Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3

Weighted a half size heavier than traditional Trout Wonderline Gen 3 to help load and sweeten modern fast action rods quickly for short casts and other situations that require casting off the tip. all to help deliver indicator rigs, terrestrials, nymphs, and other bigger trout flies with greater ease and accuracy. Super slick coating 20% slicker than original Wonderline for less friction than any line on the market and far fewer tangles. Repels dirt and grime to keep line at top performance. 90' in 4-8 weight. Trout fishing line in olive dun, yellow. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
40 of 44(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Review 1 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent line,
June 8, 2012
By: VladaToda
from Serbia
"A beautiful filling and loading, long distance cast with very little efort, Easy roll-over of large streamer ..
I am satisfied. Very good line.
"
Review 2 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
April 10, 2012
By: cblountus
from Northern California
"Got this on sale because they are transitioning to the new lines. Loads well and can turn over some pretty bulky flies. I use it for bass and turning over indicators. For $29, you can't do much better."
Review 3 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT,
March 26, 2012
By: WAPOW
from sacramento,CA
"This line does excactly what it says. cast smooth, flouts high. love the loop too."
Review 4 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
orvis flyline,
March 13, 2012
By: flynatic
from mountains to coast of North Carolina
"I have 17 Flyrod combinations.They are Orvis, St Croix,Lumas, fenwick and winston. One thing in common on all combos is Orvis Flyline. I use just about all weights and tapers. What I like most about these flylines is no matter which combation I use, The Orvis Flylines cast great,are dependable in all weather conditions. The only thing I worry about when fishing with Orvis Flyline is what fly or popping bug is going to catch fish."
Review 5 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than I expected!!,
March 9, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"I bought the power taper for the first time. It loads quickly and as smooth as silk. I actually did notice that my line was easier to mend as well. Great stuff!!"
Review 6 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth as silk,
March 9, 2012
By: mshsoulfish
from SW PA
"I put this on a fast action 6wt that I was going to use to use for big water. It just smokes through the guides with ease. Took it out on a small stream the other day and just roll cast like butter. Am very happy with it. Have it in a 8wt as well with equal results."
Review 7 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Too early to tell,
March 6, 2012
By: RCJP
from Medfield, Mass.
"I havn't tested them yet. These comments will apply to three lines recently purchased for one Hydros 6wt rod. Lines are for both fresh and salt. I have been fishing Orvis lines for many years now with complete satisfaction. If there is a better line out there, I wouldn't know. Sort of "If it ain't broke, don't fix it".... so I stick with Orvis.
RCJP"
Review 8 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Line,
March 6, 2012
By: FPDP
from Puerto Rico
"I am now using this product for snook and baby tarpon in Puerto Rican lagoons. I am able to cast a particularly heavy fly that I created for this fishing and the line performs extremely well giving me long and accurate casts. It also floats well which is essential as I fish from a kayak and often the stripped line goes over the side and I need to make new casts without dredging up partially sunken line. I use this 10 wt line on a 9 wt tip flex Helios. Great combination!"
Review 9 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great line,
March 6, 2012
By: SirEZG
from Seattle, WA
"I have used these lines on my Sage XP rods for several years now and they are fantastic. I hear the new lines are even better. Can't wai to try them."
Review 10 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Line,
March 5, 2012
By: JOzzy
from West Michigan
"Wonderline is great stuff - I've been buying it for years."
Review 11 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly line,
March 3, 2012
By: K9Defender
"Casts well, loads beautifully, delivers nice tight loops. Having a flex tip rod the power taper makes casting much more pleasurable."
Review 12 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Casts well, loop broke,
February 28, 2012
By: brudnod
"The first outing with this line produced a broken tip loop while used just on the grass on the front lawn. No tension. Aside from that it casts well into wind and is very visible (I assume that my pale green lawn will be harder into compared to a stream surface). After putting a nail knot on the end I anticipate long seasons with this line."
Review 13 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderline is a great product,
February 18, 2012
By: Cutthroatangler
"I have been using wonderline power taper line for 3 years now,and I think it has been the best on the market. I don't understand why it is being replaced. It is hard for me to believe that Hydros line can be any better. It was great for me to see it clearanced for such a low price. I now have replaced all my fly line. Thanks Orvis for a great product,and wonderful service."
Review 14 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice surprise,
February 17, 2012
By: Fredy
from Hackettstown, NJ
"When I first received my Power Taper I was concerned about how this the initial front taper was, I thought that I would have presentation issues. After a few cast my smile kept getting bigger! Super impressed with how easy it is to cast and roll cast, presenting to skittish limestone trout was NOT and issue. It's very easy to do soft presentaions with this line and shooting line out is a breeze too.
Worth the money!
"
Review 15 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only line that I use.,
February 10, 2012
By: FRN22
from Midlothian, VA
"Top quality at a fair price. I especially like the service that my local Orvis dealer has in putting the backing and line on my reel."
Review 16 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Line but Beware The Hype,
February 2, 2012
By: Dave313
from Atlanta, GA
"I put this line on my 8'6" 5 wt Hydros tip flex. Also have the 4 wt on my Clearwater II 4 wt mid flex. Gen 3 is good line. It is not going to add yards to your cast, and the slick coating on it does seem to wear more quickly than some other lines I have, but overall I have been pleased with it's performance. If you can pick it up for $50 or below grab it. If the price is higher you can find a better line."
Review 17 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Knot what I expected,
January 23, 2012
By: PaulS37
from North Carolina
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was surprised to find a monofilament knot at the base of the welded loop over the coating of the fly line. Customer service indicated it was because they had some problems with the strength of the loop on some lots of production. Can't say I like it but, since this line is on clearance an exchange may just get me another spool with the same knot."
Review 18 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WF Power Taper Wonderline,
January 20, 2012
By: FireFly2
"Paired up with my Clearwater 5wt. rods, this line is quite a performer. As I use my Clearwater rods while fishing from my canoe, this line really made casting from the canoe easy."
Review 19 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice line,
December 14, 2011
By: Hellgie
from NJ
"I purchased this line to try it on a 6wt. fast action rod that I use for heavy flies and multi-fly/indicator nymph rigs. I love the extra weight to load the fast action rod for roll casting and the slick coating slips throught the guides nicely. I also like the leader loop so I'm able to change leaders quickly."
Review 20 for WF PowerTaper™ Wonderline Gen 3
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nymph and Streamer fantastic!,
November 26, 2011
By: BadCaster
from Idaho
"Bought this line in a 6 weight to overline a super fast Sage 5 weight. I broke the tip on the Sage rod yesterday, and loaded this line on a 9' for a 6wt I built this summer. Used the rod yesterday for stripping a streamer for steelhead in the Boise river in town. Super! I've never been able to cast a streamer as well as I could with this line! Shoots through the guides incredibly smoothly and turns over a big articulated streamer with no problems whatsoever. Then I put 10" worth of poly leader to drag the streamer through a deep slot. The Power Taper line again performed perfectly. Made me feel like a much better caster than I am! Then today, in 35mph plus winds, I used the line to pitch a double nymph rig to dredge the bottom of the South Fork of the Boise. Again, perfect! I'm sold, I'll have to get another one of these in a 5 weight to replace a worn out Sharkskin on my Helios 5 weight."