Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Green Weenie Fly

The Green Weenie caddis nymph is possibly the simplest fly pattern there is. It's simply green chenille wrapped around a hook. The closest thing it might imitate is a caddis larva of the green sedge variety, but whatever it imitates, it works. That's why guides have rows of them in their boxes. Color, Green. Sizes: 12, 14, 16.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Green Weenie Fly
Review 1 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
July 11, 2014
By: Jamaicadiver
from Columbia TN
"Was a perfect match to a hatch, Had a Bow on line with one while inch worms were falling out of the trees onto the back of my neck on the Little River GSMNP."
Review 2 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A New, Old Standby!,
July 4, 2014
By: OldWindknot
from Dacula, GA
"GA's mountain brookies will compete with each other to snare the Green W**nie! Best. Dropper. Ever."
Review 3 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome,
June 4, 2014
By: jonsport63
from Memphis,TN
"I recently purchased these from several companies and this is by far the best."
Review 4 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Little Bait,
May 12, 2014
By: BigErn
from Texas
"I've caught black bass,smallmouth,crappie,white bass, and perch off of this fly.Just a good all around bait!"
Review 5 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very well,
August 9, 2013
By: blueski
"For Euro-Nymphing this fly works great. I use it all year in Western North Carolina. You want to stock up on these guys!"
Review 6 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simple fly,
October 20, 2012
By: aced
"Excellant fall fly for bream and crappie . Easy fly to fish in lakes or streams simple to tie excellant for beginning tiers such as boy scouts or church groups."
Review 7 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fair Warning,
May 25, 2012
By: BarkyT22
from Mid-Atlantic
"If you do not want to catch fish, do NOT use this fly.
Otherwise, no worries.
I could go on a while, but here's just one story:
Upper Davidson River, trophy catch and release section in the Smoky Mountains of NC.
Wily brown that sees Lots of flies go by laid up under a rhododendron in six inches of midsummer water that's clear like glass.
Two foot charge. BAM. Wild abandon.
Like butter."
Review 8 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Green W. Fly,
January 11, 2012
By: TigerHawk
"One of my favorite go too's when used. Has caught me everything from trout to panfish, to bass. The fly is well made and survives multiple fish attacks."
Review 9 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
September 9, 2011
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"Just purchased this fly after hearing so much success on local streams. I can't wait to get out and give it a try. High quality. I can see this becoming a staple in my fly box."
Review 10 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You want this fly!,
October 22, 2008
By: jaybo41
"This pattern is a staple in my fly box and the materials needed to tie them are always at my bench. I consistently catch fish with this pattern. Like the description says, it's a simple pattern but very productive."
Review 11 for Green Weenie Fly
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for smallmouth,
January 2, 2008
By: 4wtman
from Aroma Park, IL
"tyed acouple myself and caught 10 smallies withing a 30 minutes time period! this in light olive and heavily weighted here on the kankakee river is a great combonation fly! =]"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Green Weenie Fly
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1