Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots

Zippered flats bootie features heavy-duty, comfortable, breathable Airprene uppers. Nonslip, nonmarking hard-rubber soles provide lateral stability and protection. The cuff is snug enough to keep out sand and debris. Delrin® side zippers. Great with fins in a float tube. In tan. Imported.Men's whole sizes: 5-13. Women should order two sizes down. For example, a woman with a size 7 shoe should order the men's size 5 wading boots. 47 ounces in size 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.283 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
42 of 46(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Review 1 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ripped boots,
February 2, 2014
By: Jwilly
"The seem tore after I used them once. Terrible product!!"
Review 2 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good, women buyers beware though,
January 29, 2014
By: Mattyo
from Salt Lake City, UT
"We haven't left for our trip to Ambergris Caye yet but my size 12s fit perfectly from what I can tell. I love the feel and the construction, I think they'll be a great addition. The web site says that women should order 2 sizes down. My wife is a perfect size 7. She can order shoes from anywhere and the size 7 fits in any type of shoe. So, we ordered the mens size 5 as instructed. They were exactly half a size too small. If you put them sole to sole with any of her size 7 shoes, they were half a size too short. We're awaiting the size 6."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speedy but nice product,
January 15, 2014
By: crockett1974
from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
"My old cold water dive booties were so thin in the soles that I could feel every pebble, so I shelled out for these before a Christmas trip to the flats. I followed the advice of other reviewers and ordered a size smaller than my shoe size, which turned out just right, so I can confirm that they run large. First, they are way cooler than black cold water neoprene dive booties, so that was nice. Second, the have a more extensive protective rand that come up quite high around the foot to protect the boot and ultimately the foot. Sole thickness seems like a good balance of weight/flexibility and protection. Zippers worked well and didn't jam with sand. I only fished three half-days, so hard to tell how durable they will be, but so far so good. The price is high relative to the quality and features of the product though, so I'm giving them four stars on that basis."
Review 4 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good boot,
January 13, 2014
By: Tightloop
from Northeast Oh.
"Bought this boot for a recent trip to Andros for Bonefish. The boot itself worked great. Decent support, great feel but still sturdy for coral. My only drawback was I discovered that the boots yellowed to a dark yellow color and that I am allergic to the rubber used. Feet swelled up, so boots were donated to a local guide."
Review 5 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Island Wading Boots,
January 8, 2014
By: ace641
from Shaw, Ms.
"Excellent Product as are all of the Orvis line!!!!"
Review 6 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic value,
January 3, 2014
By: Bigmass
from Westborough, MA
"I bought these boots 12 years ago for a trip to the Bahamas. I have worn them every year since in both salt and fresh water. After 12 years, they are finally showing a little wear and tear, but are still going strong. These boots are as advertised and are a fantastic value. I have slightly wider feet than average and have no issues with the width. I bought the same size as my running/athletic shoes and they fit very comfortably. On my trips to the Bahamas, I wear them for 8-10 hours at a stretch for 3-4 days in a row and have no issues with callouses or abrasions. From shuffling through sandy flats to walking over rough limestone and coral, to navigating slippery river and lake bottoms, these boots protect my feet and provide great traction. I'll buy another pair in a couple of years when these inevitably wear out. I can't imagine a better deal for my money."
Review 7 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sloppy Manufacturing,
December 11, 2013
By: SanFranFlyFish
"Glue leaking at seams, zipper stops 1/2" from top. Problems seem cosmetic, but the boots haven't seen water yet, so....."
Review 8 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The thing I wanted to have ever!,
October 22, 2013
By: Micca
from Belgrade,Serbia
"I'm fisherman amateur with a little time for my favourite hobby!I dreamed to have this kind of boots.A month ago I was in US for the first time and bought the excellent staff in Orvis.This is my first purchase online!I'm happy like my cats when eating their favourite snacks!!!"
Review 9 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfy,
October 11, 2013
By: RonE
from Bigfork, MT
"Used sneakers last year, not good. Bought the wading boots on a friends recommendation and they worked beautifully. Very comfortable. Walked on oyster beds near Charleston, SC and never had a problem. A must have item if your wading or walking in dangerous territory. Thanks Orvis."
Review 10 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
misinformed,
October 1, 2013
By: smallfish
from Charleston, SC
"many reviews had you downsizing from 9.5 to a nine. MISINFORMED. I thought my toes were going to come out the tips. I up sized to a 10 and my big toe still touches, but manageable. The toes are pointed or narrow at the toe.Still not sure how you would size these? If you are a wide foot don't buy, sorry!!!
They also were stained a little when they came, but one trip into the pluff mud and you could not tell.
"
Review 11 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
forgot to mention,
August 20, 2013
By: aclphoto
from Durango CO
"In ref of the above review... the only reason I didn't give this a 5 star is due to the fact that I have not yet used these boots... I'm sure however after my Christmas Island trip I will return with a 5 star rating."
Review 12 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing,
August 19, 2013
By: aclphoto
from Durango CO
"I run a TRUE 9.5 size in most any shoe or boot... So I am always concerned when buying 'even only' sized shoes. I never know if I should get the 9 or a 10... in this case I choose the 9. they fit very well."
Review 13 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service,
April 10, 2013
By: Flyguy99
"When I contacted Orvis to tell them that the Christmas Island Wading Boots that I ordered were to small, not only did the folks at Orvis make it easy for me to exchange the wading boots they shipped them to me in time for my up coming Bahamas Bone fish fly trip.
Thanks Orvis you really understand the meaning of customer service."
Review 14 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product but half sizes would be even better.,
February 12, 2013
By: Faythe
from Lees Summit, MO
"This is a great wading boot for many conditions. I use these mostly for wading on ocean beaches to keep from stepping on sharp shell or other objects. The height is ideal for keeping sand and shells for entering the boot. If the boot came in half sizes, I could get a more comfortable fit., but still a great wading boot."
Review 15 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cost Effective Boot,
February 10, 2013
By: FlybumMedia
from Cleveland, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased these boots as a cost effective piece of gear for my first few trips to the salt. Not knowing for sure how much flats time I would get, these seemed to fit the bill. They did a great job at getting the job done especially considering the price. The only thing I would like is a bit of ankle support, but again, based on price, these boots are a solid piece that you really can't ask anything more of. Zippers worked well even in the marl, sand, etc."
Review 16 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent service,
December 28, 2012
By: Kiko13
from Ashburn VA
"The boots are top notch but the Customer Service was over the top!"
Review 17 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots,
December 3, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"These boots do the job. I originally bought these for wet wading the flats, but they also work well in the river when it's warm out. They keep mud, sand, and stones out and your feet stay comfortable in the water."
Review 18 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boots are Great,
October 16, 2012
By: flyfisher50
"I actually used these in a rocky Stream and they worked good on the algae. I did not have any problems with the rocks and am very pleased with their performance. They are very easy to get on and off over waders. The zipper is easy too."
Review 19 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellant Purchase,
October 1, 2012
By: 30fishdays
"Had been looking for a shoe/boot that could be worn on a float as well as in the stream. Excellant for sandy bottoms/banks of streams."
Review 20 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots!!!!,
October 1, 2012
By: Macsdaddy
from South Florida-Treasure Coast
"I tried on several other brands in various stores and was never quite satisfied. I saw the Orvis boots online and they were immediately ordered. I made one mistake in ordering my shoe size and I knew they would be subject to sinking in the soft mud here in Florida. Sent them back & got the next size smaller. They are perfect. Comfortable and keep out the sand and rocks. Would recommend to anyone looking for an alternative to waders."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.