Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer

When beads first showed up, the bugger was one of the first streamer flies to which it was added. The great wooly bugger suddenly became easier to get down in the feeding lanes and a favorite was born. No box on a trout stream should be without a selection of these flies, all colors, all sizes. In olive/brown, black.Sizes: 4, 6, 8, 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Review 1 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Bug!,
April 15, 2015
By: ErikArk11
from Cache Valley, Ut
"Really liked this purchase and the speedy delivery. Quality materials! Can't wait to use it."
Review 2 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Typical Orvis Quality,
April 13, 2015
By: bigbritts
from St. Paul, MN
"Its well made and beautifully tied. All of their flies are good just buy them already! MN trout streams beware....."
Review 3 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Flies,
April 12, 2015
By: TroutRun4Me
from Pequea, PA
"These are some of the first flies I have purchased, as I have tied my own flies for many years and thought I would give these a try. They are of good quality and have proven their trout catching ability. My first cast of the year with one of these flies produced a nice Brown ! I am looking forward to many more happy landings !"
Review 4 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Works!,
March 30, 2015
By: turkeyhunter
from Ligonier, Pa.
"Effective fly for trout. I use it in lakes and streams."
Review 5 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth it,
January 21, 2015
By: Tombombadill
from Philadelphia, PA
"high quality fly, in a hard to find size, whats not to like."
Review 6 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tail too Fluffy,
June 13, 2014
By: SilverTabby
from Folcroft, PA
"Good fly, only used this one so far in 2014 and caught a bunch, never skunked yet. KOW ! However, I prefer the Buggers I but at my local Orvis shop. Like the flash in the tail, and the tails are not as fluffy. They come from Sri Lanka. Got more today and saw the shipping box they all came in. Bead head is great."
Review 7 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Held up wll,
May 21, 2014
By: Gamquail
from Tucson, AZ, USA
"We were lucky enough to have the timing just about perfect for our last outing. The fish clobbered these buggers. They held up all day without fraying or unraveling."
Review 8 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effective Bugger,
April 30, 2014
By: turkeyhunter
from Ligonier, Pa.
"I use this streamer frequently. It catches fish. It has a different color pattern(tan tail and silver bead)."
Review 9 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one good bugger,
January 15, 2014
By: Gamquail
from Tucson, AZ, USA
"I purchased these for a trip to a tailwater fishery in the state where I live. My wife and I both had good luck using these as our point fly on a tandem rig. They worked perfectly to get our rigs down to where the fish were holding. These buggers held up well and did not unravel even after catching multiple fish. Here are a photos."
Review 10 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Bead Head Bugger Fly,
December 8, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I have fished all sizes and colors of the bead head woolly bugger. It is a very productive fly for bass, pan fish and trout. Bead heads add versatility to a woolly bugger collection when needed for deep water."
Review 11 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than Expected,
August 14, 2013
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"In comparison to local availability these are superior products;"
Review 12 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pere=fectly made,
July 8, 2013
By: BLT1
from Clifford, Pa.
"As always, these flies are spot on in all respects !!!"
Review 13 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Killer fly,
February 1, 2013
By: ActionontheJackson
from Southwest Virginia
"The bugger is one of my favorite flies of all time. I prefer darker colors and weighted versions. I found an article online when I first began fly fishing which said that the bugger was "an interns fly" and that there is no wrong way to fish it. I have to agree. I purchased several different varieties of buggers from Orvis and have found them all to be well tied and of high quality."
Review 14 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Don't know yet,
November 2, 2012
By: OforOrvis
"It looks good I just don't know if the fish like it"
Review 15 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy flies online,
October 31, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Elysburg, PA
"This is the third time I have ordered flies from Orvis online and they don't appear in reality as they do online. Case in point the wooly bugger pictured. I ordered an olive body as pictured but got something else instead. The only way to buy flies is in person. The customer service rep was useless."
Review 16 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
September 22, 2011
By: Mose
"Just back from South Eastern Wyoming. Excellent success with this pattern.
It was the go to fly for all trout species. Great fun.
"
Review 17 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bugger nymph,
August 22, 2011
By: BlueHeron2
from Lake St. Clair
"This fly (olive brown) is the only fly I could get our bluegills to hit during the big hex mayfly hatch. They looked away at traditional nymphs. Definitely must look like a big (really big) nymph"
Review 18 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality,
May 10, 2011
By: Okhotnik
from Germantown, MD
"Good, basic pattern, well made. No negatives except that it can be found of equal quality at slightly lower cost."
Review 19 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My arm got tired,
April 16, 2008
By: JWC50
from Jacksonville, FL
"I fished the South Hoston River in TN for four days and it is notorious for finicky fish. I was nymphing for three days and catching some fish but missing more than I was catching using #18-24 nymphs. On my last day it was cold, windy and raining. The fish were just not hitting any nymphs so I switched to an #8 Olive Bead Head Wolly Bugger that I received in the Orvis 20 Fly selection. Well the fish went crazy. I must have caught 30 fish (or so) that day ranging in size from 5 inches to 15 inches."
Review 20 for Bead Head Woolly Bugger Streamer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carry a bunch,
November 23, 2007
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've caught just about everything worth catching in Ontario with this fly: Browns, Rainbows, Specks, Lakers, Pike, Walleye, Whitefish, Chinook, Coho, Pinks, Small & Largemouth and too many chubs. Sometimes when my close imitations are being ignored during a hatch I tie one on and rip it along the bottom: presto! I prefer Olive in size 8 or 10, although there are times when both Steelies and Largemouth will only take size 6 black buggers."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.