Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hopper

Dave's hopper fly is a great, classic dry fly that imitates a grasshopper and gets big strikes from trout. Fish this dry fly along the banks during the height of summer for the best action.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hopper
Review 1 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my other favorite summer hopper,
June 10, 2014
By: DougPA
from Laurel Mountains, Appalachia
"don't let my buddies know i didn't tie this myself !"
Review 2 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential Dave’s Hopper,
August 30, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"The Dave’s Hopper is an essential terrestrial pattern that never fails to attract big fish, especially during the later summer months. Well-tied and durable; great fished alone or as the dry fly in a dropper rig."
Review 3 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome Fly!,
November 11, 2012
By: TheBear51
"There is a reason this fly is legendary. It attracts fish! The Fly is made with quality materials and is well tied.
This fly is a must have in my box for late summer fishing."
Review 4 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
December 7, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"This is an awesome fly. I've used it all over, from the Androscoggin River to small ponds and it never fails to attract big fish."
Review 5 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seems to attract larger trout,
June 20, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"It seems I'm only confirming what others have voiced, but this fly worked great for me at the tail end of a very hot day with little other activity on the water. I fished this fly at the head of a few pools and in each occasion brought up a large rainbow from the bottom of that pool. It's just a great fly that works."
Review 6 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great mid summer fly,
March 7, 2011
By: MBBC05
from New England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave's Hopper is a productive fly on hot summer evenings, especially after a rain. I like to fish it near embankments, giving the line a slight "twitch" occasionally."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monster puller,
January 2, 2011
By: Hubie
from Oklahoma City, OK
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Throw one of these babes on a late summer afternoon to bring the monsters up from the deep holes!"
Review 8 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer Classic,
October 31, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Can't go wrong with this fly in a variety of colors and sizes. A great fly for late July or August when nothin is hatching on the water."
Review 9 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daves hopper,
September 8, 2010
By: flieman
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Invented by Dave Whitlock, it is within my top two hopper paterns. Even small trout are not afraid to bite at it. It will surely produce trout."
Review 10 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Hopper,
May 12, 2008
By: ironwoodcountybooks
from Midwest
"I've had great luck with this pattern in smaller sizes in the Midwest and larger sizes in the Black Hills. It floats well and I have great confidence in any hopper pattern than has legs."
Review 11 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
#1 August/September pattern,
November 29, 2007
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Hard to beat the excitement of casting Dave's Hopper next to the bank and watching a large Brown or Rainbow gulp it down."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have for Western Anglers,
October 29, 2007
By: JohnH
from Idaho
"I regularly fish several hopper patterns. Dave's Hopper is my favorite because of the deer hair head floats well and last longer than the newer foam hopper patterns. This fly should be in every western angers fly box from July through September."