Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe

Walk without fatigue, discomfort, or pressure points in legendary Mephisto's® best-selling orthopedic walking shoes. Vegetable-tanned, butter-soft leather upper mated with a natural rubber sole provides support and comfort on any surface. Anatomical footbed with shock-absorbing midsole and heel protects joints from the abuse of walking on hard surfaces. Men's orthopedic walking shoes in brown. Europe. Whole and half sizes: 8-11½, 12, 13.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Review 1 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mephisto shoes,
March 3, 2014
By: HKap
from PA
"Saw some comments and was concerned about sizing, but my shoes fir perfectly. Very comfortable and supportive, these will be great walking shoes. I am impressed with the styling of the Orvis branded shoes as never viewed Mephisto as stylish, but these really are. Satisfied in every way"
Review 2 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes,
February 6, 2014
By: cows
from Holly Springs, MS
"These shoes are good looking, so very comfortable and yet stylish. This was a great purchase and I am so glad I did once I saw them."
Review 3 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They are worth it,
December 26, 2013
By: MikeN
"$350 for a pair of walking/tennis shoes? Really? Well, for me, they are worth every penny. Very comfortable. great with jeans and khakis (for casual wear). They last forever and can be resoled. I have a pair I bought years ago and paid to have Mephisto resole them...that is how much I like them."
Review 4 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality footwear,
August 27, 2013
By: fball
"Have owned this in the past. Tried other brands, but none was as good."
Review 5 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Footwear,
August 5, 2013
By: Haasome
from Massachusetts
"These shoes are the best. I've had 2 pairs of this model. They last many years, are incredibly comfortable, are made of top quality leather and a fine level of craftsmanship. They provide a rugged, casual option for work or walking. The fit is accurate and support is very good. When eventually they show signs of wear, you can ship them back to Mephisto for refurbishing -- for a modest cost."
Review 6 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Eveer,
May 18, 2012
By: Spenoak
from Little Rock, Ar
"I stand while working about 8 hours a day and these shoes are the best that I have work. Could not do it without them."
Review 7 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long lost friend,
December 27, 2011
By: Zodd
from Tucson, Az
"I had a similar pair of Mephisto walking shoes several years ago, wore them completely out, and was unable to find replacements until I spoted them in the Orvis catalog. They aren't cheap but my feet tell me they are well worth it. Please, NEVER drop them from your product selections."
Review 8 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like Walking on Air,
October 25, 2011
By: ProfessorPat
from Scarsdale, NY
"These shoes are simply fabulous. They seem to accommodate the width of your foot so that you are comfortable not only while standing still but also while walking.
This is my third pair and it will not be my last. My only regret is the choice of colors is very limited."
Review 9 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow, so comfortable,
September 15, 2011
By: Furms
"My husband has severe arthritis in his back and his job requires him to walk on concrete for long periods of time. I purchased these shoes with the hopes that he would get some relief throughout the day. He is so happy with these shoes and he doesn't have the aches he had with other shoes. The investment is well worth it. Thank you."
Review 10 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A problem purchase,
September 8, 2011
By: Dkye
"This is a nice shoe, and it should be for $350, but sizing is too wide. This is not a US D width, but something wider than that, for the shoe length I require (10.5). I had the same issue with your deck shoe a couple of years back. Very nice shoe, but I struggle with the width."
Review 11 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing Comes Close,
December 11, 2010
By: pluran
from Oregon Coast
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The best shoe in the world. As good as the best Cohiba Robustos used to be. Better, actually.
I prefer it in black."
Review 12 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these shoes,
July 14, 2010
By: Zenimij
from Burlingame, CA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I always dread buying new shoes because they either never carry my size in the styles I like or they end up not being very comfortable after being on my feet all day.
This was the second pair of shoes I purchased within a month because the first pair (Clarks Nature 2) although much cheaper, didn't feel comfortable after extended use as they were much to soft in the sole.
I hesitatingly tried on the Mephisto Match shoes thinking I would never pay $350 for a pair of shoes! To my surprise they fit like a glove and my weight felt evenly dispersed across the entire foot bed. The craftsmanship of the shoe was superb and the soles were supportive without feeling spongy as most walking shoes are. I have had them for three months now and I am very happy with my purchase!"
Review 13 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work of art,
May 28, 2010
By: Orvis1
from Raleigh, NC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great Mephisto looks, quality and support. A magnificient shoe. Orvis sells the only color Match I like which is the dark brown. Hate the tan and other colors Mephisto sells."
Review 14 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as nice as pictured,
May 24, 2010
By: Tactics
from Greensboro, NC
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Obviously well made; beautiful leather and workmanship fine. Comfortable for sure, but for one problem. Problem is (D) width seems very wide and gives the shoe a rather "clunky" look and feel. On top of that, price seemed a bit stiff. The combination (stiff price and bulkiness) prompted a return. Too bad, as I've been looking for some time for just this kind of shoe for city walking."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 8, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that they were not fully satisfied with these shoes. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our clothing items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them.
Review 15 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Across the great devide,
May 20, 2010
By: jnper
"Mephisto offers limited width choice, usually only a D. OK with me, but change of eyelets to metal D ring adds another full width to the shoe, to an E, possibly an EE, which is much too wide for me. Also, more recent designs (I have three glamorous pair, all over 12 years old and still looking good) appear to be styled for hospital attendants and store clerks which is neither fashionable nor acceptable, not at $350 a pop."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 8, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that he was not fully satisfied with these shoes. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our clothing items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them.
Review 16 for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Walking Shoes,
April 6, 2008
By: Michaleen
from Maine
"about your best walking shoes. Match is one of Mephisto's most popular and are built for long walking. Comfortable right out of the box, but with this type of quality leather, it takes at least 6 months to mold to your foot. With a good shoe tree and proper care, you are purchasing one of the best and most comfortable walking shoes made. Your feet, legs, lower back and neck will thank you."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mephisto® Match Walking Shoe
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2