Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Peony Reversible Skirt

Our lightweight women's skirt is two skirts in one—it's reversible! Great for travel, this easy elastic-waist women's reversible skirt style features a vibrant peony print that reverses to a dotted pattern on a black background. Made of lightweight silky rayon georgette to wear in any season. Women's reversible skirt in multi floral. Rayon. Dry clean. Imported.Women's skirt sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 35" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
14 of 20(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Peony Reversible Skirt
Review 1 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pretty,
December 29, 2012
By: magellan404
from CA
"Fit and waltz length really perfect. Both sides of reversible skirt are pretty and fun (unlike other reversible skirts with only one "winner")."
Review 2 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent quality,
December 28, 2012
By: vibrantcolors
from New York
"This skirt is true to size and the colors are very lively. I had no problem with the length even though I am only 5 feet tall. It was definitely an excellent purchase. I love reversible skirts that are well made. As an avid sewer, I would highly recommend this garment!"
Review 3 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely skirt.,
December 28, 2012
By: Nereda
from Mansfield, Australia
"I am very pleased with my skirt. Only probem I have is it is a bit long but then I am a bit short. :-)
Nereda
"
Review 4 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Disapointed,
April 20, 2012
By: JDFletcher
"The hem of the skirt is quite uneven In general, the pink polka dot side is longer than the peony side and shows below it.. I do think I paid far too much for a skirt that is cut uneven."
Review 5 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reversible skirt,
March 18, 2012
By: artymo
from Dorset
"I LOVE this skirt!
I am 5'7" and the length is great! I like longer skirts are they slim me down a bit.
The peony print is so pretty - I wear it on this side more than the reverse side.
Fabric and cut are good. Would highly recommend it.
"
Review 6 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really pleased,
November 11, 2011
By: Hinny
"The colours are really good and I shall enjoy wearing this with a variety of different coloured tops. It will also be easy to pack for holidays"
Review 7 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 12, 2011
By: Anniemac
"This is such a pretty skirt - only drawback for me is the length - I wear it as a full length skirt - would be better if the skirts could be made shorter for those of us who are "vertically challenged""
Review 8 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real winner,
July 3, 2011
By: donkey4g
"This skirt is fantastic. Light as a feather with a lovely 'floaty' 'feel. Rolls into a small cylinder (for packing) and hardly creases at all. Great anytime, but especially for travelling."
Review 9 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Another disappointed customer,
May 2, 2011
By: Locotillo
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"When I pulled my skirt out of the bag, I discovered (like another person here) that both fabrics were pieced along one of the seams. It seemed uneven before I put it on and when I measured down the seams, one of the pieced layers was 34" and the other was 33". I measured the other seam and it was 31". In general, the pink polka dot side is longer than the peony side and shows below it. The picture certainly doesn't show any piecing or any length difference. I think it is inevitable that this skirt is going to stretch on the bias due to the way it is cut, whether or not you wash it like someone else mistakenly did. It's not such a great skirt for travel if it can't be washed. I removed the labels -- didn't want to see THOSE through the sheer fabric -- so I guess I'm stuck with it. I also love both fabrics, so I decided to pin or gather up (haven't decided which yet) the exceedingly long pieced seamed side. I bought a black fabric rose pin/barrett to cover the pinning or gathering. It doesn't look like the same skirt, but with it shortened at that spot and what amounts to a split, the rest of the uneven hem doesn't look quite so bad. I also decided to wear that seam straight down the front middle of my left leg. That puts the other seam down the back middle of my right leg and the hem almost looks even. Thank goodness I will probably be wearing this only at night. I'm 5'8" tall and my skirt size is XL. If the length had been even, it would not have been a problem for me. I do think I paid way too much for a skirt that I'm having to fight to make look decent. Since it appears that some customers had no problems with the skirt except the length or the sheerness, I have to assume that there is a quality control issue in the manufacture of this skirt."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 22, 2011
We appreciate this feedback and based on these comments, we are currently reviewing the concerns raised by our customer. Our goal is to make sure this skirt is absolutely right and you can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 10 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous skirt!!!,
March 16, 2011
By: nyc53
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Beautiful skirt. I am 5'10 tall and the length is perfect for me. Thank you Orvis for thinking of us tall girls!!!"
Review 11 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this -- more please,
August 30, 2010
By: Grizzlygirl
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love this skirt. It doesn't wrinkle, it feels light and airy, yet drapes perfectly, it is not bulky over the hips, yet delightfully swishy at the hem. I wear both sides and always get compliments.
However, the ankle length somewhat limits the places I'll wear it.
Orvis, please consider making similar light and swishy georgette reversible skirts in a just-at or just-below-the-knee length. And please consider either very different colours on the two sides or one side plain and the other patterned. I'd love to have more of your reversible skirts, but on most of them the two sides are so similar that the reversibility is a minor feature."
Review 12 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these skirts!,
August 3, 2010
By: NaiadofSC
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have purchased every single reversible skirt Orvis makes, and frankly, they are the staples of my wardrobe. As a slightly chubby 5'7" college professor and frequent international traveler, I find these skirts both flattering and great value. The color patterns are delightful (of course I have my favorite "sides"); they coordinate well with black, beige or colorful jackets. The length is very flattering, the only drawback being my tendency to roll my desk chair back onto the hem and then stand up. They are perfect for graceful travel: I led a 10-day trip through the steepish landscapes of S. Italy last Fall, and with only 4 skirts in my suitcase, never felt like I was underpacked. Other professionals on the trip raved about them, and the men were (quite frankly) envious they didn't have something similar in the trouser line. Please offer more patterns, Orvis! These skirts are a godsend."
Review 13 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Should have read the reviews.,
June 13, 2010
By: SLH2574
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I really wished I had read the reviews more carefully before I ordered this skirt. I needed something nice for a Wedding that would travel well and this skirt seemed like just the thing. What I liked about it was that it was reversible; it was very light; and it did not wrinkle. What I did not like was how long it was. I'm 5'6" and it was at my ankles. The second thing I did not like was the fact that the flower print pattern showed through when you had the pink/back side out. Anyone would be able to tell it was reversible. For $98, this was not a skirt I would be comfortable in and probably wouldn't wear again, mainly because of how long it was. However, if it came in a shorter length (just below the knee), it would have been a great summer skirt. But for the money, the bad outweighed the good and back it went. Of course, I'm out the shipping cost both ways. Bummer."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 15, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the issue with the length and the fabric. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback about our clothing as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our fit.
Review 14 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Suits my need,
May 11, 2010
By: Donna6
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I was looking for a skirt for a cruise that would pack well and could be warn more than once. I thought the reversible skirt would be perfect. The floral side is very pretty and colorful. The reverse side is boring and too shear. The floral pattern shows through and looks odd. For the price paid this skirt is OK, but nothing special. I will not wear the dotted side at all. It will pack well and it flows nicely. It is also long which is something that is sometimes hard to find (I am 5'7")."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 19, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and thanked her for her honest feedback. Customer Service also forwarded these customer comments to the product developer so that she is aware of this feedback.
Review 15 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this skirt!,
July 5, 2009
By: Seashell
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I pulled the skirt straight out of the mailing bag and pulled it on the day of a friend's wedding. No wrinkles, beautiful drape, vivid colors. It was just the ticket for that evening (does well on the dance floor also). The fit is comfortable and flattering. I am 5 feet 4 inches and it landed at my lower calf, my favorite skirt length. I hope that Orvis continues to make these longer skirts with bright prints as they are true classics which remain lovely for years. When I was younger I had an Orvis skirt with red leaves on a black background. I wish you would make that skirt again but update to a pull-on style."
Review 16 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice skirt,
June 12, 2009
By: gardengal
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought the skirt a few months ago and really like it (its one of my favorites). The pieced part is no big deal -- I have another top name brand that did the exact same thing. The fabric is so busy that it's really not noticeable. Several gals in my office complimented me on the skirt. Unfortunately, tonight I accidentally washed it (its dry clean only). It didn't ruin it but it shrunk slightly in length and unevenly so I may buy another one to replace it. The price is a bit spendy, but consider that it is two skirts in one. The colors are lovely and the length is great on my 5'6" frame (comes slightly above my ankle -- flattering length)."
Review 17 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful, but a little too long,
May 25, 2009
By: Jazzblues1
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"First of all, the fabric and patterns are lovely. The skirt flows nicely, and to my eye, it looks well made. It would be perfect if it had a higher hemline.
I agree with the previous reviewer that the skirt is too long. This is purely a matter of taste, by the way. If you like a skirt to be truly ankle length, you will be fine if you are 5'4" or taller. However, I don't think that's a very flattering length (for me, anyway). I am getting mine altered to a mid-calf length which I believe will be more flattering.
Like the previous reviewer, I am also a little confused by the seam in the middle of the front. I am not really bothered by it, however, because it's fairly unobtrusive.
Aside from those small things, it's beautiful and well made."
Review 18 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love at first sight,
May 14, 2009
By: Lynnski
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This skirt is so beautiful that I can hardly wait to wear it. The reverse is a subtle polkadot and very nice as well. It has a little "heft" so that it drapes well. I am 5'5" and I think the skirt is a good length. it doesn't make me look like a grandma (which I am). Very classy."
Review 19 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I disagree with 1st review,
March 11, 2009
By: Vic59
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I just received this garment. I have tried it on and like it very much. First reviewer said that it was too long: I am 5'6" and the length is just right .. I like both sides of this reversible skirt and it is the only skirt I will take on a 2 week vacation to Bonaire,,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Peony Reversible Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't waste your money,
February 27, 2009
By: Supermom323
from New York , N.Y.
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I can't tell you how dissapointed I am with this skirt. It will definitely be going back. Firstly, this skirt is extremely long. If you are not at least 5'7" to 5'8" do not even bother. The wormanship is terrible. I could not figure out where the front of the skirt is. There are 2 seams that you would think are the side seams however at the bottom of one of the seams the skirt is pieced.If place in the back then you have an ugly seam down the front. Somehow the skirt seems uneven. Not at all the quality I was expecting from the Orvis name or the price."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 25, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the disappointment caused by this skirt. Orvis thanked the customer for providing this feedback and, of course, offered a refund or an exchange. Orvis will cheerfully exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Furthermore, this feedback has been forwarded to the women’s skirt product developer for consideration.