Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Green Weenie Fly

The Green Weenie caddis nymph is possibly the simplest fly pattern there is. It's simply green chenille wrapped around a hook. The closest thing it might imitate is a caddis larva of the green sedge variety, but whatever it imitates, it works. That's why guides have rows of them in their boxes. Color, Green. Sizes: 12, 14, 16.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Green Weenie Fly
Review 1 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Flies,
August 15, 2014
By: Angelo555
from St Charles, IL
"I ordered 10 diferent flies. 8 came together 2 were backordered. The came packed very nicely with each fly in a seperate plastic pack. The flies were of excellent quality. I can't wait to use them."
Review 2 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good product,
August 12, 2014
By: kondrata
from Bethesda, MD
"I never leave home without this fly. Works very well in all seasons. The Orvis worm is the best I used in terms of color and its moderately fast sinking speed.
I tried it even for the Upstate NY spring steelhead and it worked well. The only concern for the "heavy fighter" fish like steelhead is that the hook material is kind of weak and breaks easily.
"
Review 3 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
July 11, 2014
By: Jamaicadiver
from Columbia TN
"Was a perfect match to a hatch, Had a Bow on line with one while inch worms were falling out of the trees onto the back of my neck on the Little River GSMNP."
Review 4 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A New, Old Standby!,
July 4, 2014
By: OldWindknot
from Dacula, GA
"GA's mountain brookies will compete with each other to snare the Green W**nie! Best. Dropper. Ever."
Review 5 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome,
June 4, 2014
By: jonsport63
from Memphis,TN
"I recently purchased these from several companies and this is by far the best."
Review 6 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Little Bait,
May 12, 2014
By: BigErn
from Texas
"I've caught black bass,smallmouth,crappie,white bass, and perch off of this fly.Just a good all around bait!"
Review 7 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very well,
August 9, 2013
By: blueski
"For Euro-Nymphing this fly works great. I use it all year in Western North Carolina. You want to stock up on these guys!"
Review 8 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simple fly,
October 20, 2012
By: aced
"Excellant fall fly for bream and crappie . Easy fly to fish in lakes or streams simple to tie excellant for beginning tiers such as boy scouts or church groups."
Review 9 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fair Warning,
May 25, 2012
By: BarkyT22
from Mid-Atlantic
"If you do not want to catch fish, do NOT use this fly.
Otherwise, no worries.
I could go on a while, but here's just one story:
Upper Davidson River, trophy catch and release section in the Smoky Mountains of NC.
Wily brown that sees Lots of flies go by laid up under a rhododendron in six inches of midsummer water that's clear like glass.
Two foot charge. BAM. Wild abandon.
Like butter."
Review 10 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Green W. Fly,
January 11, 2012
By: TigerHawk
"One of my favorite go too's when used. Has caught me everything from trout to panfish, to bass. The fly is well made and survives multiple fish attacks."
Review 11 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
September 9, 2011
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"Just purchased this fly after hearing so much success on local streams. I can't wait to get out and give it a try. High quality. I can see this becoming a staple in my fly box."
Review 12 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You want this fly!,
October 22, 2008
By: jaybo41
"This pattern is a staple in my fly box and the materials needed to tie them are always at my bench. I consistently catch fish with this pattern. Like the description says, it's a simple pattern but very productive."
Review 13 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for smallmouth,
January 2, 2008
By: 4wtman
from Aroma Park, IL
"tyed acouple myself and caught 10 smallies withing a 30 minutes time period! this in light olive and heavily weighted here on the kankakee river is a great combonation fly! =]"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Green Weenie Fly
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2