Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Fly-Tying Guide

Learn to tie more than 16 classic flies easily with this fly tying guide from Tom Rosenbauer, one of the world's most respected how-to writers. More than 700 full-color photos in this step-by-step guide to fly tying book to help you tie easily. Designed to use with our Fly-Tying Kit or as a stand-alone reference, it's the fly tying "bible" for fly tiers of all skill levels. 400+ flies from the Orvis catalog are shown in full color, along with tying recipes and proportions for each pattern. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.879 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Review 1 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
March 17, 2014
By: Almos
from Pa.
"I am just getting into fly tying and this will be a great addition to my collection of fly tying information a great go to source of information. The way the way that Tom presents the manual with the step by step pictures is great and the analogies to help you relate and understand what you are to do and what you should see in the processes is really great. Thanks"
Review 2 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well written good resource,
March 12, 2014
By: skir
from CV maine
"getting back into tying this book has been a great help. the descriptions are very well worded and time has been taken to fully explainsteps without becoming to cumbersome"
Review 3 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great information, but spiral binding would help,
March 4, 2014
By: RonAR
from Arkansas
"In past years this guide was spiral bound and it would lay flat when open. Still an excellent reference."
Review 4 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
December 11, 2013
By: HookedMarlin
from New Jersey
"Brand new to tying. I have purchased 3 books. This is the book I will be using to learn because the pictures are clear and the instruction seems clear. Hopefully my wife gets me the tool set and vise for Christmas."
Review 5 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Job, Orvis!,
October 9, 2013
By: Golfdiver
from Olympia, WA
"I have several fly tying guides, and they are all good. The Orvis Guide is the best, however, because it has clearly written instructions in any number of areas that make the flies you tie come out a productive product that will help catch more fish. I was very impressed with the way the book was laid out, and how the information was presented in a logical sequence."
Review 6 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly-Tying Reference,
September 18, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"The Orvis Fly-Tying Guide is a great reference. Tom Rosenbauer provides clear step-by-step tying instructions and the guide includes photographs that helped me to begin tying very good trout flies. A welcome gift."
Review 7 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Fly-Tying Guide,a Great Book,
February 18, 2013
By: CrappyBait
"For me the book is very self explanatory, and good colored photographs. My thanks to Tom Rosenbauer."
Review 8 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No worms book,
February 5, 2013
By: Skipper47
from Rochester, NY
"The Fly tying guide was wonderful. The close up color pictures are very helpful for beginners like me."
Review 9 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best I've seen.,
January 18, 2013
By: Wass1
from Bakersfield, CA
"Started tying 20 years ago and my books are old and don't discuss new materials so I wanted one that discussed synthetics. I was surprised at the quality of the photos and step-by-step instruction. The complilation of flies are the standard greats and not exotics. It is open on my fly table as I write this."
Review 10 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guide,
December 15, 2012
By: Kleitos
"This book is beautiful and informative. I got this as a gift for my Dad and he loved it"
Review 11 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great book,
April 25, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"This is a good read, you can't fail to learn from this, if you are interested in fly tying you won't go far wrong here"
Review 12 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for beginners,
April 11, 2012
By: LandDG
from Kansas City
"Shows you step by step. You can start tying right away."
Review 13 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have fly tying book,
April 4, 2012
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I would consider me a good tier. Still I admire the most detailed descriptions of all the tying steps. This is why I still come back to this book. I wish they would update it, remove some old pictures and offer it as hard-cover spiral bound version.
Another good book from Tom Rosenbauer.
"
Review 14 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Helpful Book,
February 16, 2012
By: RealFisherman
from Rural Hall, NC
"I am very impressed with the information contained in this book. I believe it will be most helpful in becoming a better fly tyer. I would heartily recommend it to both beginners and intermediate skill levels."
Review 15 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Guide,
January 11, 2012
By: Eagle888
"This is a great guide, very detailed. I was tying flies in 30 minutes."
Review 16 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did it !!!,
December 29, 2011
By: Bilardo
"I began completely from scratch and I was able to tie a nice woolly bugger in my second attempt.
Very clear instructions, you just need to follow them carefully.
"
Review 17 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Fly Tying Guide,
September 9, 2011
By: fishing1
from Austin, Texas
"Excellent book for all levels. This is a must have for any one serious about tying. Once again Orvis delivers another superior product."
Review 18 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Orvis Fly-Tying Guide,
July 15, 2011
By: FishinDude
from IN
"Excellent book for the beginning fly-tyer! Detailed instructions with pictures makes it easy to understand how to use the equipment and materials. The book covers everything you need to know, including lots of good tips. I can't wait to get started!"
Review 19 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Fly tying Guide,
October 23, 2010
By: FireFly2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I own the older version Fly Tying Guide, but decided to update my library and bought Tom's Guide. He has done justice to fly tying. It is a great beginner's book as well as a fine book for us older folks to refresh our tying skills. A great read with good quality pictures."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Orvis Fly-Tying Guide
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Priceless,
January 26, 2010
By: SFish
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I tried to learn to tie flies on the internet. Don't waste your time. The best way to learn fly tying is the Orvis Fly-Tying Guide. Tom Rosenbauer is a true teacher. When I read the step by step instructions it is like he is sitting there at the table with me. Although I am not an experienced tier, I believe this book has something to offer people at all skill levels."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.