Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest

The same exclusive features as the Battenkill Pro Guide Vest in a cooler, lightweight version. With a breathable mesh body, this innovative vest is perfect for warmer climates or mid-summer fishing. Suspended with a stretch mesh yoke that contours to any shoulder shape and reduces neck strain. In olive. Washable. Sizes: XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 of 23(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Review 1 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lightest vest I know,
October 21, 2012
By: RIKEB
from Hull Yorkshire. England
"Purchased this vest for my longer trips up river ,first thing you will notice is the lightness of the vest even fully loaded, Unfortunately I carry far more than i need to... but you can never be to sure. The quality of the mesh material is very strong and after brushing several hawthorne bushes it had no pull or snagging which is very useful when stalking like i do.
Overall yet another top piece of kit, well done Orvis
"
Review 2 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest great price,
September 4, 2012
By: b7311
from Toronto, Ont
"The vest is remarkably lightweight and the shoulder support is very comfortable. Plenty of pocket space for all of my needs. The delivery was prompt and the customer service was excellent."
Review 3 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sad to See it Go,
September 4, 2012
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"This vest is being discontinued by Orvis. I live in Phoenix, which is obviously hot, so a vest made predominately of mesh was high on my list. The pockets seem well placed and thought out."
Review 4 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
well constructed, but,
July 19, 2012
By: southturner
"essentially sound, well constructed and full off pockets and room for devices. But, I returned mine, as the vest was an odd, shiny, seemingly poly blend of materials. If you're not bothered by the shine, a first rate vest."
Review 5 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile!,
June 19, 2012
By: bigjohHH7
from Davis, California
"A well made fishing vest with ample pockets and comfortable fit. On days when I'm not on the stream, I'll use it as a camera vest. Good job, Orvis!"
Review 6 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fly fishing vest,
May 30, 2012
By: Den1947
from California
"This vest allows air to circulate while wearing it. It is a tad weighted but very vented and comfortable. Generous cut to provide ease of movement. Lack some rigidity when opening zippers due to lax fabric which would be natural. Zippered pockets could be a bit stiffer making it easier to zip and unzip pockets."
Review 7 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Vest,
March 7, 2012
By: Grumpybear
from Ventura, Ca.
"Great vest for float tubing and wading. Pockets are well placed and hold plenty of gear. Overall a well designed vest well worth the price."
Review 8 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Old and in the way,
October 5, 2011
By: 64gill
from Driftless Iowa
"I've had this vest since 2007. The first trip out the D ring for my net snapped when pulling on the net release. Great! I repaired the loop the D ring was attached with heavey thread and put a metal carbiner in the loop and was good to go. Still using the vest. The design is great for storing everything you need for extended time on the water. The only addition I would make is some more D rings on the front. I did add a leather loop on the right bottom to attach the bottom of my fly rod to make use of the velcro tab on the upper left side. I have no idea why this is not on the mesh vest. Other than that it's stood the test of time and works well year round. Just got back from the driftless area of Northeast Iowa... two days in the last week 73 brown, brook and rainbow C&R!"
Review 9 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light, airy & comfortable,
September 11, 2011
By: shirt
from Coos County Oregon
"I'm sure I could fill all the pockets on this beauty but it would take some doing. The vest runs roomy for the listed size, a bonus allowing layering for the winter without being too tight."
Review 10 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good and bad,
August 22, 2011
By: Thom
from Buffalo
"The mesh around the shoulder stretches and absorbs some of the weight for those of us who over pack our vest. The mesh is also MUCH cooler in the summer which is what I was looking for.
The downside is that you need to zip the vest or it will tend to want to slide off your shoulder. If you usually zip your vest, that will not be an issue, but for those of us who do not it will take some getting used to.
Lots of pockets, conveniently arranged.
Zipper heads have a bit too much gap in them and tend to grab your leader as you are retying or putting on tippet. The zipper heads need to have much smaller gaps.
"
Review 11 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor stitching on net holder,
July 25, 2011
By: hopetohelp
from Michigan
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I went to Orvis to buy a first class vest. I chose the mesh version for cool comfort. Once home I loaded it up and then tested it by pulling on my net attached to the back loop by an Orvis magnet. I immediately heard a small tear. Sure enough, the material edge had ripped slightly from the neck seam. I returned it to the store. Now, after about 5 outings, my second one is also ripping in the same spot and I have been very gentle with it. I can't be out fishing and worried that I can't tug on my net. All else works great. This is just a VERY poor design / workmanship on an important component that needs strength."
Review 12 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
light and comfortable,
July 1, 2011
By: oinmartini
"Very light and comfortable, and the mesh is significantly cooler than more traditional vests (also allows you to add an attachment just about anywhere with a S-beener). The material is very light, don't know about durability yet."
Review 13 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent vest!,
February 10, 2011
By: MBBC05
from New England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I carry more gear than I often need to. This vest holds all of it with plenty of room to spare! I fish through the summer months and the mesh design and padded collar provide for all day comfort. The design quality of this vest is well worth the money!"
Review 14 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product but be aware of features,
November 27, 2009
By: foxcrow
from Rochester Hills, Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great vest especially on warm summer days or anytime of the year. However you need to be aware that the picture as shown online of the inside and back of the vest are not correct. The back of the vest has a large non-zippered mesh pocket with two smaller pockets. Also it does not have two of the small inside zippered pockets as indicated online. Plus be aware that the backs of inside and outside pockets have a mesh webbing. Small objects put in the pockets could fall through the holes or get hung up in the mesh."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A must forget vest for deep wading,
November 4, 2009
By: FredFrenchFlyFisherman
from Biarritz, France
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought the vest in a NY shop this year.
The 8 lower pockets (3 infront, 1 inside, on each side) are unusable in deep wading. I can only use the 4 upper pockets, but they are too small for my fly boxes. So many, many , many pockets, but most of them are unusable.
Other problem : I always carry a one liter bottle (of water) in the back pocket, and a trout net, as many other fishermen. After one season (6 monthes of fishing), seams on the shoulders are beginning distending and nearly breaking.
Positive point : the vest is confortable.
I am very disappointed, this is probably my worst flyfishing vest, but the most expensive.
I was waiting a best product of my favorite fly fishing company :-(
Fred, Frenchy, Fly-Fisherman... and Frustrated
"
Review 16 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Light Weight Vest,
October 9, 2009
By: insureu
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love the capacity of this vest along with the light weight and how nicely it performs in scorching hot Summer morning Trico hatches. The only problem I have ever encountered with this vest is sticking of the zippers. I put a tiny bit of wax on the zippers and they now work like a charm."
Review 17 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest.,
September 11, 2009
By: IdahoFisherman
from Boise/Moscow, ID
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Though this vest is a little on the steep side of the price range, it is worth every penny. It looks great, has a million practical pockets for anything and everything you might carry, and it breaths. Hot summer days are no longer scorching with the light material orvis made the vest out of. The only suggestion i have is that the two small pockets in the back would be better off as one large pocket so you can hold you sandwich and a drink back there. It isn't a complaint but just a suggestion. Overall a great buy!"
Review 18 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
why is this the only Orvis vest w/o a rod loop?,
May 20, 2009
By: troutdude
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I just dropped $140.00 on a vest for fly fishing that has 2 zillion pockets and does not have a loop to hold the fly rod when I tie a fly on standing in the water. It has the velcro holder near the shoulder, but not the loop.
The Pro-guide Mesh does not have a loop , while the other (almost identical) Pro-guide does. That tells me that this missing loop is an oversight .
Homer Simpson said it best..".D'Ohh"
This baby is going back. A loop like this is required for a quality vest"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the vest does not have a loop to hold the rod. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our products. Orvis forwarded these comments on to the product developer for review. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 19 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ONLY WAY TO GO!,
August 27, 2008
By: Bilbo
"A place for everything. So much room a wonderful fly vest perfect for those long fly fishing trips.
Still haven't filled all the pockets and I carry everything but the kitchen sink when I go out!
This vest is built. You can expect to hand this down to your grand children. Would recommend to any fly fisher with to much gear LOL
"
Review 20 for Battenkill® Pro Guide Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost Perfect Vest,
July 18, 2008
By: FishinGrinnin
"This most certainly is the most comfortable "all-day" vest I'm aware of, even on hot and humid days. The overall design is excellent, the quality is first-class, and the many features are functional and well-thought out.
BUT ... the little "pliers pocket" is held shut by a very anaemic velcro tab, which has lost me two pairs of ORVIS curved-jaw pliers (SI24LC) so far this year. A much better tab closer is needed here, such as perhaps a solid snap or a plastic buckle.
Other than this one problem, this would be a five-star vest!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.