Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Super-Smooth Bobbins

The feet that hold the thread spool are made with Delrin®, so the spool rotates more smoothly than any bobbin you've ever used. These bobbins give you smooth, consistent tension. The tube is flared at both ends, and lined with ultrahard black ceramic to minimize wax buildup and thread wear. Curved bobbin has slightly curved shape that is comfortable in the hand. Magnum bobbin will handle strong threads and large flies with ease—excellent for spinning deer hair or tying large steelhead, salmon, or saltwater flies. Supreme bobbin has straight tube for standard work.
Average Customer Rating:
3.971 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
25 of 34(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Review 1 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fewer thread breaks,
May 5, 2014
By: Kenaharr
from St. Louis, MO, USA
"The smooth operation is a big help and stops my thread breaks. I am a little heavy handed and this bobbin has really helped."
Review 2 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super-Smooth is right!,
May 1, 2014
By: flyguyramos
from U.S.V.I.
"The bobbins are a true reflection to their name- super-smooth! They never chafe the thread and allows quick, neat, and good looking wrapping! Very light and are truly a must have for all fly-tiers"
Review 3 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Smooth Bobbin,
March 20, 2014
By: Evilgeologist
from Richmond, VA
"Smooth bobbin but too loose for my liking. I Can't bend it enough to tighten it up."
Review 4 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
bad batch,
March 4, 2014
By: fishingduck
from Eugene, Oregon
"I purchased three bobbins and one had the rubber connector to the thread spool bent all backwards. The other two are great and I'm not paying 6.95 to return a 3.95 product. Probably just a one/million chance. The other two bobbins work great and would recommend them."
Review 5 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth,
February 25, 2014
By: THE49ER
from Traverse City, MI
"This bobbin is quality made and works as expected ....smooth!"
Review 6 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfactory,
February 11, 2014
By: Hardwik
from Ontario, Canada
"Well what to say; this is just a bobbin of which I have several for fly tying. This one works well, is smooth as advertised and useful."
Review 7 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Fly-Tying Bobbin,
October 17, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I use the curved version of the super-smooth bobbin; it is a good value for the money. The Delrin spool holders allow smoother rotation than other bobbins. While the ceramic tube inserts reduce thread abrasion, they do interfere with threading – a minor annoyance. I plan to purchase the magnum."
Review 8 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New and improved,
May 29, 2013
By: Jamer
from Edina MN
"So many things come along that are not really better. Now this new bobbin is an exception. It is truly better. When I use it side by side to old bobbins I wish I had 6 more."
Review 9 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's a great bobbin, but...,
May 15, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"This is a very good bobbin that is very kind to your thread, and appears to have ceramic inserts at both ends of the thread tube! The problem is... Both ceramic inserts create a lip INSIDE the tube at BOTH ends. This makes it impossible to suck thread through the tube. To use a bobbin threader, you have to poke it into the tube, then spin it until it detaches itself from the lip at the other end and slips the rest of the way through the tube. Occasional tyers probably won't mind the extra work needed threading the tube. Those who switch thread often may have a problem with it. Where's the tradeoff - extra work threading versus ceramic at both ends of the tube for a gentle touch on your thread?? I'm not sure I would buy this again had I known there was a problem??"
Review 10 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job,
May 2, 2013
By: fether
"I needed a new bobbin that was smooth and allowed the thread to turn without too much resistance.
this did the job."
Review 11 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth,
April 23, 2013
By: Lilrob9588
from Gonzales, La
"I've used many other cheap bobbins but I would away a get burrs on them and they woul cut the thread especially when spinning deer hair. These are so smoothe that I don't have to put much pressure on the thread at all. I would recommend these to anyone."
Review 12 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth Bobbin,
April 8, 2013
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"I'm very new to tying, but the bobbin is very smooth and it doesn't seem like the thread is being abraded when it travels through the cylinder."
Review 13 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Product,
February 27, 2013
By: ParachuteMatt
from Essex, MD
"Really like this bobbin works great for my needs. I use a size D thread that fits fine. Never cuts or binds the line. A little pricy found other bobbins for as little as 3$ which work just fine but not displeased with this one at all. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a dependable bobbin that will last."
Review 14 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Defective,
December 10, 2012
By: matt210
from Denver, CO
"I love Orvis but this item appears to be defective. Given that others have had the same complaint, I wonder why it hasn't been dealt with.
The lipped design is incompatible with a basic bobbin threader. It won't even allow thread to be sucked through. As far as I can see, the bobbin I received was impossible to thread.
On the phone, customer service were great and allowed me to return it without fees. Still, why is this still being sold if others have the same issue?"
Review 15 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good.,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"Have used for a couple months now and so far have had no problems. I can keep good tension on the thread without it breaking or cutting."
Review 16 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just buy one,
April 23, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"If you want a bobbin that won't fray you thread this is the one to buy, when you put your thred needle in just give it a little twist as you go and it will go in easy"
Review 17 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nice product, one or two problems,
December 20, 2011
By: puckaluck
from Salt Lake City, UT
"This was the most expensive bobbin I could purchase at my local fly shop. I like to buy the best because it means that I am not disappointed when it comes to quality. The problem I had was what some of the other reviews mentioned. The ceramic insert on the top of the bobbin, where the thread comes out, has a flange inside that makes it almost imposable to thread. To make matters worse the ceramic insert on the particular bobbin I got was put in crooked, so that the thread slipped between the metal and the insert. I took it back to the fly shop and they looked at all the Super-Smooth Bobbins that they had and each one had this defect. I hope that Super Smooth fixes this problem."
Review 18 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Super—Smooth Bobbin,
December 13, 2011
By: stcin
"Well in many ways these are "Super—Smooth Bobbins". However they are more difficult to thread than my non-ceramic bobbins. The ceramic inserts form a lip where they meet the metal bobbin tube. The bobbin threader hits these edges and many attempts have to be made to thread the bobbin."
Review 19 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smooth, attractive,
September 15, 2011
By: brktrout
"Has just the right amount of tension, threads pretty easily, and fits nicely in the hand. No problems with breaking thread (well, i do break thread but it's not the bobbin's fault!). I can't address the problems others have mentioned threading with a threader, as i use the "suck it through" method, and it works fine that way. Good value for a workmanlike bobbin."
Review 20 for Super-Smooth Bobbins
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not the best bobbin,
August 7, 2011
By: Brookieboy
from Athens, GA
"I am a relative newcomer to the world of fly tying but have already discovered that a second bobbin is quite useful. I bought Orvis's Super Smooth Bobbin to use on big wooly buggers but after the second fly, the top ceramic bead broke apart, causing my wire and/or thread to cut prematurely. My advise is to use caution when wraping wire with this bobbin. Orvis usually has great products, but this time it let me down."