Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers

Enough saddle feathers to tie 100 flies, preselected to match fly size. Save time and tie the perfect fly. In grizzly, brown, ginger, light dun, black, barred dark ginger. Quantities are limited. Sizes: 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.965 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Review 1 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the line hackle,
May 7, 2015
By: Bluedog9
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Whiting is the best brand of hackle. I don't know if the 100 pack are necessarily gold quality, but they are at least equal to my bronze necks. You save so much time not having to size feathers and for the money you will get real close to a hundred flies. Depending on how good you tie. Highly recommend them."
Review 2 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 2, 2015
By: BobSimo
"Outstanding product! Works great and is good for about 100 flies. Easy to handle and store. Good quality."
Review 3 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
standard of quality,
March 30, 2015
By: micksalmon
from Saranac Lake NY
"Whiting "100's" are the best and most economical way to tie dry flies. Each hackle is sized to match a particular hood size and the feather itself is flawless. The central shaft is thin and strong and the barbs are webless. Wide selection of "buggy" colors. What could be better. A no-brainer!"
Review 4 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thenatural1,
January 26, 2015
By: Thenatural1
from Elverson , PAj
"Very high quality perfect when doing a lot of the same fly saves time"
Review 5 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product.,
December 15, 2014
By: FlyTyingBob
from Liberty, Missouri
"I love this product. Although they are on the expensive side, they definitely save me money in the long run. I buy the sizes and colors I need and do not have a lot of expensive waste feathers that I don't use. I would definitely recommend this product. I would appreciate it if the other Tyers wouldn't buy out the ones I need. I have my favorite color in a size I don't have on back order."
Review 6 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality material,
December 2, 2014
By: G1984
"Whiting saddle feathers are of excellent quality for fly tying"
Review 7 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for beginner,
October 15, 2014
By: LaMiracle
from Baldwinsville, NY
"I bought this product after moving back east from Alaska. I knew i was going to need to learn how to tie some new flies and was shopping around when I found this. It just makes perfect sense for a new tyer. It comes in the right size hackle for what I'm trying to tie without having to gauge different hackles to find the right one. It's nice to be able to buy some smaller quantities in various sizes and colors to figure out what works best in my area before making a big investment on a full neck or saddle. Good quality product, good price and quick delivery."
Review 8 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
June 11, 2014
By: Fishless
from Fresno, Ca.
"The best hackle out there. Sized correct and great length, more than 100 flies can be tied with one package."
Review 9 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As expected,
April 28, 2014
By: Frank13
from West Chester, PA
"A truly excellent product. Certainly
not inexpensive, but not to be unexpected with a quality product.
"
Review 10 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
whiting 100s,
April 9, 2014
By: Hamster1034
from Polk City, FL
"Order arrived on time. 4 packs of Whiting 100s were in proper colors and size and have already started tying with them. Having the proper size for hackling readily available makes tying quicker and easier."
Review 11 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whiting, Amazing As Always,
January 16, 2014
By: NickGiordano
from Beaufort, SC
"Whiting hackles are always the best. I really don't believe that you tie 100 in a pack but the fibers are strong and durable."
Review 12 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy,
December 18, 2013
By: SteveTrout
from Iowa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Whiting 100s make feather size selection a snap. The smaller flies like 20 and 22s are especially easier to handle with the length of the hackle. . Whiting has good quality for uniformity of size and color. I separate mine by size and keep a good variety of colors in sizes 12-22. Really makes tying tricos and midges and tiny BWO a lot easier."
Review 13 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I bought this hackle for size 14 dries. I tie a lot of parachute patterns and the grizzly hackle color I bought make my Parachute Adams look like I bought them in a fly shop. Floats very well and looks great."
Review 14 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dry fly hackle ever,
February 26, 2013
By: GoCubs
from Mountain View, WY
"Thank the fish gods that the hair insert craze has subsided. I love using Whiting 100s so I can pick the correct size and not have to use hackle pliers. :-)"
Review 15 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st time used,
February 6, 2013
By: freewill
from San Juan River, N.M.
"I just recently started the journey of fly tying and this was the 1st hackle purchased and used. I'm very happy with how it was easy to tie with and it looked like something I would have purchased in a fly shop. I'm very impressed!!!"
Review 16 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ever hackles,
August 8, 2012
By: Theduck1951
"These are great hackles, if you do not want the expense of bying the full or half cape this is the way to go."
Review 17 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whiting 100s Size18 Black,
March 25, 2012
By: DLOCKY18
from Bangor, Co. Down
"An excellent quality product for tying small Dry Flies. My online order arrived promptly and the web site was a pleasure to use. Will use Orvis again."
Review 18 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great for a small tier,
June 12, 2011
By: culhanetyl
"personally i am alwas torn when looking for hackle normally i try to stay away from pre packaged hackle because of the cost in comparison to gettig a good half saddle in the sizes i like however when it is hard to locate feathers the 100s seem to be what is still handy especally with the ability to get rather small hackles in the popular colors the pricing per what the adverage tier is getting is the only pull down thats why only 4 stars"
Review 19 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
April 19, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Anything that makes fly tying a little more easier and accessible, especially when I'm teaching others, is a great product in my book. These pre-selected saddle feathers are great for whatever purpose you need them for. Saves time and energy by having the sizes ready to go, and you know where stand in terms of inventory, so you don't go to tie a fly and realize you're all out. Overall, a great product."
Review 20 for Whiting 100s—Preselected Saddle Feathers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great feathers,
December 19, 2009
By: shadowbox
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"IM SURE ITS ALITTLE WIERD A WOMOEN WRITING ABOUT FLY TYING,HOWEVER I STARTED DOING IT BECAUSE I DO A LOTS AND LOTS OF SCRAPBOOKING AND SHADBOXES FOR FAMILY,FRIENDS AND OTHERS WHO HAVE SEEN MY WORK AND ASKED ME TO DO IT FOR THEM AND BELIEVE IT OR NOT THERE IS A LOT OF WOMEN WHO ASK FOR SHADOWBOXES FOR THEIR HUSBANDS AND THEY WANT THEM TO BE FOR FLYFISHING SO I PICKED UP TYING FLIES AS WELL.BY NO MEANS AM I A PRO AT IT BUT I DO GOOD ENOUGH FLIES TO PLEASE THE CLIENTS I HAVE AND SO FAR THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST TYPES AND BRANDS OF FEATHERS OUT THERE FOR TYING THE SMALL FLIES I NEED FOR SHADOW BOXES AND WHO BETTER THAN ORVIS TO GET THEM FROM"