Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

WD-40

A very well liked pattern in the west for small BWO and midge nymphs and emergers. Been around for a while and rightly so as it works. This is an excellent all around BWO emerger pattern that will imitate a number of insect species. Size selection here is critical. Sizes: 18, 20, 22.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WD-40
Review 1 for WD-40
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WD-40,
April 7, 2015
By: SDDave
"Terrific, all around great fly. Able to use it from California to Colorado and Montana. Can't go wrong!!"
Review 2 for WD-40
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pattern,
April 1, 2015
By: Dougie87
from Pittsburgh Area
"Great Patten. Size and imitation are perfect for the PA streams. Cannot wait to try it out in the near future. Especially with the hatches coming soon!"
Review 3 for WD-40
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WD-40 is not for Greasing Squeaks,
March 23, 2015
By: Flyfserman
"When nothing else is working on the stream, tie on a WD-40 and just wait. Thank goodness most people on the stream I fish do not know about the WD-40. It works when nothing else does."
Review 4 for WD-40
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't leave home without them,
February 18, 2015
By: JoshinWV
from West Virginia
"These are great flies. Catch fishing well in the winter and early spring!"
Review 5 for WD-40
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go To Midge,
February 6, 2015
By: SCtroutbum53
"This is my go to midge. Any time I see midges coming off, I tie one of these on and almost always find success. My fly box contains exclusively Orvis flies because I believe in the quality of these flies."
Review 6 for WD-40
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WD,
July 29, 2014
By: Ken1
"Good fly was effective in small trout stream in Missouri ."
Review 7 for WD-40
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
forgot it by time it arrived,
June 26, 2014
By: jhwphd
from boulder colorado neuropsychologist
"everyone knows it's a good fly. i don't know why it took so long to get here. i almost ordered it or bought it again somewhere else because i forgot it was ordered."
Review 8 for WD-40
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good fly,
March 11, 2014
By: ChuchK
from Friedens, Pa.
"Like most all Orvis flies this is a winner. On a two-fly rig I usually use this as the top one."
Review 9 for WD-40
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great nymphing rig,
February 19, 2014
By: mikeb44
from Phoenix, AZ
"Put a WD40 on the top of a topper/dropper rig and hang on!
I've used this Orvis WD40 many times and it's really a very well made nympth.
"
Review 10 for WD-40
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I orderrd,
March 13, 2012
By: pudgy
from Ledgewood ,N J
"My order came on time , well packaged , and was what I ordered . Service was excellent!"
Review 11 for WD-40
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Killer imitation,
September 6, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"Great as a baetis nymph imitation or a midge imitation"
Ratings-Only Reviews for WD-40
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3