Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Skilton Quick Sight Ant

This fly is a very simple foam ant pattern with a white head for easy visibility. Foam body is durable and stays on top. A good foam ant fly pattern for any time of the year on any river where ants are in the water. Sizes: 14, 16, 18, 20.
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
22 of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Review 1 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very effective,
July 28, 2015
By: FUFU
"This ant is the most effective ant I have used. However the profit margin to Orvis is obscene :)"
Review 2 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fly ever!,
May 18, 2015
By: skeeter67
from houston tx
"works for bass and mountain trout
equally well. holds up well after many fish. I have stopped using other flies entirely
"
Review 3 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Prefer the cinnamon color,
April 24, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
"Simple yet effective pattern. Have had better results with the cinnamon. The quality of tie has slipped some with hackle coming off easier. Still a go to pattern for me when I don't have time as a guide to tie them and they are on sale."
Review 4 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ant pattern I have ever used,
October 25, 2014
By: jeffw
from Seattle, Wa
"I have used this product on trout streams in British Columbia, Alberta and Montana. It will bring up some big fish that have seen a great deal of flies. Additionally, I find the fly is easy to see and track with my older eyes. Works so well I just ordered 12 more. Tight Lines"
Review 5 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great terrestrial,
October 23, 2014
By: jeffw
from Seattle, Wa
"I have used this fly on trout streams in British Columbia, Alberta and Montana. Last summer the cutthroat on the Big Blackfoot could not resist this fly. The fish love it and my old eyes can see and track the fly well. I just ordered 14 more of this great pattern."
Review 6 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick and exactly as described,
October 22, 2014
By: Adam25
from Baltimore, MD
"Two sweaters and an entry rug arrived quickly, were expertly packaged and fit perfectly. They were exactly as described online (rare) and I was delighted to work with a professional firm."
Review 7 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great simple terrestrial,
September 11, 2014
By: gps2388
from Christiansburg, VA
"This fly is probably my go-to terrestrial when hoppers are not abundant. Holds up really well for multiple fish and is easy to see on the water."
Review 8 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effective Summer Fly,
July 15, 2014
By: Banker3900
from Sylvania, Ohio
"Easy on and easy to follow in stream. A summer must."
Review 9 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Trout Magnet!,
January 2, 2014
By: yosegg
from Blue Ridge Mtns, NC
"The Quick Sight Ant works from coast to coast. Trout can't resist them."
Review 10 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Proven winner!,
January 1, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"Simple pattern but deadly! Especially with a dropper. I used this in Montana this summer and it was taking trout systematically. Tying it is simple as well. Had better luck with the brown vs. black but can't go wrong with either!! Brownies will come to the surface for this one!"
Review 11 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 23, 2013
By: Duskyfish
from Va
"Simple but effective rainbows up to 22" what a blast watching them inhale it"
Review 12 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Ant Pattern,
August 26, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"The Skilton Quick Sight Ant has become my favorite dry fly ant pattern. It is easy to cast, it floats well even when wet (without the need for floatant), it is durable and it is easy to see on the water. I use this pattern in all sizes and colors on moving and still waters during the months when terrestrials makeup a significant portion of a trout’s diet. This fly is also effective on pan fish and smaller bass. In addition, this fly is excellent when presented on ultra light spin fishing rigs using a casting bubble or weighted bobber."
Review 13 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quick site ant,
August 3, 2012
By: smoosh
from greensburg Pa
"Very effective fly,catches fish immediately. Not durable,over-priced"
Review 14 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Weak construction,
April 9, 2012
By: OhJon
"I ordered and received two.
One fell apart on removal from the box, the other remains intact.
If it does survive casting and hook a fish, I suspect it will fall apart after that one."
Review 15 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Ant Imitation,
February 2, 2012
By: gthiii
from Crystal City, Mo.
"I use these flies on midwest trout streams with great success. They seem to draw fish up when nothing else is getting their attention. They are also easy to see and follow especially when you are equiped with a pair of old eyes!"
Review 16 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great ant,
January 1, 2012
By: Proflyfisher
"This ant pattern is a great attractor pattern and in the summer time"
Review 17 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
December 30, 2011
By: yosegg
from Blue Ridge Mtns, NC
"The quick sight ant works on wild trout from the east to the west coast. You can fish it floating or let it tumble through the rapids. The fish just love it!"
Review 18 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simple but superb,
August 12, 2011
By: Austinz
from Western Pennsylvania
"A very good carpenter ant imitation! Ants are extremely common and can be found almost in every waterway so it is always a good fly to fish when there are no or few hatches in your area. I fly fish this ant all the time during trout season and it is great! My biggest fish on it was a 18 inch brown trout that pummeled the ant. I would recommend buying 3 to 4 just as insurance incase you lose one or a fish beats it up to much since it really is only foam. This is also a great fly for panfish."
Review 19 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just works,
June 23, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I've fished this fly a ton during summer in small streams and in the banks of stillwater. It works wonderfully and imitates both carpenter ant and small beetle terrestrials. This fly is a must have in every freshwater fisherman's fly box. I always carry 3-4 in varying sizes."
Review 20 for Skilton Quick Sight Ant
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Get Some,
June 14, 2010
By: FishingAround
from Debert, Nova Scotia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished this fly all over the Northeast US and now in Nova Scotia. When nothing else is working, this fly gets fish to rise. The amount of hits I get when no one else is catching fish is just silly.
I have six boxes of flies and keep a great assortment of all sorts. But I keep lots of this fly in two sizes in my most used fly box and fish them both at every single place I fish, just to see if they will work. My biggest problem is keeping enough of them them in the fly box.
The biggest compliment I can give this fly is that it will catch fish. Your friends will be begging to borrow one when you are catching fish and they are not. By far and away the MOST RELIABLE FLY in my fly box."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.