Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Fly Formerly Known As Prince

This classic nymph imitates many natural nymphs, and its beadhead gives it just enough weight to let you get it down deeper than a regular nymph. Swing this fly in riffles or runs to imitate many different types of mayflies, or fish it to prospect for trout. A great nymph with a touch of flash to attract trout, it's a must-have nymph for any fly box.Sizes: 12, 14, 16, 18.
Average Customer Rating:
4.912 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 of 34(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Review 1 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
June 12, 2014
By: MoocherAL
from Estillfork, AL
"This fly acts like a real "bug" and the Redeyes love it. I fish in a small stream and it is a killer!"
Review 2 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prince that should be King,
May 15, 2014
By: Tigerbait
from Smoky Mountains
"Outstanding lead nymph for tandem. Good in all conditions and should be considered a staple for every fly box."
Review 3 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fav,
March 8, 2014
By: Mcalvin40
from georgia
"By far my favorite BH and seems to always to produce under any condition for the stockers when trying to teach daughter. She loves the name and always ask for"
Review 4 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around go to nymph,
March 1, 2014
By: RobNeverFishesEnough
from Chateaugay, NY
"This is my go to fly whenever I'm struggling to catch anything or looking to contend in our local tourneys."
Review 5 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nymph Ever!,
January 20, 2014
By: TroutGuy1
"I never have been skunked using this fly. I totally would recommend it to any one."
Review 6 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My go to fly,
January 16, 2014
By: Chans1972
from Findlay, OH
"I've had more productive days on the water thanks to this fly than I can recount. Fished alone or under a dropper rig, this fly always seems to bring on the strikes."
Review 7 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have Nymph Flies,
November 24, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"Nymphs are must have flies that imitate sub-surface food sources that comprise the majority of a trout’s diet. These flies have been consistently productive for me on everything from stocked rainbows and browns, to wild brookies on urban and park streams throughout Virginia. Always in my fly box."
Review 8 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 11, 2013
By: Rock821
from SW PA
"Another productive pattern, always have them in my fly box"
Review 9 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colorful & nice !!,
June 4, 2013
By: BLT1
from Clifford, Pa.
"Very nicely tied and detailed.... Can't wit to use one !!
Hope Mr. Trout likes it as much as I do !!!
"
Review 10 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing Oregon Cascade Lakes,
January 29, 2013
By: PAAl2OR
"This is the fly that was recommended to me by Oregon fishermen. I am very glad that I was able to find it at Orvis."
Review 11 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice fly,
November 28, 2012
By: fishy1
from Roanoke,VA
"caught one brookie already-well made would recommend it highly"
Review 12 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must.,
May 9, 2012
By: Fishingblair
from Denver, CO
"This fly is a must for anyone's fly box. It catches fish and is a staple of early season fishing."
Review 13 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Prince,
April 30, 2012
By: Benmach2
from Cazenovia, NY
"This nymph has all the great performance of the original with a little extra flash in the wings. First time out resulted in 7 browns! This baby is lethal."
Review 14 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Fly,
March 14, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"It's almost cheating with this fly. This is my last resort fly. If the fish aren't hitting anything I throw at them, this fly goes on the rig and the fish start biting. I've caught standard trout all the way up to 10 lb. Steelhead with this."
Review 15 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got to have,
December 30, 2011
By: pjcornejo
from Amherst,NY
"I love this fly , it catches trout and smallies, I fish it with or without an indicator on a floating line."
Review 16 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
December 7, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"Flashy version of the bead head prince. Great fly, attracts great fish"
Review 17 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fly,
August 12, 2011
By: flyfishadk
from Saranac Lake, NY
"Good looking and well made. Great fly as a dropper"
Review 18 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly FKAP (Prince),
June 8, 2011
By: BarreMike
from MA.
"I lost a #14 on a big brown on a Friday afternoon,
Saturday morning,12 HRS later,I caught the same
brown (still had my other fly in its mouth.)
Best all around fly
"
Review 19 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
May 31, 2011
By: FFGDude
"Fish go nuts when this bad boy hits the water. You cant buy to many."
Review 20 for Fly Formerly Known As Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slayed em...,
May 27, 2011
By: DRofInsurance
"First time using this fly...WOW...could not miss. Landed many fish in 850 CFS flow on the Ark."