Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Adams

A dry fly pattern that should be in every fly box. The Adams Dry Fly is a versatile dry fly fishing pattern and has become recognized as a popular dry fly on trout rivers around the world. Our Adams dry flies are tied using extra-fine dry fly hooks.Sizes: 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22.
Average Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adams
Review 1 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
replacement,
April 5, 2014
By: 075692d
"this fly replaces a Adams I have it's a little beat up."
Review 2 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality,
February 13, 2014
By: MarkyMark81
from Wallkill, NY
"Some of the best quality flys on the market, would highly recommend keeping this fly in your box."
Review 3 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
January 1, 2014
By: cnr1105
"Have not used them but my In laws are avid fly fishers and loved them."
Review 4 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Fly,
September 7, 2013
By: sbrouwers
"The color pattern is nice. Seems to be a well tied fly."
Review 5 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
May 8, 2013
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"I've never considered this a bad choice on the water. There is a reason it's considered the best dry. Great quality by Orvis."
Review 6 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
December 28, 2012
By: Darp
from Blue ridge, GA
"Good quality fly. Easy to fish. I would recommend this fly to others."
Review 7 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Standard Greatness,
July 23, 2012
By: Swearsy
from Evart, MI
"Always a go to. Very well constructed. Always a standard practice when it comes from Orvis."
Review 8 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A"must have" in your fly box!,
May 12, 2012
By: TheBear51
"This of course is a must have fly in your fly box. This Adams that Orvis sells is a well executed fly.
I wouldn't leave home without my box well stocked with this Adams.
Why? Because it produces fish.
It's that simple."
Review 9 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flies,
May 11, 2012
By: DaveFL53
from Bradenton, FL
"Received shipment timely and in perfect shape. Great flies for my fly box collection. Also visited the store in Chicago and great people to work with and loaded up. ."
Review 10 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fly,
November 22, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"Essential dry fly that will work in a variety of situations."
Review 11 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Stand By,
August 23, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"Great quality. No fly fisherman should be without one in their box."
Review 12 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Won't leave home without it...,
June 12, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"One of my top 3-5 flies. I fish this regularly with very pleasing success. It's another one of my go to choices when I'm not sure what's biting. Many times I've landed fish when they don't seem to be rising. Love this fly!"
Review 13 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality,
June 10, 2011
By: oregonianfly
"Orvis makes great high quality flies. I will definitely buy from them again!"
Review 14 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have pattern.,
March 7, 2011
By: MBBC05
from New England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the most productive dry pattern I have ever used! It acts as a universal imitator and is my go to pattern, if I am not sure what the trout are rising to.
When the current is faster, typically after a rain, I find that adding a little more dubbing to the body, giving it a slightly bulkier profile, increases the success rate.
If you are planning on dry fly fishing, don't leave home without this pattern!
"
Review 15 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When in doubt...,
May 16, 2008
By: Laxoriginality
"I read a stream about as well as I read Sanskrit, so I've learned to trust the Adams to improve my time on the water. It almost always gets some action regardless of conditions. Every flyfisher who doesn't know why s/he shouldn't ought to have a few in the box."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best all-around dry fly,
May 12, 2008
By: ironwoodcountybooks
from Midwest
"If there were only one fly I could use, this would be it. The Adams has worked for a variety of mayflies and as an attractor pattern. If a trout is rising and I don't know what to use, this is the fly I pick first."
Review 17 for Adams
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All-purpose dry,
November 29, 2007
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Another useful fly to have in your flybox. Can imitate just about anything. Carry several sizes."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Adams
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 8 out of 8