Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Saddle Shoe

Bespeak your appreciation for timeless style, durability, and comfort with our updated saddle shoe. The premium full-grain navy-and-ivory leather upper of these dress shoes meets a brick-red sole along a contrast-stitched welt; a cushioned EVA midsole and removable, leather-lined insole offer additional padding and support. Men's two tone dress shoes in navy/ivory. Imported. Whole and half sizes: 8-12, 13.Order one half size smaller than shoe size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saddle Shoe
Review 1 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable as slippers,
November 13, 2013
By: scallion
"These shoes are both comfortable and well made. Great with jeans or slacks. Love them however color is not exactly as pictured. The tan is more dark khaki tan than the light bone in the picture."
Review 2 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable - Nice Quality,
September 3, 2013
By: EricG
from Canada
"A bit snug the first day (width-wise not length) but by day three perfect fit and super comfy. Really nice finishing inside and out. Well worth the money.
Lots of complements when worn with blue Jeans.
"
Review 3 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Off Color,
May 14, 2013
By: HuntingBuddy
"This is a nice shoe but the color description is off. The "ivory" color is more of a kakhi with an olive overtone. Otherwise the shoe should be rated a 5 star product."
Review 4 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
March 18, 2013
By: Dager
"These shoes fit well and are comfortable, however they are not the shoes advertised in the catalog. They are not navy and ivory or even close. At best they are kahki or olive and navy. Last 2 orders from orvis have been disapointing. Have not decided whether to keep shoes or not. Three stars for fit and comfort."
Review 5 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
February 26, 2013
By: tradguy
"very happy with shoes...very high quality...the fit is as described...color is closer to kaki not ivory..."
Review 6 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
shoes,
February 19, 2013
By: tmp1
from Franklin PA
"I did as was instructed and ordered a half size smaller than my regular shoe size. When I went to try them on, was unable to get my foot in the shoe. The shoe was great but I don't trust the sizes.."
Review 7 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So good I bought two pairs,
October 7, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Hastings, UK
"I bought a pair of these as showy formal shoes to wear with business clothes, to get one up on my business partner who had a more traditional pair of two-toned shoes. I have a crippled left ankle, which means I am in permanent pain which is exacerbated by wearing formal shoes. To my delight, these shoes were incredibly comfortable, absorbing a lot of the impact I would normally get from formal shoes. They manage the difficult business of being very light (you hardly feel them) while being strong and shock-absorbent. Because of the way I walk (with a very heavy limp) most pairs wear out quickly on the right shoe. These so far haven't. Despite having worn them around 20 times, there seems to be no wear on the excellent rubber soles. A standard leather or rubber heel on the right shoe would by now need replacing - there seems, incredibly, to be no wear on the right heel of these shoes at all. These shoes are so good I bought a second pair, just in case they get discontinued. The only negative is that my business partner teased me about wearing golf or bowling shoes. Before ordering a pair himself."
Review 8 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes,
July 23, 2012
By: OldGuy1948
from Surrey, UK
"Excellent shoes, well made and liked the fact you receive two pairs of laces one for each color."
Review 9 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
July 13, 2012
By: SteveV
from London, UK
"Despite ignoring the comment in the brochure to order a size smaller than usual, these shoes were far too narrow even to get my feet into. Would only suit someone with very narrow feet."
Review 10 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favourite new pair of shoes,
June 18, 2012
By: Lonzo
from Murfreesboro, TN.
"Classic saddle oxfords. Every time I have worn them I receive compliments from the ladies and the men want to know where I purchased them."
Review 11 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes,
April 17, 2012
By: YoungG
from Corvallis, OR
"My second pair, fit great and they are made well! I always get nice comments when I wear them. I love these shoes."
Review 12 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shoes,
January 27, 2012
By: TimS
from Clearwater, FL
"They fit and wear very well, comfortable to walk with. Definitely order a 1/2 size smaller. I wear an 11, but I ordered a 10 1/2, and they fit fine."
Review 13 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
March 3, 2011
By: wsivley
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been looking for these shoes for a long time. I was so excited to see them in the catalog. Great quality, very comfortable, and highly complimented every time I wear them. Traditional style that stands out in the "new" shoe market."
Review 14 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shoes!,
June 28, 2010
By: Skipjack
from Spring Lake, MI
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What a great pair of shoes. Very light weight and very comfortable the first time I had them on."
Review 15 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I've been looking for!,
January 28, 2010
By: kidotnip
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Casual shoes that don't make you look like you are out for a run are hard to find today. These just fit the bill oerfectly. Look good, feel good, are good! As usual Orvis service was excellent, courteous and prompt. They are rapidly becoming our "go to" store for more and more things. Many thanks."
Review 16 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 14, 2010
By: Patboon
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought as gift (christmas for 18yr old) everything A+
slight difference in color (beige) but not noticable when worn. Pay heed to the sizing instructions...ordering 1/2 size smaller is the answer.
Was concerned that my son would not appreciate the "classic" looks of a saddle shoe in this day and age but he loved them and so do his peers. Thanx
"
Review 17 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classics!,
January 6, 2010
By: alfredomuccino
from San Jose, CA
"The craftsmanship of these classic shoes is superb. The materials and the details are exceptional...and they are super comfortable. It's nice to see a company make stuff the way it should be."
Review 18 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp, very sharp!,
October 24, 2009
By: dockster
from Harpswell, Maine
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These blue and tan saddle shoes are very sharp. Comfortable and good fitting as well. My last pair of these lasted about 15 years and I suspect these will too!
Highly recommended."
Review 19 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A little disappointed,
May 22, 2009
By: IamCanadian
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"But, to be fair, I must say I am extremely particular and picky about shoes. I own well over 20 pairs of dress shoes (some are very high-end and some are middle-of-the-road) with prices raninging anywhere from $100 up to $500+.
Generally, I like the appearance of these shoes. I've never owned saddle shoes and I thought I would give these a try. I found that the leather was far softer and lighter than expected (not sure if that's good or not) but, anyways, I do not like the fit or, rather, I should say, the fit does not agree with the size of my feet. I generally wear anywhere from a 7.5 E to an 8 M (or D width). The fit of these shoes is far too big. I ordered a size 8 and they felt like they were one full size too big for my feet. The length was far too long (I had an extra 1.75 inches at the toe of the shoe) and the general width is also far too wide. I do have wide feet but they're not that wide! I wore these for a day or two with a pair of foam insoles inside but even those didn't help. My feet just felt like they were slippin' and slidin' inside the shoes (both forwards and sideways) and because of that, I couldn't walk properly; I felt like I didn't have proper control over my feet. There also wasn't much arch support, either.
Overall, I have to admit that even though I like the general appearance and quality manufacturing standards of these shoes (many people have complimented me on the shoes), the fit was far too generous. Since the smallest size available is 8 and there is no 7 or 7.5 available, I'm afraid I may have to return them. I would recommend these shoes to prospective customers ONLY if they have very wide or long feet."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 24, 2009
Orvis appreciates all feedback from our customers. We contacted this customer and apologized that the fit of the shoes was not as expected. Due to this feedback, we are looking into the possibility of offering more size options in our men's shoes. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 20 for Saddle Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good comfortable shoe,
April 14, 2009
By: Stush
from Pennsylvania
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Opportunity to wear a classic shoe with a timeless look that can go well with jeans, khaki's or dress slacks. I am very happy with them and may purchase another pair for fear that they may not be available in the future."