Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Ultra Chenille

Extra-dense, this chenille-like material is ideal for tying nymph bodies and woven-body flies. Orvis Ultra Chenille is essential for tying any medium-to-small woven bodied fly pattern. Chenille material in black, red, chocolate brown, chartreuse, olive, dark olive, yellow, white, purple, rust, claret, insect green, tan, fluorescent pink, orange, green/gold. Approx. 5 yards of material per card. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 26(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Review 1 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great chenille,
June 14, 2014
By: CWL14
from South Deerfield, MA
"Great chenille, very pleased. I use the size medium for woolly buggers. Does not come around a card, just bunched up in a bag. Very easy to tie with and vibrant color."
Review 2 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Ultra chenille,
June 12, 2014
By: Bigpoppa6
from Westwood,ca
"Ultra chenille is a product that I have just recently found. I have used other chenille products but none quite like the ultra chenille. Ultra chenille is like gold to smaller flies and jigs because of its low profile enabling it easy to add small wires and feathers without taking away the flash that bigger chenilles would. Overall good product"
Review 3 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does the job.,
June 3, 2014
By: basshead
from SW Florida
"The chenille works just fine. It is a little difficult to peel off the end to tie in but I think that is a good thing, should last longer."
Review 4 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not Chelle: Cheneelle!,
May 20, 2014
By: aykayeh
from Pittsburgh PA
"Really good chenille, plan to buy some more soon--probably even before this all runs out."
Review 5 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality,
April 4, 2014
By: buckey
from Ohio
"Another high quality fly tying material from Orvis!"
Review 6 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfied !!,
March 14, 2014
By: NEIaFlyFisher
from Des Moines, Iowa
"Very Happy with this chenille - used for smaller Montana Nymphs and Wooly Buggers..."
Review 7 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Quality,
March 5, 2014
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"Only time will tell but the Ultra Chenille creates the body texture I was looking for. Feels and looks like it will be durable."
Review 8 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fine Chenille, but . . .,
February 7, 2014
By: ironwoodcountybooks
from Midwest
"Fine chenille and great price (especially on sale), but I didn't know that it didn't come wrapped on a "card" of some kind; rather, it was just looped in a plastic bag. Personally, I like mine on a card or spool for easier access, so that's what I did when I received it."
Review 9 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for San Juan Worms,
February 6, 2014
By: smig5490
from Boston MA
"The small size is perfect for tying San Juan worms. Works great !!!"
Review 10 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase ever,
September 25, 2013
By: NMRamallo
from Patagonia, Argentina
"a great ultra chenille! Perfecto for tying little Sauce's worms"
Review 11 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Super durable, soft texture,
June 17, 2013
By: gps2388
from Blacksburg, VA
"This chenille has a fairly soft, compact texture compared to thicker, more bristly ultra chenilles from other sources. Makes it work great for more compact-bodied flies or flies that will have "bugginess" added by palmering hackle et cetera. I would suggest getting a size larger than most recipes call for if buying this chenille. It is definitely among the strongest and most color-fast chenilles I have worked with and will continue to use it for those reasons."
Review 12 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Ultra Chenille,
April 9, 2013
By: Anonymous
"In all of the colors and sizes of this product, I haven't found any better Ultra Chenille than the ones I have purchased from Orvis."
Review 13 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Go-To Tying Material,
March 13, 2013
By: KGM87
from NH
"Orvis Ultra Chenille is the best material I have found for tying bodies for flies you simply cannot have enough of such as Wooly Buggers.
It lays down flat and is exceptionally durable."
Review 14 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only Chenille I Use.,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"Use this mostly to make wooly buggers and have had no problems with it. Stays intact even after catching 5+ lb browns!"
Review 15 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heavy Duty,
December 29, 2011
By: firstfan
from Anchorage, AK
"This is a durable chenille perfect for steelhead and big rainbows. I like the chartreuse with black hackle for wild Alaskan steelhead."
Review 16 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another quality product from Orvis,
July 11, 2011
By: karcher
"This ultra chenille is extremely easy to work with to achieve my desired results. As a new fly tyer I found the product easy to manipulate and bonus it looks great on the hook."
Review 17 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
October 9, 2010
By: enjoylife
from Western Pa
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Having tied a number of emergers with the white cenille it does a good job of making it realistic. Good stuff. The fish like it as well."
Review 18 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultra Chenille,
September 22, 2010
By: FireFly2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Another great product by Orvis. The small chenille ties some really great nymphs and wet flies. The texture gives a good apperance on the hook. Lots of colors to choose from."
Review 19 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Chenille!,
April 19, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When you're tying those extra small flies, or just trying to create something new, this chenille is perfect. It's got a nice shine too it, and the extra fine fibers help give your flies that look of movement that seems to drive all fish nuts. With a good selection of colors to choose from, it's great packaging, and it's ease of use, I can't really fault this product in any way. Another great product from Orvis!"
Review 20 for Orvis Ultra Chenille
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orvis chenille,
December 5, 2008
By: Garry1000
from Rector Arkansas
"I have just got into fly tying. It is a lot of fun. When you catch your first fish on your own fly? WOW! Orvis has some of the best fly tying products out there. This chenille is really good for any fly you need a woven body for. I bought it while Orvis had free shiping on any of their products. Saved a buck or two and and got a good product !"