Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Vernille San Juan Worm

While most people think the San Juan worm fly is specific to the San Juan River, the truth is there are aquatic worms in many rivers and fish are not shy about eating them. There are purists who say this is worm fishing. Fact is the San Juan Worm fly imitates a worm just like Muddler imitates a sculpin. This fly also won the prestigious One Fly Tournament in Jackson Hole, Wyoming. Keep a few worm flies in the box and you won't be sorry. Worm fly in sizes: 8, 10, 12, 14.
Average Customer Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vernille San Juan Worm
Review 1 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
San Juan Red,
March 24, 2014
By: fishtalker
from Retired Wilmington, NC
"Good value! Have caught both bows and browns on the Red on the South Toe River in NC."
Review 2 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pattern,
March 17, 2014
By: Twofeathers
from Upstate South Carolina
"This is a great pattern and seems to work well on some of the delayed harvest rivers in Western NC. I enjoy the challenge and past time of tying my own flies and what a great feeling to catch a fish on a fly that you tied. However, the San Juan Worn, as well as a few other patterns I prefer to order from Orvis. Their proportion are always in keeping with the hook size and their quality is great. I think you will agree. Order a few and see for yourself"
Review 3 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works well, good flies,
February 18, 2014
By: Rayz1002
from Searcy, AR
"I got some big rainbow trouts with this fly. I works really well"
Review 4 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 4, 2014
By: AJtrout
from Central PA
"Used this fly this past weekend. Very tough conditions. Caught 2 small browns when nothing else was working."
Review 5 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Worm Fly,
January 4, 2014
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"Like many anglers, I avoided fishing the San Juan Worm for years. Gave the red color flies a try this year and wish I had done so sooner. I caught trout, pan fish and bass on a variety of moving and still waters. This fly works well fished near the bottom (with a bit of weight on the leader), or as a dropper (in the smaller sizes). Easy to understand why this is one of Tom’s favorites. Give this great fly a try yourself."
Review 6 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality Fly,
August 8, 2013
By: Yunick
from Manchester, CT
"This is a very good quality fly and I wouldn't hesitate to buy more."
Review 7 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
San Juan Blue Gill slayer,
July 2, 2013
By: Meathelmet
from Battlecreek, Mi
"New to fly fishing and I am pretty sure this was not intended for blue gill but on a recent outing I decided to throw this in and the blue gills attacked it recklessly. After a few hours of fishing i was surprised that it held up so well. I will definitely order more in the future."
Review 8 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic San Juan,
October 18, 2012
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"As has been my experience with all of Orvis' flies, this is well tied and fairly robust/rugged. This is an excellent version of the San Juan Worm."
Review 9 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't go wrong with San Juan,
September 6, 2012
By: CARF
from Chicago, IL
"I have caught a lot of pan fish with this fly. Whenever the bass fishing is tough, I tie this on, and it never fails to catch me a fish."
Review 10 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality,
April 19, 2012
By: flyses
from Denver, CO
"Very well tied, great quality and appearance. Will recommend to friends."
Review 11 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helped me catch my first fish on a fly!,
January 8, 2012
By: prefect
from Scranton, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I tried a #12 red san juan worm as a last effort on my first fly fishing outing. A few good casts later, I had my first fish, a 15" rainbow! This happened in January too! I will be using these as prospecting flies in the future. If it can catch a beginner like me a fish, it can catch them for anyone."
Review 12 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
San juan worm,
February 23, 2011
By: kersh
"unlike the others who have posted I use mainly as an attractor fly. i typically use a larvae or scud as the trailor. rarely catch anything on the worm but it attracts a ton of attention from large trout. On the actual San Juan river this is a must in the morning until about noon, then simply move the red larve to the top fly and an emerger as the trailor and catch fish until your forearms burn!"
Review 13 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
San Juans Are Killers,
April 29, 2010
By: mountainstreamer
from West Virginia
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These San Juan worms are great prospecting tools when the trout are laying on the stream bottom and not rising. They are killers on big trout laying in ambush under structures waiting for the next meal even when a hatch is in progress. These worms can entice the lunkers during mid-day who normally feed at night. using these as a dropper/trailer, with a dry fly on top is a killer method too. I wouldn't venture on a West Virginia mountain trout stream without some San Juan worms in my fly box. Finally, those that poo-poo using San Juans worms probably don't hesitate to use terrestrials. In my opinion, there's no difference."
Review 14 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Worm to go!,
June 25, 2009
By: ItalianFly
from NJ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Absolutely love this fly when conditions dictate. We use it a lot when we're going out for bluegills and sunnies. It's an especially nice fly to use with young fisherman as it's very productive and encouraging to the youngsters."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 3, 2009
By: womanflyfisher
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I used these in a fly fishing class with other "student" fly fishermen and we all came away with fighting rainbows. They made our day."
Review 16 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
February 27, 2009
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"There was a time I thought it was cheating to use one of these, so I didn't even try; until this year. My brother woke me up and wow, do these ever work! The traditional dark red is a killer on fall/winter steelhead. In fact, when drifting a two-fly combination, this outfishes an egg fly almost every time. Try it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
in the west,
July 4, 2008
By: JMBdigger
from santa fe, NM
"In western streams this fly is a hidden treasure.
For years I just wouldn't considering using a worm but this san juan and variants have an unbeleivalbe charm for fish. I have broke off more san juan worms with aggressive action on part of the fish recently that I am afraid to go the the river without them.
"
Review 18 for Vernille San Juan Worm
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never Fails!!,
January 24, 2008
By: gvillevol
from Greenville, SC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The San Juan worm is a great fly. It is always productive and almost never seems to fail to get a bite. I carry multiple San Juans in different colors. This is truly one of the more deadly flies in my box. Don't shy away from this fly when purists say it isn't fly fishing....if we use terrestrials that look like hoppers what is wrong with using a worm imitation?"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Vernille San Juan Worm
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.4 / 5
4.4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5