Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Adams Parachute Dry Fly

The Adams Parachute dry fly pattern is a fly that deserves to be in every fly box. The Adams Parachute Dry Fly is a versatile dry fly and has become recognized as a popular pattern on trout rivers around the world. Our Adams Parachute dry fishing flies are tied using extra-fine dry fly hooks. Sizes: 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 22, 26.
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Review 1 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go To Fly,
April 15, 2014
By: Kazatski
from Vail Colorado
"If I had to chose just one fly to fish with the rest of my days it would be the good ol Parachute Adamd. I have caught more fish in ore water conditons times of year etc with this fly than all the others in my aresenal combined !"
Review 2 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adams Parachute,
December 25, 2013
By: timgoor
"This is a great attractor fly but especially good in terms of visibility on fast moving water"
Review 3 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Dry, First Brown,
July 26, 2012
By: BrookieBen
"I've always been a nymph guy, but this past weekend I decided to try an Orivs Parachute Adams and...WHAM! I caught a killer 13'' Brown. Thanks, Orvis, for helping me scratch two accomplishments (a Brown and a DryFly catch) off my fishing bucket-list."
Review 4 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly!,
May 14, 2012
By: TheBear51
"This Adams Parachute produces trout! It is well tied with quality workmanship and materials.
Keep a variety of sizes on hand as often I will find myself tying on a 24 or even 26.
When trout are rising, this is definitely one of my "go to" flies. It produces strikes.
Easily a top 5 fly in my box. I love this fly because it produces trout on the end of my line."
Review 5 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent on Spring Creek,
April 9, 2012
By: OhJon
from Caledonia NY
"Got excellent results with this size 26 on Spring Creek.
Multiple strikes and one 9" Brown to the net from a pod of fish taking very small midges."
Review 6 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My # 1 Dry Fly in my Box,
February 13, 2012
By: ShaneN
from Tulsa, OK
"This fly is perfect with 7X tippet on any river.. I use it on the lower Ill river below Ten Killer dam in OK. I also use it in Colorado.. Must have when the trout start hitting top water.. Smaller the better because the fish will turn away if they see your line.. Good luck"
Review 7 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adams Parachute,
February 1, 2012
By: mlsigner
"Received the fly quickly in a small plastic box. As I inspected the fly it was tied excellently."
Review 8 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
parachute adams,
January 4, 2012
By: robola
"I primarily fish the upper Gunnison drainage in Western Colorado. The Parachute Adams has become my 'go to" dry fly pattern. It is invariably productive even when there is obvious Caddis or other non Mayfly hatch activity. A great "all rounder.""
Review 9 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality fly,
November 22, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"This is a well made fly that will catch trout all day long."
Review 10 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for imitating almsot any caddis hatch,
August 23, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"Great producer for brook trout and rainbows. Visibility is easy and you would be surprised how often this gem is overlooked by fly fisherman. Don't leave home without one!"
Review 11 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fly,
June 29, 2011
By: Bullroar
"Just got these in the mail a couple of weeks ago. Only used 2 so far, but at least half a dozen nice trout in technical Colorado waters."
Review 12 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good investment for my free time,
June 15, 2011
By: MrMose
"You can buy a look a like anywhere but right away you can see the differents, quailty. And most of all the price I am buying all my flies here just like I did my first fly pole. Yes I am very happy now I just need to go and learn to fly fish but I have been waiting all my life and now getting my dream come true, thanks Orvis"
Review 13 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just great...,
June 12, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I just fished this fly today and caught back to back trout for about 3 hours. Love it!"
Review 14 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
May 5, 2011
By: Laxdrewb
from Colorado Springs, CO
"Very basic but well made and worth purchasing through Orvis."
Review 15 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good fly in moving or still water,
March 5, 2011
By: FlyFiend
from St. Louis, MO
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a great fly for the first fly on a cast of flies. It looks very fishy and sits well on the water."
Review 16 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Avoid certain doom. Carry a Parachute Adams!,
June 14, 2010
By: ZFisher
from Newtown, CT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It still amazes me how well this fly produces. On a recent float trip we had a bunch of trout rising to emergers all afternoon and were throwing all manner of fancy patterns at them with little luck. On a hunch, the guide pulled out a Parachute Adams.
Fish on!
So much for secret guide flies.
Fish the Adams. You won't be disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
June 7, 2009
By: Isaac
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have just started fly fishing last season so I don't have a lot of experience but I know one thing! This fly helped me out perform friends of mine that are definitely veterans. I used this fly with a dropper and caught more and bigger fish in less time than my friends! I highly recommend having this fly in your arsenal."
Review 18 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazing,
June 2, 2009
By: jonny
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"i used this fly on a small stream while a mayfly hatch was taking place and cuaght 4 trout and missed even more"
Review 19 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never Failed to Attract a Big One,
July 11, 2008
By: Anonymous
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I used this fly on the Rio Grande near Creede, Colorado June 2008 and caught 10 trout - with one being an over 3 pound rainbow. Works great in lakes, too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Adams Parachute Dry Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
#1 go-to dry,
November 19, 2007
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I can remember the first time I tried a parachute adams, I could not believe a fly could work so well! I catch 75% of my season's trout with the parachute adams. It is effective on all sorts of water: fast riffles to spring streams and on ponds. Vary the size to suit, and smaller is usually better, but don't be afraid to go to a size 12 just to see what happens!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.