Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers

Enough saddle feathers to tie 100 flies, preselected to match fly size. Save time and tie the perfect fly. In grizzly, brown, ginger, light dun, black, barred dark ginger. Quantities are limited. Sizes: 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Review 1 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
whiting 100s,
April 9, 2014
By: Hamster1034
from Polk City, FL
"Order arrived on time. 4 packs of Whiting 100s were in proper colors and size and have already started tying with them. Having the proper size for hackling readily available makes tying quicker and easier."
Review 2 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whiting, Amazing As Always,
January 16, 2014
By: NickGiordano
from Beaufort, SC
"Whiting hackles are always the best. I really don't believe that you tie 100 in a pack but the fibers are strong and durable."
Review 3 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy,
December 18, 2013
By: SteveTrout
from Iowa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Whiting 100s make feather size selection a snap. The smaller flies like 20 and 22s are especially easier to handle with the length of the hackle. . Whiting has good quality for uniformity of size and color. I separate mine by size and keep a good variety of colors in sizes 12-22. Really makes tying tricos and midges and tiny BWO a lot easier."
Review 4 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I bought this hackle for size 14 dries. I tie a lot of parachute patterns and the grizzly hackle color I bought make my Parachute Adams look like I bought them in a fly shop. Floats very well and looks great."
Review 5 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dry fly hackle ever,
February 26, 2013
By: GoCubs
from Mountain View, WY
"Thank the fish gods that the hair insert craze has subsided. I love using Whiting 100s so I can pick the correct size and not have to use hackle pliers. :-)"
Review 6 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st time used,
February 6, 2013
By: freewill
from San Juan River, N.M.
"I just recently started the journey of fly tying and this was the 1st hackle purchased and used. I'm very happy with how it was easy to tie with and it looked like something I would have purchased in a fly shop. I'm very impressed!!!"
Review 7 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ever hackles,
August 8, 2012
By: Theduck1951
"These are great hackles, if you do not want the expense of bying the full or half cape this is the way to go."
Review 8 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whiting 100s Size18 Black,
March 25, 2012
By: DLOCKY18
from Bangor, Co. Down
"An excellent quality product for tying small Dry Flies. My online order arrived promptly and the web site was a pleasure to use. Will use Orvis again."
Review 9 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great for a small tier,
June 12, 2011
By: culhanetyl
"personally i am alwas torn when looking for hackle normally i try to stay away from pre packaged hackle because of the cost in comparison to gettig a good half saddle in the sizes i like however when it is hard to locate feathers the 100s seem to be what is still handy especally with the ability to get rather small hackles in the popular colors the pricing per what the adverage tier is getting is the only pull down thats why only 4 stars"
Review 10 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
April 19, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Anything that makes fly tying a little more easier and accessible, especially when I'm teaching others, is a great product in my book. These pre-selected saddle feathers are great for whatever purpose you need them for. Saves time and energy by having the sizes ready to go, and you know where stand in terms of inventory, so you don't go to tie a fly and realize you're all out. Overall, a great product."
Review 11 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great feathers,
December 19, 2009
By: shadowbox
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"IM SURE ITS ALITTLE WIERD A WOMOEN WRITING ABOUT FLY TYING,HOWEVER I STARTED DOING IT BECAUSE I DO A LOTS AND LOTS OF SCRAPBOOKING AND SHADBOXES FOR FAMILY,FRIENDS AND OTHERS WHO HAVE SEEN MY WORK AND ASKED ME TO DO IT FOR THEM AND BELIEVE IT OR NOT THERE IS A LOT OF WOMEN WHO ASK FOR SHADOWBOXES FOR THEIR HUSBANDS AND THEY WANT THEM TO BE FOR FLYFISHING SO I PICKED UP TYING FLIES AS WELL.BY NO MEANS AM I A PRO AT IT BUT I DO GOOD ENOUGH FLIES TO PLEASE THE CLIENTS I HAVE AND SO FAR THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST TYPES AND BRANDS OF FEATHERS OUT THERE FOR TYING THE SMALL FLIES I NEED FOR SHADOW BOXES AND WHO BETTER THAN ORVIS TO GET THEM FROM"
Review 12 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st time buyer of these 100's and WOW,
November 18, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from I LIVE IN FLORIDA RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"HELLO,LET ME START BY SAYING MY GRANDPA AND I TAKE A TRIP TO MICHIGAN ONCE OR TWICE A MONTH AND ONE OF OUR RITUALS IS TO STOP IN ATLANTA ,GA AT ORVIS'S BUCKHEAD SQUARE LOCATION.I JUST LEARNED I CAN WRITE REVEIWS ON PRODUCTS SO HERE IS MY THOUGHTS AND I HOPE IT HELPS MY FELLOW TIERS.I PURCHASED THE GRIZZLEY AND THE BROWN WHITING 100'S AND WOW I COULD NOT BELIEVE THE PACKAGE I WILL ADD PICS TO THE REVEIEW BUT IT IS WELL,WELL WORTH THE MONEY AND AS ALWAYS ORVIS STANDS BEHIND THEIR PRODUCTS SO YOU CANT GO WRONG ESPECIALLY AT THIS PRICE,DONT MISS OUT ON THEM."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hackle,
April 10, 2009
By: ashtree
from Fresno, CA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"started out using some sub-par stuff when I began tying my own flies. I saw these and purchased them and man what a difference in quality and uniformity when it came to my patterns. Good buy and don't have to buy the whole bird. Thanks Orvis"
Review 14 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality feathers,
August 21, 2008
By: UpNorthFlyFisherman
from Michigan
"I have always gone to Whiting hackle for every fly I tie that requires feathers. These 100 packs are the next generation of hackle. You can tie about a 100 flies with them and you don't need to buy a neck or cape. It's high quality but low prices. Thanx Orvis"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3