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Review 1 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Hand Cover,
May 6, 2015
By: 2Picky
from Colorado Springs, CO
"It is a risk buying a hat on-line because one man's large is another man's x-large. But taking the Snowy River out of its well- packed box and putting it where it belongs was a pleasure! The wicking hat band felt comfortable and secure. Pure, tightly woven panama fibre in natural color makes the hat look cool. A generous brim will keep the sun off, and the reinforced crush will last a long time. Go ahead, top yourself off with a Snowy River by Orvis."
Review 2 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
snowy river hat,
April 14, 2015
By: byrdman1933
"Excellent hat. I have purchase 2 and they always look great and wear well."
Review 3 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this hat,
April 13, 2015
By: Number1
"As always all of the Orvis products are just great. I would recommend this hat to all men looking for a hat that when you put it on everybody says I love that hat"
Review 4 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this hat.,
April 9, 2015
By: Robertman
from San Antonio, TX
"I am glad I made this purchase. It's comfortable and good looking."
Review 5 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Straw cracking after a week,
March 31, 2015
By: 3princes
from Boulder, CO
"My husband was so excited to receive this hat and enjoys wearing it. However, after 1 week of daily use, two of the straw pieces at the front have broken, which makes me not so impressed."
Review 6 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,
March 26, 2015
By: Chrism43
from Walla Walla WA
"Just received my straw Snowy River Hat and was exactly what I wanted. Fast Delivery in special hat box"
Review 7 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a summer hat!,
March 23, 2015
By: Gregnorth
from Hicksville, NY
"First of all Fred at the Orvis store on old country rd in nassau county NY is amazing. Time and again he has been a great source for knowledge on Orvis products and really makes me feel comfortable with my purchases because of this. My first panama hat did not quite weather well and Fred was able to take care of it, no problem. I hv since bought the crushable 100% wool hat and have enjoyed it tremendously through the late winter. Thank you Fred and thank you Orvis. I will be back soon!!"
Review 8 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
no chin strap,
January 9, 2015
By: Robert1958
"I really like this hat, however, the only drawback is that there was no chin strap for windy days. It is my intention to wear this hat for golfing."
Review 9 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best hat for the job!,
November 13, 2014
By: krobie
from Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria also Sunderland UK
"Here in Pto. Rico, Gran Canaria it is hot and has kind of powerful sun in a cloudless sky, found in few places. As a keen walker, but vulnerable to the sun's rays, I find my hat so light to wear and I am happy that the wide rim is protecting my facial features and ears. Still applying sun cream, I confidently strike out walking every morning for a couple of hours. I would not venture out without my hat on, but initially I often forgot and left it in our apartment... I never got more than 50m before I realised and returned for it. So is it the best hat for the job, Certainly is! The fit, band, lightness and room above your scalp is just right! I would recommend this hat to anyone without reservation."
Review 10 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite golf hat,
October 22, 2014
By: CubbyD
from CT
"My husband had to have another of these after the inside band stretched and began to irritate his forehead. He was not interested in any other hat. When returned to the local Orvis, one was sent to our home, but came damaged. We returned that one, and another came in perfect condition and was very welcomed. The sales help were very accommodating and efficient."
Review 11 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One flaw hat,
September 9, 2014
By: jima4
from Glenwood Springs, Colorado
"Great summer hat with one flaw: the crown isn't high enough. I like the hat a lot but the crown literally rubs the top of my head. I've owned a lot of straw hats and never had a fit just like this. Love the color, love the look, the brim, the weave, coolness, etc. but it's not a decent fit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Panama Ever,
September 8, 2014
By: Goomba1
"I have always wanted a Panama Hat. To have my first exactly as I expected and wanted is fantastic. Thanks Orvis for sourcing such a great product.
I have zero negative comments.
"
Review 13 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
September 1, 2014
By: Flyguy2go
from Petoskey, MI
"Wanted a hat for summer that would be substantially made, nice appearance, fit comfortably. Love it. Have added a few self tied flies for embellishment to make it my own."
Review 14 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
September 1, 2014
By: rebel1
from Jacksonville,FL
"I don't normally wear hats but have been looking for this style for years. Now I wear it every time I leave the house. I am blond and have light skin so this hat is PERFECT for my face and ears. Great Product !!!"
Review 15 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Hat,
August 18, 2014
By: FelixOscar
from Door County Wisconsin
"This hat is fabulous. Just as I expected it would be. Wear it as much as I can. I get great comments on it. Not me; must be the hat!!!!! I love the visor style and shape of the hat. It's a "cool one"!"
Review 16 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat!!,
August 8, 2014
By: Bill01
from Athens, Georgia
"I purchase this hat for myself often but this one was a repeat gift for my good friend - UGA head coach. He loves the hat and always lets me know when his is wearing out. I have done this for him for many years. He wears it for all practices and has been photographed in it often. Great hat for me and coach.."
Review 17 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Hat,
August 8, 2014
By: Eagleballman
from Tampa, FL
"This is a great hat. Classy yet casual. The brim is the perfect width to keep your face out of the hot sun. Hat runs true to size. I can wear it with shorts, slacks or even a sports coat. Goes well with everything. Very comfortable to wear and looks great in every occasion. It's now my favorite hat."
Review 18 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish and comfortable,
August 5, 2014
By: Aaronhur
"I was in need of a new summer hat and tried this one. Looks very good on the stream and so comfortable, you forget you have it on."
Review 19 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very cool looking hat.,
July 31, 2014
By: bubbaone
from New Castle,IN.
"Very nice hat, and looks good too. worth the price and more."
Review 20 for Orvis Snowy River Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thoughts From A Spoiled Brat...,
July 29, 2014
By: MrOrvisian
from Hollywood Hills, California
"I received this hat and wasn't thrilled with the 3" brim. It looked a bit more cowboyish than I imagined, so I held onto it and ordered the Easton Bay Panama with 2.75" brim to compare. The hat arrived and all of a sudden I saw value in both designs. The wider brim helps on really hot days while the narrower brim is great for all-around wear. So now I have two high quality hats and once again, Orvis has spoiled me rotten!"