Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Handsewn Driving Shoes

The comfort of an indoor moccasin, the strength and durability of an outdoor shoe. Crafted from a multi-piece outsole for an unsurpassed degree of flexibility. Perfect for a short walk or comfort throughout your lengthiest road trips. Full-grain oiled-leather uppers. Full leather footbed with arch support. Rawhide lacing. In medium width. Imported.Whole sizes: 8-10.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
1
19 of 29(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Review 1 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable as expected,
February 28, 2014
By: Cpm2014
from Charleston, SC
"Many posts on here say that it took awhile to break in. I did not find that. They were comfortable right out of the box. Better than other driving mocs because of the flat rubber on the bottom as opposed to the round nubs on some other similar shoes from other companies."
Review 2 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool, Strong & Great Looks,
February 8, 2014
By: McSeyer
from Lagos, Nigeria
"I got a pair of these driving shoes a couple of months ago, and I've got to say that it has become my favorite for its durability, comfort and great looks. I look out to get another color of the same shoes soon..."
Review 3 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What Happened??,
September 9, 2013
By: Bigfoot723
"Wore these shoes almost every day for two years until they finally bit the bullet. They were not available for about a year and returned at double the price and no longer carry a 14 or 15! I would buy these shoes any day if they still made them to my size."
Review 4 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable shoes,
July 29, 2013
By: Jikharev
from Papillion, NE
"This is my second pair; the first pair lasted two years. This pair has a shiny, somewhat cheesy, finish. Preferred the original, more natural look on the old pair. Still very comfortable and a pleasure to wear."
Review 5 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality,
May 30, 2013
By: Sully1
from Marvin NC
"Tassels were all screwed up. Do not buy this shoe."
Review 6 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It's a shame,
January 18, 2013
By: Lampsstopper
from Bonita Springs, Fl.
"These Driving slippers are the almost exact duplicate of a pair 8 years old. The difference ( the old ones fit). The new pair are a full size smaller than my old ones.
I know that Orvis has gotten other complaints about the sizing. Why don't they do something about it? To continually ship product they know will not fit destroys my confidence in their product.
"
Review 7 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A gift to tired feet!,
December 28, 2012
By: Chalkduster
from Ohio
"I buy a pair of these driving shoes for my son each Christmas as he has a birthday at the same time. He looks forward to his birthday present by mail and wears them as he drives many miles home. Comfort and quality are the top descriptors for these shoes. They are truly a gift to your feet!"
Review 8 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellant leisure shoes,
November 22, 2012
By: Frankiej
"This is the third pair of this shoe I have bought in three years. Each pair has been excellant in confort and looks. I only wish the price had remained the same. Orvis stopped carrying this shoe for a year - I looked everywhere but could not find anything close to the good looks. People have actually commented on the nice design of the shoe."
Review 9 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best driving moccasins ever purchased.,
October 29, 2012
By: Lyrice
from Catawba Island, Ohio
"I have purchased 4 pairs of these over the last 8 years. I wear them all the time. They are comfortable and I wear them with jeans and cargo shorts."
Review 10 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not Cole Haan,
December 30, 2011
By: Metalman
from Stilwell,Oklahoma
"Pretty nice shoe but they will take a lot of time breaking in. Might even run a tad small. Very stiff and wearing out my heel. If I do get them worn in probably be a go to shoe but shouldn't have to do that."
Review 11 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too orange,
November 22, 2011
By: Tefzel
"These shoes were a little too orange vs the photo & were sized a little small"
Review 12 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shoe!,
August 16, 2011
By: SUEMYL
"I've bought at least a half dozen of these shoes over time. I keep a pair or two in reserve, just in case they're not available at some time. VERY comfortable, classic styling, I love these shoes!"
Review 13 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Shoe,
August 6, 2011
By: Chuck60
"Best casual shoe I've ever owned. Just ordered my second pair. I wore these shoes just about everyday for an entire year. Great style and comfort. Only complaint is that the tassels slid off their strings giving the shoe a hand tied knot look. Hopefully this will be fixed by my inevitable third pair"
Review 14 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
August 4, 2011
By: setrudd
from Rye .England
"Very soft & comfortable,Great driving shoe and for wearing out and about.I have now brought a second pair .Love the style."
Review 15 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent shoes,
May 9, 2011
By: Derick
from Jacksonville, FL
"this is my 5th pair. I wear them practically every day. They are a bargain for the price and well put together. None of the 5 pairs have had a defect."
Review 16 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Aggrivated,
March 16, 2011
By: OrvisInSC
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The package said size 10.5, my foot is size 10.5, but these shoes are clearly made for the Keebler Elves. They were my second pair, but the manufacturer must have changed between my orders."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 31, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the issue with the sizing of thiese shoes. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback about our clothing as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our fit.

Review 17 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Misleading color,
January 22, 2011
By: jhnbrdgs
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Solid mocs but the color shown on the website does not accurately show the color of the shoes. They are more of a peanut butter color than the plain brown shown."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 31, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We were disappointed to hear the color wasn't as expected from the photo. We welcome customer comments and suggestions—we learn a great deal from our customers, and we are always striving to improve our products. Orvis will happily refund or exchange any purchase. We want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 18 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 4, 2011
By: fussyaboutshoes
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"A very comfortable and flexible driving and indoor shoe.
Great for short walks outside. Nice looking too. I have three pairs; mature, used and new.
"
Review 19 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable, casual wear,
January 2, 2011
By: Nicco
from Connecticut shore
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The shoe is made very well and is exceptionally comfortable. The color is generally lighter than appears on the website or catalogue and most importantly you will need to order one full size larger since this Brazilian made shoe runs small."
Review 20 for Handsewn Driving Shoes
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sad Disappointment,
December 30, 2010
By: DLBOrvis
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I have purposely waited a few months to see if my experience would change regarding these Driving Mocs. Sadly, it has not. I own many Orvis products including Snakeproof boots, loafers and other shoes, as well as clothing. I hold Orvis in the highest regard. This is the first product that I have owned that left me disappointed. I found the leather be to sub-par in quality to other pairs of Driving Mocs that I own and the arch support and comfort are non-existent."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 4, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the item did not meet expectations and offered a full refund or an exchange. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.