Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Turkey Biots

Superb for spinners and fly bodies. The segmentation is easy to work with and clip to precise size. In white, black, tan, mahogany, gray, pale yellow, olive, pale morning dun, March brown, Adams gray, green drake, amber, rusty brown, blue-winged olive, light Cahill. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Turkey Biots
Review 1 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
March 17, 2014
By: Almos
from Pa.
"Just starting to tie flies and this material is easy to use and the colors are great. When you use good materials you use good materials your flies look better and boost your confidence"
Review 2 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality item,
February 25, 2014
By: cbullar
from Fort Smith, AR
"These biots have good color. I was hoping to have some assorted sizes. These are a bit larger than I expected."
Review 3 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unlike Tom, I like biot bodies,
February 25, 2014
By: metamurph
from Redmond, WA
"Of course biots have lots of great uses, wings, feelers, and creating great segmented bodies for nymphs and emergers. Tie them in, attach some easy pliers and wind, Easy as can be, good quality, less brittle than quill,"
Review 4 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Nymphs,
January 27, 2014
By: ChattoogaRiverTroutBum
from Easley, SC
"No complaints whatsoever. Great translucent quality that makes them so great for nymph bodies."
Review 5 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too Short,
January 16, 2014
By: NickGiordano
from Beaufort, SC
"Strong, good quality Biots, but they are extremely short. I found that even tying midges they would fall short. I might have to switch over to synthetics."
Review 6 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
October 7, 2013
By: Suilven1
from Crieff Perthshire
"I purchased 5 Turkey Biots, Amber, Black, Light Cahil,Light Green, Pale Yellow.
The Light Green arrived it was Green Drake.
The 5 biots came in four deliveries over a period of time.
Not impressed at all
Suilven"
Review 7 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turkey Biots,
May 10, 2013
By: Opsman
from Warwickshire
"Purchased these to tie Olive and Mahogany Mayfly Nymphs. Excellent product with perfest biots every time. Tied some excellent flies so will buy again when needed."
Review 8 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best quill body for dry flies,
March 22, 2013
By: bamboo
from Virginia
"If you have never used a quill for a dry fly body or if all you have ever used before is stripped peacock herl, then you are in for a treat. Just soak these in water to make them soft and pliable and tie them in at the butt with the little notch facing the eye of the hook. You will be amazed at what a great segmented body it will produce. Plus it is more durable than peacock herl and holds up to trout's teeth better."
Review 9 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very bright,
March 15, 2013
By: Redbone13
from North Carolina
"The quality of the product was good but the color was very bright almost chartreuse. That is the reason for the lower review."
Review 10 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice bodies,
February 18, 2013
By: pikehunter
from Scotland
"I Love the effect turkey biots give for bodies. I could only give a 4 star rating only for the fact i found the dying a little inconsistant , my latest march brown biots were quite a bit lighter than my last purchase."
Review 11 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value Biots,
January 28, 2013
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"I have tried these in a few colours now for both nymphs and dries. Quality and consitency is excellent and the price compares very favourably to other suppliers.
They give an excellent segmented body effect time after time and the trout love them!"
Review 12 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Multi use product,
January 22, 2013
By: Malky62
from Dundee Scotland
"These turkey biots are the best I have found, they are particularly good for use in tying for giving the effect of segmented bodies on any type if bodies but can be used as tails. A very good biot, you sometimes have to look for longer single biot, I would recommend for the discerning fly tier."
Review 13 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good quality,
February 27, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"Good quality but wish there were more in the bag. for the price there were just a few."
Review 14 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product and price,
November 18, 2011
By: JMGross
from Ohio
"These biots are an excellent product with uniform coloring. I'll purchase these again when my current stock is depleted."
Review 15 for Turkey Biots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dry fly bodies,
August 16, 2011
By: wtforward
from northern,Il
"Ordered this and several other colors.
The biots I received had good coloring and were very consistent in length. Good for any dry from 18 to 12. If I tie anything smaller than 18 I normally use quill or dubbing.
I tied up several in two different patterns for a trip out west recently.
The biot bodies held up well after several strikes ( I wrap the thread around the bodie as I wind the biot) and even after lengthy sessions on the water, needed only a couple of false cast to get them floating again.
I would recommend these to anyone tying with biot.
If you've never tried tying with them give it a shot.
They don't cost much and you might find you like them.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Turkey Biots
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2