Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clouser Minnow

The Clouser Minnow ranks with the Deceiver as the two most prolific and popular fly patterns in saltwater and warm water fishing. No box should be without a significant collection of Clouser flies in all colors and sizes. These two fly patterns should be the foundation patterns of any predator box. In black; sizes 6, 2. Length 2½", 3". chartreuse/white, chartreuse/yellow, red/white, olive/white, gray/white; sizes 6, 2, 2/0. Length 2½", 3", 4".
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clouser Minnow
Review 1 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice fly,
July 15, 2014
By: Tarriverfly
from Eastern NC
"Very pleased with this fly. Just like everything I've bought from Orvis, very well made product. Will be buying more"
Review 2 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clouser close the deal,
January 14, 2014
By: FlyfisherMF
from Clearwater, fla
"Great fly for surf- and flat fishing. Trout and Permit has this on the menu Clouser Minnow :-)"
Review 3 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly,
October 18, 2013
By: walden43
from Lafayette, In
"I use this color and size clouser on smallmouth bass in the late summer and early fall. Exceptional fly pattern and color for bass- especially with a quick retrieve."
Review 4 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly,
October 18, 2013
By: walden43
from Lafayette, In
"I use this color and size clouser on smallmouth bass in the late summer and early fall. Exceptional fly pattern and color for bass!"
Review 5 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clouser,
July 11, 2013
By: KyleiFly
from Cynthiana, KY
"Great fly. Better put together than the clouser made by my local shop. Very deadly on smallmouth here in the Licking River, northern KY."
Review 6 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
had a good day,
May 9, 2013
By: heo9542
from San Diego, CA
"I've never had much luck with clousers in the past here in northern Virginia, but today the planets must have been aligned differently. I caught two large mouth, two yellow perch, one white perch and a channel cat all on the same chartreuse and white fly. I'll be taking that thing back out tomorrow."
Review 7 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
December 31, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"This pattern works in saltwater or fresh. Whether bass or redfish, tie the closure on and see what happens."
Review 8 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saved the day,
January 3, 2012
By: tealtumbler
from Anguilla BWI
"This pattern produced when all else were quiet. The Jacks and Lady fish wouldn't let it swim by and the chartreuse/ white took a beating but kept on taking fish through the morning. Saved the day for me."
Review 9 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Fly Of All Seasons,
October 4, 2010
By: sullivanbayflyfisher
from sullivan bay bc canada
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished the clouser minnow in British Columbia for rock fish and steelhead and it has consistently produced. Every cast into a kelp bed and I practically expected a hook up with a rockfish with in one or two strips. Sight fishing for native steel head trout was extremely exciting, especially when you saw the fish stalking your own tied fly and strike viciously. I truly belief is probably the greatest streamer pattern in the world. The Adams parachute being number 1. This fly will produce around the world. This fly is relatively easy to tie. It is especially effective when you add some synthetic hair to replace the second layer of bucktail. Overall an extremely well designed and fun fly to fish. Congratulations Bob Clouser on a great fly."
Review 10 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good All Around Fly,
January 18, 2010
By: Steeliechick
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My first fly-fishing foray in 2010 was on the beach here in Southern California with this fly. The extreme low tide and quieter surf compelled me down the cliffs. Three casts in with this fly and I was hooked into a good sized yellow-finned croaker. Good fishing continued throughout the afternoon and all with the red clouser minnow. The fly took a beating by the fish, sand and rocks but still managed to hold its own and remains with me as old reliable--and we're only two weeks into the year!"
Review 11 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
September 9, 2009
By: RedChaser
from Missisippi Gulf Coast
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I caught my first salt water fish with clouser from orvis. It was a 13" flounder, nothing impressive, but still this fly has a special place in my box."
Review 12 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works for anything,
March 26, 2009
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"One cold December morning, crystal clear water, slush interfering with every cast, I watched 3 Steelhead finning on bottom. I drifted a clouser downstream and watched as a male slipped sideways ever so slightly to take it! A nice surprise and the only fish of the day. The clouser works when nothing else will, even when you think it wouldn't. Killer on steelhead, big browns and smallmouth too."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clouser Minnow
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly,
January 21, 2009
By: fishinsalt
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If it swims, you can catch it on this fly. This fly should always be in your fly box where ever you go."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Clouser Minnow
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2