Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pheasant Tail

One of the most useful feathers a nymph tier can have—use it for tails, legs, and herl bodies. Now it comes in a wide variety of colors to match many different aquatic insects. Pheasant feathers in natural brown, black, yellow, olive, green, orange, ginger, red. Two tails per pack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 of 38(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pheasant Tail
Review 1 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
July 14, 2015
By: SoftHackle327
"Just learning to tie. Looks like quality material."
Review 2 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catch about anything with this fly!,
July 13, 2015
By: Orvisonian
from Northern Virginia
"The Soft Hackle Pheasant Tail doesn't particularly look like anything. It simply looks "buggy!" You can catch anything anywhere with this fly. It's a staple of my fly box."
Review 3 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Advertised,
July 7, 2015
By: BHMWY
from Gillette, WY
"The product arrived in a timely manner. It was in good condition and I am sure I will catch trout on the flies tied with these feathers."
Review 4 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleased,
January 5, 2015
By: Taorn
"This product met all of my needs. I was surprised when I first got the package (I am new to fly tying) thinking that this couldn't be all there is! But as I learned some patterns and practiced I realized that I got a good deal for the buck in relation to number of flies I could make."
Review 5 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistently Dyed Pheasant Tail,
November 14, 2014
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"Includes two swords in each package. I use these for nymphs. The colors between these PT and the Orvis hare's mask seem to go well together"
Review 6 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Pheasant Tail,
October 2, 2014
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"Dyed to a very consistent color. Long barbs make it easier to tie. Very little unusable material on this tail."
Review 7 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
July 24, 2014
By: Gary1001
from Avondale, PA
"The tails are quality and shipped quickly with undamageable box. The price was right and color choices were available."
Review 8 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Stuff!!,
May 17, 2014
By: LoyalhannaDave
from East of Pittsburgh Pa
"My first use of this to produce bead head pheasant tail nymph. Nice product, good\easy to work with."
Review 9 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything As Described,
March 31, 2014
By: NewFlyTyer
from Gult Coast, Florida
"Before discovering these pheasant tails I was apprehensive about trying to tie pheasant tail nymph patterns. I still have a l-o-n-g way to go before I can tie tiny patterns with the quality of more experienced tiers, but at least I know these feathers are not at fault. Shipping was fast and secure and the feathers arrived in perfect shape. Now I just need to pay my dues at the bench!"
Review 10 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Nice,
March 26, 2014
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"I was delighted with the quality of the two tails I received."
Review 11 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seeing red,
February 10, 2014
By: fredfish
from Branson, MO
"I always liked using pheasant tail in flies. Maybe it goes back to my childhood days of seeing all the feathers my grandfather had from his hunting trips. I also always like to have alittle red on my flies. Just sems to make a difference. By using dyed tails I can now add the red in a new way that the fish seem to like."
Review 12 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Quality,
February 13, 2013
By: Sandbarsal
from Scotch Plains, NJ
"The fly was exactly as picture in the catalog. Materials used were of high quality and the proportions of the fly were exact. If I do not catch fish with this it certainly will not be the flies fault."
Review 13 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No tall tale,
February 4, 2013
By: Chuch
from Somerset, Pa.
"Ties great nymphs. I especially like the color of these tails when used in tying a Jaggar native nymph as well as the PT. Durable and strong. Some fibers ares sometimes a little short but not too often."
Review 14 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good buy,
December 21, 2012
By: Flytier14
from Virginia
"The pheasant tail is sold at an excellent price for the quality and quantity of pheasant tail in the bag. Great for pheasant tail nymphs and many more flies. Great product and I am sure to buy more."
Review 15 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Feather,
December 21, 2012
By: fleafly
from Clyde, South Lanarkshire
"Excellent feather for tying those nymphs, great colour and strength. You won't be disappointed if your looking for a high standard of quality from a feather."
Review 16 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality product,
September 30, 2012
By: kelvin
"perfect feathers for nymphs and a good colour too."
Review 17 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flawless,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"This is some of the best pheasant tail I've used. The fibers are strong and full unlike others I have used."
Review 18 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not bad,
August 25, 2012
By: troutflyer
"there were two fieathers in the pack one was in good shape and the not so much"
Review 19 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
50 percent chance/Beautiful Dye Job,
June 22, 2012
By: Michael1
from Germany
"First: I prefer these ORVIS Pheasant Tails above all others, except those natural ones from a small company in Britain ...
The other reviewers are correct. As this is a natural product the fiber length varies. This is why I give also only 4 stars here.
BUT: I have not yet seen a bag that did not allow to tie a Frank Sawyer original style Pheasant Tail Nymph (as shown by Oliver Edwards in his DVDs) just with the tail fibers and the fine (0,2 mm) copper wire on a size 14 hook (usually i use a size 16 here).
I went to a local fly shop and controlled 30 bags of different ORVIS PT bags in different colours. The result was that 30% of them had fibers as long as 6 cm, 70% where in the 4 cm range which is ok.
The dying job of these PTs is stunning and also includes difficult to find colours like black. I like the Red and Ginger also."
Review 20 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pheasant tail,
April 23, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"As with anything like this the product will differ from time to time, the tails I
received the fibres weren't long enough to wrap a size 14 nymph hook, I guess it is your luck to what you get, i Would have given this five stars if not for this
"