Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bead Head Prince

The combination of the Prince fly pattern with a bead head is a definite nymph fishing winner. Read the review below and you'll see why anglers love these fly patterns. Peacock herl is one of the best materials for creating a lifelike appearance and this is one of the best searching fly patterns out there. Color, Peacock. Sizes: 12, 14, 16, 18.
Average Customer Rating:
4.971 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 of 35(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Bead Head Prince
Review 1 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catch Trout,
April 16, 2014
By: Harlowmo
"I have purchased several of these flies and worn them out with caught fish."
Review 2 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
repeat purchase,
March 31, 2014
By: jpesek
from Spring, Texas
"Have had amazing good fortune with the bead head prince nymph, reordered 5 to re-stock my fly box. Heading to the Taylor,Gunnison and East Rivers in July and August. I highly recommend this for large deep Rainbows and Browns."
Review 3 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid fly,
February 10, 2014
By: Rbeecal
from Northern California
"Well made, good proportions, and finished fly is solid."
Review 4 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great panfish fly,
February 1, 2014
By: nayman
from phoenix,az
"went to bartlett lake and caught 18 realy good sized blugill in about an hour"
Review 5 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
January 28, 2014
By: SurferRJ
from Goffstown, NH
"The attention to detail on these flies is superior, can't wait until spring to try them out."
Review 6 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My go to Nymph,
January 28, 2014
By: mikeb44
from Phoenix, AZ
"This is my favorite nymph and I use it in Colorado rigged as a topper/dropper.
I've purchased several of these from Orvis over the years....and at this price, they're a very good value."
Review 7 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best catch!,
December 31, 2013
By: Chikdstar
from Ashland, Wisconsin
"Bought as a gift for a fly fisherman, I based my selection on cuteness, colorfullness, cost and general appeal to my eyes. I was praised by the recipient of the gift "excellent selection, sure to catch a brookie". Thank you Orvis!"
Review 8 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Attractor Nymph,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I love to use this nymph when there is nothing else drawing a bite. I don't think I have ever been shut out with this little number. I fish it below a thingamabob."
Review 9 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing lures,
December 20, 2013
By: Williebr
"Not only effective, but little works of art. Well made"
Review 10 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bead Head Prince,
December 12, 2013
By: NewMexicoFlyGuy
from New Mexico
"How can you have too many basic flies like this one or an Elk Hair Caddis? Buy them when they are on sale and then you have a cheap back up supply..."
Review 11 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have Nymph Flies,
November 24, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"Nymphs are must have flies that imitate sub-surface food sources that comprise the majority of a trout’s diet. These flies have been consistently productive for me on everything from stocked rainbows and browns, to wild brookies on urban and park streams throughout Virginia. Always in my fly box."
Review 12 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Browns Love It!,
September 29, 2013
By: BattenkillBountyHunter
"It's been a hit or miss year here on the Battenkill, but these BH/TH Prince nymphs continue to produce fish. I haven't caught any lunkers on these, but they consistently bring in beautiful 8-13 inchers."
Review 13 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Outstanding,
September 2, 2013
By: wlalshR
from Wilsonville,Oregon
"I use this fly last weekend and fishing was very productive"
Review 14 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenient, good prices and great quality,
August 20, 2013
By: westernwannabe
from Michigan
"Taking a trip to MT with my daughter in September and want to make sure we're prepared in case we don't get to a fly shop before being stream side, so placed an order for a variety of flies that we'll want to have stocked up in our boxes. Still like to get into the local fly shops for advice and obligation to buy flies to reciprocate, but Orvis flies are always a good bet. Best value around for flies."
Review 15 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to nymph,
August 20, 2013
By: OldBlueEyes
"This is my go-to nymph when dry fly fishing is slow. Never fails!"
Review 16 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spring nymphing,
May 7, 2013
By: DJ57
from Creamery Pa
"I fish the Wissahickon creek when I don't feel like driving for 2-3 hrs. since it's close to my house. I fish these in tandem, one light, one dark, and I absolutely destroy the trout this time of year!"
Review 17 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Proven winner,
May 2, 2013
By: Flyfisher111
from Laconia,N.H.
"Used the fly as a dropper in one of my favorite spots. Didn't have much time,but less than an hour later,I walked off the river with 3 very nice rainbow trout. The fly stayed together very well for the most part. Lost just a bit at the end,but still fishable. Pretty hard to beat that."
Review 18 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ran out of my home tied flies,
April 9, 2013
By: Jonez13
"I ran out of my bead heads I tied. So I bought these reluctantly. I have had great luck with these all over the northeast even caught small mouth on them. Great tied fly! I think I'll buy some more"
Review 19 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Fly - Good Qualtiy,
October 18, 2012
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"As has been my experience with all of Orvis' flies, this is well tied and fairly robust/rugged. This is a classic fly that all anglers should have in their box."
Review 20 for Bead Head Prince
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have,
September 21, 2012
By: FlyFishMO
from Windsor MO
"Used this under a popper, caught lots of bluegill and even a couple of 14" bass on this."