Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender

Make your backseat safer and more comfortable for your dog with the firmness and security of our microfiber-covered foam backseat extender. Sized to easily fit in the footwells of the backseat of most cars and SUVs, the Microfiber Backseat Extender's high-density foam core gives your dog more room and prevents him from slipping down between the front and rear seats. In light tan, charcoal. 13"H x 25"W x 12"D. Capacity 150 lbs. Cover is washable. Two extenders are needed to cover the entire backseat area, as shown in photograph. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.464 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
102 of 110(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Review 1 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A GREAT INVENTION!!!!!,
December 14, 2014
By: BEA3399
from NAUGATUCK, CT
"THIS PRODUCT IS GREAT..MY ALMOST 16 YEAR OLD DOG IS VERY UNSTEADY..SO THIS IS PERFECT FOR HER..THEY FIT NICELY IN MY GRAND MARQUIS AND WILL EVEN FIT MY FOCUS WAGON. YOU JUST SQUEEZE THEM IN...I AM SO HAPPY THAT I DON'T HAVE TO STRUGGLE WITH HER FALLING ANYMORE BETWEEN THE FRONT AND BACK SEAT ON OUR WAY TO THE VET."
Review 2 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Dogs Thank Me,
December 14, 2014
By: Debbie51
from Atlanta, GA
"Doubling the room with the Solid Foam Microfiber Back Seat Extenders is the best thing my dogs think I've done for them for travel I have an Outback, and by using a pair of these, 2 large Goldens have plenty of room to stretch and I still have a cargo area, because I can leave the seats upright"
Review 3 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Godsend,
December 11, 2014
By: Zirka
from Toronto, ON
"Finally my klutzy goldendoodle 10 month old puppy can stabilize himself in the back seat. These extenders are just what the Dr. ordered. Gives him a lot more room to balance himself (without the fear of falling into the foot wells) and enjoy the ride.
Thank You Orvis!"
Review 4 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I was hoping,
December 9, 2014
By: tlwill
from Carmel Valley, CA
"I was looking for a back seat extender for a Ford F350 and these fit as I was hoping. They are soft enough to squeeze a couple of small things around them but also sturdy enough the dog doesn't sink into them. Note: you must purchase two to fit all the way across the back seat. Only have been briefly tested with the dog but seems like they will hold up as has all the products I have purchased from Orvis."
Review 5 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome Find!,
December 8, 2014
By: KickIceQueen
"I really love the extender. It fits well and it gives me peace of mind with my dog in the backseat. It's solid foam and it way better than other seat extenders that are more for little dogs. My dog is 60 lbs and it works for her. My only negative is the price and the fact two extenders are required to fit the entire backseat."
Review 6 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More Room for the Pooches.,
December 6, 2014
By: junior1954
from Chicago
"We have a weekend home about 150 miles from our full-time home that we go to almost every weekend. Our mini-van holds everything well and gets 25mpg, but I just bought a Passat diesel sedan that gets over 40mpg. Seat extenders allow me to take both my dogs (one 50-lb, 2nd 65-lb) in the car and saves me $."
Review 7 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional seat extenders,
December 3, 2014
By: Therapydogluvr
from Wausau,WI
"I recently got a Yukon with bucket seats in the 2nd row,making it hard to place my 2 dog booster seats to transport my Yorkies & Cockers for therapy dog visits without them falling between the bucket seats. I purchased 2 backseat extenders. One to put behind the front row seat and one to put between the bucket seats...this has made a big difference so none of the dogs fall to the floor. I purchased two of these because one is not enough.
I do wish they came 2 sizes in length because the one is a little to short.
"
Review 8 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Security and Comfy!,
December 2, 2014
By: Bumper16
from Alexandria VA
"My dog loves this insert-it gives her more room to spread out and the fear of falling between the seats is gone!"
Review 9 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for larger dogs in car!,
December 2, 2014
By: Farrah
from McKinney, Tx
"Our Doberman loves the extra space on the bucket seat. He lays down comfortably in the car now and falls asleep!"
Review 10 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
December 2, 2014
By: Chofu73
from Maryland
"Keeps the dog comfortable. She cam lay down without worry of falling off he seat. Dog was a little skeptical, but when covered with a blanket, she couldn't tell where seat stopped."
Review 11 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect for extending seat,
December 1, 2014
By: jack6
from maine
"We have a 2014 Acura RDX along with a 100 pound boxer/lab mix. The back seat extender works great for him to spread out and there is even room enough to add another boxer to the family!"
Review 12 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
backseat extender,
November 14, 2014
By: BeauNelly
from Washington, DC
"I have 2 small dogs and one is especially rowdy in our SUV. We have a screen between the front and back seats to keep him from jumping over the seats but the gap between the front and back seats created a serious hazard for both dogs for which I had to jerry rig solutions. Then I saw the seat extenders which answered this ongoing problem. I just tried them out and they work perfectly. I am so relieved to have them b/c I won't worry about one of them getting caught in the footwell and injuring himself while I am driving."
Review 13 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what a difference,
November 14, 2014
By: robson123
from East Midlands
"We are owned by three large lurcher dogs who hate travelling in the back of the hatchback. These back seat extenders have made such a difference and are of a good solid construction. Now our three dogs travel in style on the back seat in an Orvis hammock and seat extenders."
Review 14 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recommend for the dog lover,
November 13, 2014
By: Keesies
from Minnesota
"My dogs love having these to spread out on. They have always liked to ride in the car, but now they can't get enough of it. The foam makes the backseat become like a comfy sofa. I was skeptical at first. Great purchase if you travel a lot with your canine friend."
Review 15 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worked perfectly,
November 13, 2014
By: Eriemaid62
from Erie, PA
"We have one large dog and one medium sized dog. We needed more room in the backseat and these extenders did the job. There is a gap between the two that we filled with beach towels. The extenders enabled both dogs to have plenty of room for our 13 hour trip."
Review 16 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty good,
November 13, 2014
By: CharleyBradbury
"My dog had a bad habit of hiding behind the seat and constricting herself with the car dog harness. The foam stopped that and she now likes to lay out across the back seat. Fits in the front passenger seat too! I drive a fiat 500 pop."
Review 17 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Better than inflatable,
November 13, 2014
By: cfitzjs
"This is better than the inflatable filler because it is easily removable and not so unwieldy. you can take it out and put it in the back if you want to put passengers in the back seat which is nearly impossible with the inflatable seat extender."
Review 18 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog safety in the back of your car,
November 13, 2014
By: antbark
from Wincanton BA9
"A great safety idea and comfort ,especially for the larger dog. The Orvis back seat extender stops your dog falling down in the area between the back seat and the back of the front seat. Ideally one needs to buy a pair as the dog can easily fall down from the other rear seat. A discount for buying a pair would help the customer ! However, it is a great product if you do not have an estate car or need that area for carrying items ."
Review 19 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TAN SOLID FOAM PAD HAS BEEN WORTH EVERY PENNY,
November 13, 2014
By: dallastx4u
from Dallas
"THIS TAN SOLID FOAM PAD HAS BEEN WORTH EVERY PENNY !!! my dog absolutely loves it and has more room in the back of my four door 2008 Honda civic and is made of good quality stiff foam and suede type upholstery. OK now on to what I don't like about it. I wish that they offered a smaller version in size on the keep the height the same but slim down the width to fit better in a 2008 Honda civic. we had to shove the pad down in the gap of the back seats its a real snug fit and we can still recline our front seats but have to kind of give it a lil push to do so. but the height is ok a little higher would be better but its still ok also the width needs to be thinner to fit a Honda civic better but my pitbull gets very comfortable sprawls out and my pit bull can even lay between the seats to have his head up in the front seat with while driving and takes naps on the road."
Review 20 for Solid Foam Microfiber Backseat Extender
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog loves it,
November 13, 2014
By: VSRiley
"The extender works perfectly in the backseat of my crewcab pickup. The dog figured out that he could lay across it within a few minutes and now he loves it."