Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet

This incredibly durable American bison leather wallet has a lustrous and slightly textured look that develops a rich, soft patina over time. Eight acetate-lined slots to accommodate all your cards. Men's wallet in brown. 3½"H x 4½"W folded. Littleton, New Hampshire.
Average Customer Rating:
4.678 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
5 stars
138
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
3
168 of 177(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Review 1 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best wallet I've ever owned.,
March 29, 2014
By: Gavino
from Gainesville, Florida
"I'm not hesitant to display my new wallet when taking a credit card or cash from it. It is classy and rugged looking. No plastic or frills. Just perfect ."
Review 2 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Darn Fine Wallet,
March 12, 2014
By: JamesKent
"Supple, sleek and well made, this wallet was a much needed upgrade over the shotty faux leather wallet i was sporting."
Review 3 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Wallet,
March 10, 2014
By: VirginiaMomKnowsBest
from Virginia
"Wallet is well made, gorgeous feel and look. Perfect for man of any age. Monogram really set it apart and made him love it more!"
Review 4 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product - Poor Delivery Time,
March 1, 2014
By: jet64
"The quality & appearance of the billfold is very good. Down side was the ridiculously slow delivery."
Review 5 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
soft and wonderful!,
January 29, 2014
By: echokim
"My son in law loved this wallet! It was soft and supple and he really loved the monogram!"
Review 6 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wallet,
January 23, 2014
By: RobertCF
"My old bison wallet wore out after 7 yrs. The new darker brown wallet looked dull in the store. After a few days the bison leather developed a bit of a shine. Just like my old Orvis bison, this wallet improves with age."
Review 7 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wallet,
January 22, 2014
By: jkcr
"My husband loves his new wallet. He hasn't had it long but based on reviews I am sure it will last!!!"
Review 8 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grate product,
January 21, 2014
By: Tucker12
from Colorado
"Purchase for father-in-law said it is the best wallet he has owned"
Review 9 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy wallet, beautiful leather,
January 18, 2014
By: foxrobin
from South Lincs
"I ordered the bison hide wallet some weeks before Christmas as a gift for my partner but was sadly out of stock already. However, it arrived in mid-January and he is delighted with it. It is a replacement for his old Orvis wallet which is now worn out after about 10 years of use. Slightly smaller than original, but that does not detract. Lovely quality."
Review 10 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Wallet,
January 17, 2014
By: anight60
from Portsmouth, NH
"A gift any guy would appreciate; my husband loves this wallet. Has just the right amount of card slots and bill sections to do the job without being bulky."
Review 11 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice wallet. but...,
January 16, 2014
By: jimmyzwheelz
from Little Rock, AR
"In true Orvis fashion, this is an impeccably crafted wallet. Very nice quality leather and craftsmanship. Exactly what I expect from Orvis! But, to nitpick a little. The leather is much thicker than what I'm used to and therefore causes the wallet to be even thicker when loaded with a few credit cards and bills. Mind you, I don't "stuff" my wallet with unnecessary items, just a few essentials. It is also just a tad larger in length and width than my previous wallet, which makes it a little trickier to get in my pocket. I'm hoping as it gets more broken-in, this will become easier. Again, this is an extremely well made wallet, just be aware if you're looking specifically for "thin" this may not be the wallet for you."
Review 12 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
buffalo hide wallet,
January 16, 2014
By: flohrwax
from West Chester, OH
"It is very nice and my husband loves it. It's hard to buy a wallet for my husband because it has to have all the right places for the money, his cards etc and this one was perfect. Thanks for that! :-)"
Review 13 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift!,
January 15, 2014
By: Authenticity
from Greensboro,NC
"This beautiful wallet was a great gift and the monogram added a special touch! The leather is a warm brown color and very soft and supple. Highly recommend!"
Review 14 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my second purchase,
January 15, 2014
By: ronnnie
"the wallet is bulletproof, just cannot wear it out. .Best wallet purchase ever."
Review 15 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
solid wallet,
January 14, 2014
By: AMDG
from New Orleans, La
"Extremely happy with craftmanship of this wallet. Smaller than my prior wallet but am very pleased overall. First product I bought from from Orvis and am not disappointed."
Review 16 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Wallet,
January 6, 2014
By: JGMcD
"Bought this wallet for my 25 year old New York City son for Christmas. It is handsome and durable, understated and comfortable--no hint of "slick." He seemed thrilled to receive such a nice piece to add to his collection of quality accoutrements."
Review 17 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift,
January 3, 2014
By: Florida88
from Nokomis, FL
"I ordered the wallet for our son in law who us a professional with great taste! He loved the initials on the wallet. Looks wonderful...thank you Orvis!"
Review 18 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully Supple,
January 2, 2014
By: CCBJ
"Bought two and both recipients commented on how soft and supple the leather felt. Both were initialled and while it was subtle enough, the personalization made them more special. Nicely sized and very comfortable in the back pocket. Would highly recommend."
Review 19 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Has 2 pockets under the card slots.,
December 31, 2013
By: BonVivant
from Arlington, VA
"First class. You won't be sorry. Good job on the embossed initials. Cool to say it's buffalo hide not cowhide.
But --- Orvis goofed up on the product description. I wanted it when I saw it in the catalog, but decided not to get it because it doesn't mention the pocket on each side, under the credit card slots. And you can't see from the photo. But I saw them when I inspected it in the store, and I ordered it. So Orvis might be missing sales because of a poor description.
"
Review 20 for American Bison Thinfold Leather Wallet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great wallet,
December 30, 2013
By: EManz
from Boston, MA
"Just purchased for my husband so don't yet know about durability but the look and feel is great!"