Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Prepainted Fly Eyes

Nontoxic dumbbell eyes, prepainted in contrasting colors for a realistic appearance. In silver, black, gold, pearl, yellow, red. 10 per pack. Sizes: ⅛", 5/32", 3/16", 7/32", ¼". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Review 1 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliable Customer Service,
August 11, 2015
By: Becket
from Southern Virginia
"Using Orvis safes me from making a 50 mile roundtrip from my home to Short Pump to the retail store. Orvis is very quick to ship and the packages typically arrive quickly from their Roanoke, VA center. I also like the fact that they carry a wide inventory too. In this case, painted lead eyes, there are many other sources but none beat Orvis for convenience."
Review 2 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis comes through,
July 27, 2015
By: Becket
from Southern Virginia
"My son was coming for a visit. Had built an 8wt salt water rod for him and wanted to equip him with a few basic salt water flies, deceivers, Clousers, sand ells. Ran out of eyes. Orvis shipped them to me in one day from Roanoke. Mission accomplished! Since recuperating from office surgery, could not drive to Short Pump."
Review 3 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as Ordered,
March 5, 2015
By: krichard25
"Order delivered on time, and exactly as I needed. Easy to tie with"
Review 4 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Prepainted Dumb Bell Eyes,
February 11, 2015
By: Fraser440
from Scotland
"The quality of these prepainted is of very low quality and are useless for tying flies.The paint job on these eyes make the eyes look squint."
Review 5 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the eyes have it,
October 21, 2014
By: Bronzeback
from Detroit, mi
"Been using these for years, still working good for streamers nd leaches."
Review 6 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
must have,
June 18, 2014
By: stillwaterangling
from Cape Cod, MA
"These eyes work great for tying clouser patterns. They provide enough weight to keep the the hook point up without making the fly overly heavy and hard to cast. I also like that the eyes are smooth, not like the sharp edges on recessed nickel eyes, which is especially nice when the fly eyes smack your ear during the forward cast on a windy day."
Review 7 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best eyes ever!,
March 21, 2014
By: flatsassassin
from Bradenton, Fl
"I used these on some "Minnie Clausen" minnows for bluegill in the local lake. they do the job better than the bead eyes I was using. better sink rate. (make sure to use some thing to hold the small ones!!)"
Review 8 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
March 13, 2014
By: jasbeambottle
"These prepainted eyes are consistent, bright colors, and easy to tie with. Love them!"
Review 9 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simple and efficient,
February 11, 2014
By: Xmen28
from Connecticut
"Greatest innovation in fly tying. Quick and easy to use giving realistic eyes and weight at the same time. Makes tying good looking clousers a cinch"
Review 10 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well painted.,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"These eyes are very durable and has withstood my scratch test with no excess chipping or flaking."
Review 11 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prepainte Fly Eyes,
March 4, 2012
By: FireFly2
"Really like fly eyes from Orvis, as they are consistant in their painting. Other suppliers have inconsistant painting on their barbell eyes. These eyes are consistant in the size also."
Review 12 for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT FOR CLOUSERS,
November 25, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from FLORIDA ,RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO, BOCA GRANDE
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I GO THROUGH TONS OF THESE AS WELL ALL DEPEND ON THE COLOR OF CLOUSER IMTYING OR MY SECRET SNOOK FLY I USE THE RED ON EXCLUSIVELY GREAT PRODUCT SURE BEATS PAINTING LEAD BY HAND,I ONLY WISH THEY WERE A LITTLE CHEAPER STILL A GOO DEAL IN TERMS OF WORK ITS SAVES YOU."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Prepainted Fly Eyes
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3