Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bead Head Prince

The combination of the Prince fly pattern with a bead head is a definite nymph fishing winner. Read the review below and you'll see why anglers love these fly patterns. Peacock herl is one of the best materials for creating a lifelike appearance and this is one of the best searching fly patterns out there. Color, Peacock. Sizes: 12, 14, 16, 18.
Average Customer Rating:
4.952 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 of 42(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Bead Head Prince
Review 1 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bead Head Prince,
June 25, 2014
By: bigwig4
from Baltimore County, MD
"I fish the Gunpowder River in Maryland year round, and my all-time "go to" fly in the Bead Head Prince. This pattern never fail,s as I routinely catch 8-16 inch Browns and Bows, using both a single fly pattern, as well as a double fly (dropper)pattern."
Review 2 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essential....,
June 6, 2014
By: SGimshewicz
from Upstate NY
"I have caught more fish on this nymph than any on multiple streams early, in the summer and during the fall. Everyone needs this nymph and in a couple of sizes."
Review 3 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flybox staple well made,
June 5, 2014
By: awaltonlaw
from Columbus, ohio
"I like the colors and so do Bluegill. Wow what a lot of fun."
Review 4 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly,
June 4, 2014
By: jonsport63
from Memphis,TN
"This is a great fly. You may find cheaper, but not better. This is also reasonably priced."
Review 5 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The go to fly,
June 4, 2014
By: CohoSammi
from Mont Vernon, NH
"When no hatch is on, everyone should have this fly in their box"
Review 6 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Too lazy to tie this winter,
May 29, 2014
By: JohnHiggins
from Buffalo NY
"Ordered the bead head prince nymph flies to replenish my fly box. It’s one of the constant producers in the small WNY streams I fish. A must have in your fly box."
Review 7 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!,
May 29, 2014
By: Fishermankim
from Oakhurst, ca
"I use this fly all the time! It's so great for easy fishing with big results! I just had to buy another! Orvis products are always exceptional!"
Review 8 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catch Trout,
April 16, 2014
By: Harlowmo
"I have purchased several of these flies and worn them out with caught fish."
Review 9 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
repeat purchase,
March 31, 2014
By: jpesek
from Spring, Texas
"Have had amazing good fortune with the bead head prince nymph, reordered 5 to re-stock my fly box. Heading to the Taylor,Gunnison and East Rivers in July and August. I highly recommend this for large deep Rainbows and Browns."
Review 10 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid fly,
February 10, 2014
By: Rbeecal
from Northern California
"Well made, good proportions, and finished fly is solid."
Review 11 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great panfish fly,
February 1, 2014
By: nayman
from phoenix,az
"went to bartlett lake and caught 18 realy good sized blugill in about an hour"
Review 12 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
January 28, 2014
By: SurferRJ
from Goffstown, NH
"The attention to detail on these flies is superior, can't wait until spring to try them out."
Review 13 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My go to Nymph,
January 28, 2014
By: mikeb44
from Phoenix, AZ
"This is my favorite nymph and I use it in Colorado rigged as a topper/dropper.
I've purchased several of these from Orvis over the years....and at this price, they're a very good value."
Review 14 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best catch!,
December 31, 2013
By: Chikdstar
from Ashland, Wisconsin
"Bought as a gift for a fly fisherman, I based my selection on cuteness, colorfullness, cost and general appeal to my eyes. I was praised by the recipient of the gift "excellent selection, sure to catch a brookie". Thank you Orvis!"
Review 15 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Attractor Nymph,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I love to use this nymph when there is nothing else drawing a bite. I don't think I have ever been shut out with this little number. I fish it below a thingamabob."
Review 16 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing lures,
December 20, 2013
By: Williebr
"Not only effective, but little works of art. Well made"
Review 17 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bead Head Prince,
December 12, 2013
By: NewMexicoFlyGuy
from New Mexico
"How can you have too many basic flies like this one or an Elk Hair Caddis? Buy them when they are on sale and then you have a cheap back up supply..."
Review 18 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have Nymph Flies,
November 24, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"Nymphs are must have flies that imitate sub-surface food sources that comprise the majority of a trout’s diet. These flies have been consistently productive for me on everything from stocked rainbows and browns, to wild brookies on urban and park streams throughout Virginia. Always in my fly box."
Review 19 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Browns Love It!,
September 29, 2013
By: BattenkillBountyHunter
"It's been a hit or miss year here on the Battenkill, but these BH/TH Prince nymphs continue to produce fish. I haven't caught any lunkers on these, but they consistently bring in beautiful 8-13 inchers."
Review 20 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Outstanding,
September 2, 2013
By: wlalshR
from Wilsonville,Oregon
"I use this fly last weekend and fishing was very productive"