Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Elk Wing Caddis

The elk wing caddis dry fly is one of the most popular and proven dry flies in the world. The dry fly pattern imitates the natural caddis, one of the most prolific insects across North America that trout feed on. The elk hair caddis can fish like conventional dry flies, as well as be "skated" across the top of the water to attract feeding trout.Sizes: 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
39 of 40(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Elk Wing Caddis
Review 1 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great fly,
April 8, 2014
By: flytron
from pittsburgh PA
"fly appears to be well crafted and no signs of it falling apart. hooks are very sharp and floats in teh air as it should...and even better on teh water."
Review 2 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
January 28, 2014
By: SurferRJ
from Goffstown, NH
"One of 3 different flies purchased and the detail is very good, the trout will definitely come after this one."
Review 3 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
December 31, 2013
By: EskyRiverLodge
from Escanaba Michigan
"These flies are really good quality and hold together really well. The hooks are also very strong."
Review 4 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elk Wing Caddis,
September 7, 2013
By: sbrouwers
"This is a good looking Caddis Fly. Full with nice colors and seems to be well tied."
Review 5 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fly,
September 5, 2013
By: JohnnyG612
from Southern New Jersey
"Although I wasn't fishing for anything extravagant, I must say that I was the only person catching fish at a local pond yesterday because of this fly. I caught a bluegill on each of my first three casts and continued catching them consistently for the rest of the evening. I only wish I would have bought more of these, because I snapped the fly off of my tippet on a poor back-cast into the grass. These are excellent quality flies; sure to catch fish! The finish and durability of the tying held up very well after many removals (from the fish's mouths) with a pair of pliers. I already ordered more!"
Review 6 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Elkwing caddis dry fly,
July 2, 2013
By: Mactate10
from Colebrook, NH
"Was a strong fly that floated all day long. Only problems were it floated weird in the water so i had to trim a little bit of the caddis."
Review 7 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality,
April 18, 2013
By: WarmSunshine
from Liberty Lake, WA
"I am very happy with this purchase, the quality is really good and I can't wait to throw this fly!"
Review 8 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Qualtiy of Elk Wing Caddis,
March 11, 2013
By: Owenone1
from Hanover, PA.
"The quality of these Elk Wing Caddis flies as received from Orvis are excellent quality. I took the advice of Orvis on their selected flies that should be in ones fly box and while I am not an experienced dry fly fisherman I knew that if Orvis recommeds must have dry flies that I needed to have these in my possession. Cannot wait to try these on PA trout."
Review 9 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fly,
February 27, 2013
By: Dwhead2
from West Chester, PA
"Well made quality fly. Can't wait to catch some trout!"
Review 10 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
can't wait for the ice to go out!,
December 29, 2012
By: jmack30
from adirondaks n.y.
"the fly is nicely tied however I have to wait for spring and warmer weather to use it looking forward to ice out and spring fishing! jmack30"
Review 11 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
November 28, 2012
By: jct133
from Pawlet, VT
"This is a superb quality fly that has been chewed by many a fish and hasn't fallen apart yet. It's also a great fly to use in tandem with a very small midge pattern in the late fall. Elk wing caddis is an all-time classic that is one of the most versatile flies I own."
Review 12 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Fly,
November 1, 2012
By: ACHC
"Well put together fly. Made up of solid materials, and a craftmans eye.
Competitive pricing as well...Well done Orvis!
"
Review 13 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caddis,
October 8, 2012
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"Very well tied, durable fly. Good Producer - works well on Arizona's mountain streams."
Review 14 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
July 23, 2012
By: Swearsy
from Evart, MI
"Another well built fly from Orvis. It's never a question of quality."
Review 15 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Trout Magnet!,
May 19, 2012
By: TheBear51
"This is a great fly! When you are not sure what to tie on...this is the one. This Elk Wing Caddis produces trout.
It has produced Rainbows, Browns, Brookies, Cutthroats, Greenback Cutthroats...
This fly has has given me more hours of fun with a trout on the end of my line than any other fly in my box.
It is well tied using great craftsmanship and quality materials. Excellent visibility on the water.
Carry a variety of sizes & colors and hang on."
Review 16 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Fly,
December 7, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"Well tied, own mulitple sizes of this fly, all hold up well."
Review 17 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly,
October 26, 2011
By: ganszo
"I brought these with me to mo. Last week and caught rainbows all day. great fly!"
Review 18 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Brookie Fly,
July 16, 2011
By: Flyfish911
from Morristown, TN
"These are well tied and very durable even after numerous catches. Brook trout will take this fly all day long. The only dry fly I use for Spring and Summer brook trout in the Appalachians."
Review 19 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis flys,
July 11, 2011
By: Nhfishing
from Concord,NH
"Top quality, eyes are not filled with glue. Not guarantee that it will cath fish, however if they are near by, you have a great chance that they will give them a try!,"
Review 20 for Elk Wing Caddis
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
July 8, 2011
By: nsdrawbridge
from Holden, Ma
"I bought two if these flies and they looked great on the water. The problem was that one broke in my foam fly box and the other looked terrible only after two times. Orvis has been real hit or miss with me, i just bought a new rod and I'm hoping for good things."