Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Royal Wulff

A dry fly pattern first tied by Lee Wulff and fished with great success for decades. This buggy dry fly imitates many different types of mayflies and terrestrials, too. A great dry fly for prospecting, it can be fished in slow or fast water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Royal Wulff
Review 1 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6 Natives,
May 17, 2015
By: BensCreekDev
from Johnstown, Pa
"The royal wulff worked great for me! Im a 15 year old, first year fly fisherman. Went to a small creek in PA and the natives hammered it. Landed six and lost a lot more."
Review 2 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE BEST,
February 26, 2015
By: ZB12
from PENNSYLVANIA
"THIS ATTRACTOR HAS ALWAYS DONE WELL FOR ME. THE ROYAL WULFF FROM ORVIS IS THE BEST MADE I HAVE EVER COME ACROSS."
Review 3 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
December 31, 2014
By: Mackadoo
from Albuquerque, NM
"Just received my order and I am very impressed with the quality of these flies!"
Review 4 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality is Key,
November 22, 2014
By: TexasVlach
"It's interesting that this review is timed as I just left a major sporting goods store, after looking at their selection of popular fly patterns. The difference is the quality of the fly. After inspecting the same pattern at the sporting goods store, I am glad I continue to purchase flies from Orvis. I have one requirement of the flies that I purchase, the fly needs to be tied better than I can tie it (catching fish is a close second, but that falls more on me). Orvis flies have always met this requirement."
Review 5 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whopper Stopper,
August 20, 2013
By: OldBlueEyes
from Rockbridge, MO
"This is my go-to fly in the Missouri Ozarks. Anytime fish are not rising to the surface, I can usually get a few to come up for this fly. Orvis flies are also durable. I caught an entire stringer of trout on one fly."
Review 6 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Fly - Good Qualtiy,
October 18, 2012
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"As has been my experience with all of Orvis' flies, this is well tied and fairly robust/rugged. This is a classic fly that all anglers should have in their box. Hooked into a spooky Arizona Brown with this fly on my first time out."
Review 7 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The ultimate brook trout fly,
July 27, 2012
By: ADKtrout
"This is the ultimate fly for catching mountain book trout. Fished in size 14 or 16, it out produces any other fly I've tried. Be sure to add a few to your fly box."
Review 8 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good fly,
June 20, 2012
By: Fisherboy778
from Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was fishing the Chattahoochee river and saw some trout near the surface. Since nymphs weren't working i decided to give this fly a try. After about 10 casts i hooked a little rainbow and later on hooked a brown but he got away. Overall its a good fly"
Review 9 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic pattern,
November 22, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"This is an excellent fly to tie on when nothing else is working. Easy to see on the water"
Review 10 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I know I've said this before...,
July 3, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"This is an essential fly for any dry fly fisherman. The Royal Wulff is a top fly and classic pattern for a reason... it works! I keep a 12, 16 and 18 in my fly box at all times and I can't count how many trout I've landed with them. Highly recommend!"
Review 11 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another must have dry pattern.,
March 7, 2011
By: MBBC05
from New England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a classic pattern that I have used since I started fly fishing. This is a great pattern in the summer when the water is more shallow and the current is slower. It is readily visible on the water and is a pattern of confidence when there are no rises, or there is an uncertainty of what the trout are feeding on."
Review 12 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
True Classic,
October 31, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I prefer to use the classic flies. Maybe because I have an eisier time recognizing them, their names and their applications. This is a high quality fly. I typically go with this or a Borcher's Drake in the summer when there are no visible hatches on the water. Also, with age, my declining eyesight is probably my biggest challenge to fly fishing. I love flies that have some high vis or parachute type element that helps me spot and follow them in the current. I just hate to spend more than about a dollar or a dollar and a half on flies. I guess I should stop complaining a buy a fly tying kit (just not enough time in the day)."
Review 13 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wulff,
September 12, 2010
By: flieman
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Lee Wulff is one of the worlds greatest fly tiers by far. This fly works on all hatches all summer and into late fall. You can use it in streams,creeks,river,or lakes. It simply works. Is a must have for any fly fisherman anywhere."
Review 14 for Royal Wulff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well in riffles,
November 29, 2007
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The Royal Wulff imitates just about everything I suppose, since trout take it so readily. Easy to see when you float it down a riffle and very effective."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Royal Wulff
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2