Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Windproof Fleece Hat

These fishing hats block out the wind with two full layers of polyfleece and a laminate layer in between. They have brushed polyfleece ear flaps to keep ears warm without inhibiting your hearing. Fleece fishing hats in black. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Windproof Fleece Hat
Review 1 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warm but too big,
November 14, 2014
By: doughboy
from St. Louis, MO
"I have a small crown, but wide head so typically I have a difficult time finding headgear that fits perfectly. This cap is nice & warm but be warned: it's very long. If I stretch it all the way down so that it's flat on the top of my head, it covers my ears alright ... and my eyebrows, and almost my eyelids. Paul Bunyon I'm not :) Still it's adequate and will be great for cold-weather casual activities, just not for out on the town."
Review 2 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm but tight,
February 8, 2014
By: steve49
"The hat kept me warm but was a little too tight.
Worked well in 60km/hr wind
"
Review 3 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
not pretty, but warm and practical!!!,
February 8, 2014
By: chili
from connecticut yankee/Nguyen Tu
"I purchased a hat like this one and bought this went it went on sale. It's a good deal at regular. BTW, it's worth getting the ORVIS credit card for the free shipping provided you don't carry a balance. :-)
This hat is synthetic but warm. It covers your ears and your head. It can also be worn with a cap underneath for extra warmth. Yes, it's not handsome or pretty, kind of looks like the hat the ancient rulers of Venice war, but you'll be glad to be smart enough to own it on a cold day. Great if you wear a military style haircut or your losing your hair. A must have. Orvis, it would be wonderful if you offered this same style hat in an organic fiber and made in the USA under the Fair Trade Act.
"
Review 4 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of a kind,
December 23, 2013
By: Tatoaline
from Queretaro, mexici
"I was looking for a hat that wasn't too hot but enough for very windy days and this is the only one that I Could found"
Review 5 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just the job....,
June 4, 2013
By: griFFo
from Staffordshire, England
"Feels fantastic, looks great and will be a firm favourite when the cold weather arrives."
Review 6 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 4, 2012
By: helimech
from Alaska
"Love this hat! Hard to find a beanie type that covers the ears that does not have tassels or other useless stuff on it. Cuts the wind and fits easily in a pocket. In fact this was the only one of this design I could find on the net."
Review 7 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
does the job,
May 28, 2012
By: hotfoot
from Galway, Ireland
"I wish this hat came in a smaller size because I am an adult woman with a small(ish) head and this cap swims around when I move so I have to readjust it from time to time. It is comfortable to wear and keeps my ears warm even when there is some wind so it's the best one I've found so far, although not the most beautiful."
Review 8 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Great Buy,
December 29, 2011
By: ERowe
from Brandon, MS
"A great addition to my head gear. Each member of the family have worn it."
Review 9 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very functional article of clothing.,
December 10, 2011
By: DangolfandATV
from North Georgia Mountains
"This camp is perfect for keeping my ears warm when playing golf in the winter and riding my ATV on mountain trails. Light weight and very warm!"
Review 10 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the spring SH run,
July 10, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As much as I love to fish, I really don't like being cold. I found that this hat keeps my head warmer than virtually any other hat I have tried."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
One size does not fit all.,
February 5, 2010
By: tpal
from Lehman, PA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Great hat if it fit. The hat seems to run a bit large, I do not think I could ski in it or it would blow off my head. Also, the large size keeps the hat from stretching around my head, thus keeping a big point at the top of the hat which looks silly. However, if it did fit me, it would be a nice comfortable and warm hat; especially for the price."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer to express regret that sizing of this hat didn't fit him well, and to apologize for any inconvenience. We want our customers to be 100% pleased with all of their purchases from Orvis. We will gladly exchange or refund any purchase.
Review 12 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenient and Cozy,
January 27, 2010
By: MacAndCheese
from Two Rivers, WI
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"A simple but comfortable alternative to a knit cap. Very warm and convenient. The best bet for routine use in cold climates."
Review 13 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light weight ear saver,
January 22, 2010
By: Neill
from Edmonton, AB
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I was getting frost bite on my ears this winter from some exceptionally cold spells, so looked for something easy to cover the tips. This hat came to my notice, as the top really is windproof.. I have found even though it is light weight, it keeps the heat in, and my head warm. Nice and light to pack in a pocket too. (And yes, my ears have stayed frost free! )"
Review 14 for Windproof Fleece Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When it's cold outside,
May 14, 2008
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
"The Primaloft hat is terrific, but if it turns blustery, this hat is thicker and warmer, and the ear flaps keep your ears warm. Worth throwing in your kit if you're headed north or into the mountains or just plain steelheading."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Windproof Fleece Hat
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1