Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Mirage MaxKnot

The only fluorocarbon tippet material serious fly fishers should consider using gives the best combination of wet-knot strength, suppleness, and abrasion resistance of any fluorocarbon material made. Greater wet-knot strength means more fish—big fish—get landed. Plus, you fish more and re-tie tippet less. Mirage™ MaxKnot™ gives you the most tippet wet-knot strength. You can't fish without tying knots, and all tippet material weakens when knotted. That's physics. MaxKnot is up to 49% stronger than regular Mirage. It's superior because a special double-extrusion method gives the outer surface more suppleness. That means the knots tie, seat, and hold better so the tippet retains more of its original strength. The interior of MaxKnot has greater tensile strength too. The result is your connection to big fish is stronger. And a stronger connection means more fish to hand.
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
29 of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage MaxKnot
Review 1 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tippet material!,
June 18, 2013
By: Garry1000
from Rector Arkansas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have used Orvis Mirage Tippet material for years. It is really a good product. I think that Mirage MaxKnot is the best of the best. From small Brim to large Carp(26.3 lb.) it is the only tippet I use. Try it ,it's good."
Review 2 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough Stuff,
June 13, 2013
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"39" grass carp with the 0X version. Headed to the salt for some reds/specks and expect the same solid performance."
Review 3 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bad purchase,
April 23, 2013
By: fisherman44
from washington
"the "best if used by" date was August of this year. The product is obviously several years old. If the price is reduced, the fact that the product is old should be known."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Tippet,
February 5, 2013
By: JGCSummit
from Arkansas
"Nice tippet especially at the sale price. Mine is close to expired but I have a few spools that expired in 2011 I still use with no problems :-)"
Review 5 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
7x that does the job of 8-9x,
October 17, 2012
By: Xmen28
from Connecticut
"I have had excellent luck with this tippet material. I have had trout take the fly on 7x in pools where traditionally only 8-9x would work. A lot fewer snap offs is the result, without sacrificing the stealth factor"
Review 6 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaxKnot,
July 3, 2012
By: OzarkFisher
from Springfield, Mo
"Great tippet that can withstand the force of a large Trout when it takes off on a long run. Another great product by Orvis that performs of above expectation."
Review 7 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reorder Says It All,
May 15, 2012
By: ridgeroamer
from Rocky Mountain Foothills
"I have used the Max Knot before and found it to be a great product. I'm reordering because I found it to be the best I've used thus far. The fish hate it!"
Review 8 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
April 25, 2012
By: Frustrated1
from Belfast, Northern Ireland
"This line came off the spool in curly pigtails which stayed as memory. Hard to see the alleged 49% improvement in knotting strength compared to ordinary Mirage which was also breaking overly easy at the knot. I have used both of these products satisfactorily in the past, but there seem to be consistency / quality assurance issues with both being prone to fluctuate in my experience. At its best these are potentially great products. It's just a pity that my confidence in these lines keep getting dented by the consistency of quality issues which I and my fishing partner have both encountered."
Review 9 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tippet,
March 5, 2012
By: Grizz
from Phoenix, AZ
"I use this tippet with my 3X leader when I am fishing with streamers. I have caught some big fish that slam the streamer like a freight train. This tippet is strong, and I have never had a break at the knot."
Review 10 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong and invisble to fish,
February 13, 2012
By: NewMexicoFlyfisher
"I am able to use one size larger tippet material with maxknot versus using monofilament and get about the same number of hookups. This results in landing more fish when fishing small flies on lighter tippets."
Review 11 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best tippet on the market,
January 2, 2012
By: steely0
from Machias,me
"I have used a lot or different types of tippet material and this superior in diameter and strength"
Review 12 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A advertised,
December 30, 2011
By: txdad2002
from Houston, TX
"works just as advertised - holds knots very well! I don't know about visability - need to ask the fish."
Review 13 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best tippet material yet,
December 29, 2011
By: rudyd
from missouri
"love this flourocarbon- defintely makes a difference when fishing nymphs"
Review 14 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Could not be Better,
December 29, 2011
By: TheFlyman
from California
"I have used the Orvis fluorocarbons since its introduction for everything from ocean to bass and trout fishing to great advantage. The line tends to be abrasive resistant and strong. In the beginning I did not tell my friends and they could not figure out why I was catching fish and they were not but then I broke down and told them my secret. The line is incredible for nymphing as I tend to use a slightly heavier tippet so that I can land the fish quicker which helps in the survival rate."
Review 15 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best tippet I have ever owned,
December 20, 2011
By: flyfishing24
from NJ
"This is the best tippet material probably on the market. Very strong and worth every cent. Strongly recommended."
Review 16 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough and Dependable,
October 21, 2011
By: dwbauer77
from Livermore, California
"I have used Mirage MaxKnot for the last couple of years while fishing for trout and steelhead.
I like to make my own leaders from my Mirage spools when I am nymphing or swinging. Tapered leaders are much to bulky at the butt section, making it difficult to get the flies down into the fish zone.
I have never had a failure at the knot connection with this material. I am also impressed with it's durability. I have fished all day and though my leader felt like it had been chewed on by the rocks, it still retained its strength.
"
Review 17 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
None Better,
June 3, 2011
By: zerog
"I have not found better tippet material, and the price is great as well."
Review 18 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 26, 2011
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Far and away the best tippet material I've used. Expensive ... yep ... but worth every penny. I use nothing else."
Review 19 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6X MaxKnot,
April 25, 2010
By: troutvan
from Lebanon, PA/Vail, CO
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Recently had an epic week in CO with greater than 200 fish in tailwater areas. No tippet breaks, performed very well wih large fish. Only complaint is it comes off the tippet spool with alot of "curliness" which makes tying on small flies tough. Seems to lose that memory rather quickly once fishing."
Review 20 for Mirage MaxKnot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
September 13, 2009
By: CCSJL
from Mashpee, MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Last spring I purchased a spool of 0X for saltwater fly rod use. Today I put it to the ultimate test in targeting lil tunny the sharpest eyed species we have on Cape Cod. Not only did I have multiple hits on the fly I was casting, proving how invisible the material is in the water, I actually landed the tunny I hooked with no breakoffs. For my father and brother who are spin fisherman, I used this material as a leader to the metal lures they were casting to the tunny, both had hits, and caught fish. The invisibility, and knot strength is incredible!"