Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Light Head Magnifier

The best headband magnifier we've ever offered. Magnification adjusts from 1.8X to 4.8X. Lenses flip down or up in succession, quickly changing the magnification as your work demands. Flip-down loupe provides additional magnification for detail work. Twin beam lights for pinpoint illumination. Adjusts to any head size, and can be worn comfortably over glasses. Requires four AAA batteries (not included).
Average Customer Rating:
3.143 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
7 of 14(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Light Head Magnifier
Review 1 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
loupes are great,
November 6, 2012
By: jackaloope
from ft worth, tx
"Seeing what you are doing makes tying small flies a breeze. While the fish may not care, you knoow you've done your best. Attached lights make this valuable away from the tying bench where additional light may be needed."
Review 2 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was disappointed,
September 19, 2012
By: Bogs36
"I found it cumbersome to use. The light bulbs are the old style and give very little light. I am returning it as soon as I return from vacation."
Review 3 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
April 24, 2012
By: Jeff62
from McDermott, OH
"This light head magnifer is great to use when you're using both hands and can't hold a light and the magnification intensifies the small things that I'm working on."
Review 4 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Light Head Magnifier,
March 21, 2012
By: rodnreel
from Fredericksburg, VA
"As far as a head magnifier, the producut is really pretty good with easy adjustments. However, the lighted part is another story...I've only turned the lights on twice and already one side is no longer working...the bulbs need to be LED rather than regular bulbs (not enough light) and they should be adjustable for a more accurate focus."
Review 5 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very useful,
February 13, 2012
By: zdc001
from Delaware
"Having the ability to flip the viewer up and down and to change the magnification makes this a very useful tool not only for fly tying but also to have around the house for other close up work [ like removing splinters ]"
Review 6 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
the quality of a dollar store item,
December 6, 2011
By: StefanO
"It works but you're buying the orvis name with this product. It is cheaply made and shouldn't cost more than $10 dollars."
Review 7 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Heavy, lights worthless, magnificat<readingglasses,
November 13, 2011
By: Random00
"This is very heavy, and the center of balance is off to the sides, so unless the strap is very tight, this will shift left/right as you lean to pick something up off the floor.
the "side lights" are worthless. Total rubbish. They don't meet, so there is no "central circle" of good illumination. They both point straight ahead. So if you walk into a dark room and look @ a wall, even @ 10' away, the 2 lights don't illuminate the same area. What's the point of them being there other than to add weight?
Lastly the magnification factor. You can get reading glasses with stronger magnification than this visor. In my area, you can get 5x reading glasses. These are only 4.8 and only in the tiny area where the loupes line up with the rectangular visor. Again, WHY BOTHER?
I got this as a gift and thought it was so worthless, I actually PAID shipping to send it back to Orvis. I wouldn't recommend this unless it's as a toy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light Head Magnifer,
June 27, 2011
By: FireFly2
"I've have used this head held magifier for over a year now and it has served me well. Like the other reviewers have stated, the side lights are heavy and do not produce light to the the object being viewed. I just eliminated the lights by removing them and lessen the weight of the head magnifier. As I have plenty of light at my fly tying table, these maginfiers work well."
Review 9 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad, not bad at all.,
February 22, 2011
By: SamdB
from Western Australia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Not bad - kind of what I wanted and had in mind. Good value for money and I will use it for a long time. Also had a bit of a problem with the screws and the visor not being tight enough."
Review 10 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Manufacturing Quality Lacking,
December 23, 2010
By: Fly2Fish
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The first pair I bought had the problem mentioned above of battery compartment lids falling off. Returned it for a replacement; while the second's battery compartment lids stayed put, the visor would not maintain position as another review above also noted and there was no tension adjustment. I returned them also.
Since those purchases several months ago, I note Orvis is now out of stock until the end of January, 2011. I'm hoping that the quality manufacturing defects have been remedied, because I may try them again. If they work right, they have great features for a good price."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 26, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that for the issues with the battery compartment lid and the visor. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our items. Orvis also passed this feedback along to the developer of this product for review.
Review 11 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
good people, bad product,
January 29, 2010
By: ironbutter
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"1. head band made of hard plastic, painfull to wear and bad head band size adjustment.
2. hinge for visor, loose.
3. incandesant lites useless, need be LED bright.
and focus needs to be adjustable.
4. plastic lenses scratch too easy, needs glass
5. entire unit too heavy.
do not tell people how to write a review! Meia bad!
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer to express regret that this light head magnifier didn't meet his expectations, and to apologize for any inconvenience. We want our customers to be 100% pleased with all of their purchases from Orvis. We will gladly exchange or refund any purchase.
Review 12 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lighting focus problem,
November 16, 2009
By: zxfre
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Magnifier is excellant. BUT lighting is useless. The flashlight bulbs never shine on the object being viewed. A flood type LED would be much better."
Review 13 for Light Head Magnifier
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Makes tying tiny flies more comfortable,
January 7, 2009
By: StonyBrooks
from Blue Ridge, Georgia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"For 39 bucks, this magnifier is extremely worthwhile. I tie size 18-24 flies for fishing the Toccoa Tailwater, and the headband magnification affords comfort and convenience when tying for precision and proportion. For example, fine wraps on a size 20 zebra midge are doable with my 61 year old eyes. I wear prescription reading glasses, and the magnifier is worn over the reading glasses. The only reason for less than 5 stars is an annoyance with the side plastic battery compartments which pop open. I do not use the lights, so I just leave the batteries out and the plastic compartment covers off. At this price, that minor problem is not an issue for me. bottom line, it works and works well."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Light Head Magnifier
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1