Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Beaufort Jacket

Waterproof, wax-treated 100% cotton shell with snap-close throat and storm flaps for additional protection against the elements. Corduroy collar studded for an optional hood. Two front bellows pockets and two moleskin-lined handwarmer pockets. Snap-front storm flap conceals zip-up wallet pocket and a full-width rear game pocket with side zips. Underarm ventilation. Brass-finish, two-way metal zipper. Medium weight for all-around use. Fully lined with cotton tartan. Six exterior pockets. Pure cotton. Cold sponge, no soap. Imported.Even sizes: 34-52. 33" long in size 42. Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
90
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
104 of 112(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best. Coat. Ever.,
November 19, 2014
By: Willmorin
from Greenville dc
"So well built. Incredibly durable. Better yet it looks dang good on me and we'll everyone else."
Review 2 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Beauford,
October 17, 2014
By: Nitro287
from Henniker NH
"My fourth Barbour . Best quality coat I have ever owned ! Plus Orvis is a great place to do business . 100%
satisfied and I am hard to please .
This coat will last 20-30 years if it is thornproofed. Five stars .
"
Review 3 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wax & Wane,
October 7, 2014
By: Triggerslapper
from N. Michigan
"I have considered a Barbour jacket for years. Chose the Beaufort after much consideration. Many to choose from. This seem suited best for my use.
Overall I really like it. My only criticism is some of the stitching and finishing of the sleeve cuffs. Seems a little shabby. Five stars otherwise.
"
Review 4 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Jacket,
September 3, 2014
By: JoeW2
from CT
"I've had my Beaufort since the early 1990s (they're still made the same) and it is the perfect all-day outdoor jacket, has a useful lined game pocket in back (for carrying book, water bottle, hat, etc.), plenty of pockets, wind-proof, waterproof, stain-proof and always in style. Only had to re-wax once or twice in all those years. Has lasted countless days/ miles outdoors in all conditions; best gift ever!"
Review 5 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best!,
July 16, 2014
By: Flintstone
from Maine
"Where else can you find such well-crafted foul weather gear tailored to your particular size? The quality of construction is immediately apparent; this is clearly a durable garment. Looks great, the right length, zippers are easy to use."
Review 6 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not for everyone, but I like it,
March 10, 2014
By: Mali
from Seattle, WA
"Overall, beautifully made jacket. I love this addition to my wardrobe, but its not perfect.
1. Not super breathable, noticeable in Seattle, but may not be an issue outside of the rainforest.
2. A little heavy, so makes the neckline feel a little claustrophobic, but I'm kind of sensitive about things around my neck
3. Will send jacket in to have another inch added to the sleeves. Major improvement over most women's clothing, but I have REALLY long arms.
"
Review 7 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Woinderful quality,
January 20, 2014
By: Momoftrapshooters
from Greenwich, CT
"The Barbour Beaufort jacket is a wonderful style and of the highest quality. It comes in a nice variety of colors and is a classic. It is, however, the longer style of the Barbour jackets and was a bit long on my boys. They ended up with the Bedale style and are very happy."
Review 8 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Quality Jacket,
January 20, 2014
By: EnglishGearHead
from Dallas, TX
"This jacket is very good quality. I am a home builder and quite often am meeting my workers in rainy conditions. The wax coating does a good job of keeping me dry. I would like to have a couple of additional interior pockets, but other wise this is a good choice for those wet days"
Review 9 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome jacket,
January 16, 2014
By: Mamagigs
from SC
"This was a big hit with my husband! Even though we don't have much snow, we have cold rain, so this jacket is perfect!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not over rated,
January 16, 2014
By: tennesseetwin
"The Barbour jacket proved to live
up to its reputation. Great quality
of construction and good fit.
"
Review 11 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
daughter's dream,
January 15, 2014
By: yehaw
from No Little Rock, AR
"i bought the jacket last year but she wanted black and that was not available. it was this year and her fave gift by far. most excellent quality"
Review 12 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Barbour customer service - repairs,
January 12, 2014
By: Notabarbourfan
from Seattle WA
"Jacket is just fine overall. But a big problem with an immediate ripped cord sheath prompted emails to barbour cust. service in the US and England, where jacket was purchased to fix the problem. Not single bit of communication from either source. I don't recommend buying, because there is NO CUSTOMER SERVICE re: repairing Barbour"
Review 13 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Beaufort,
January 9, 2014
By: jbooth1966
from Alabama
"I've always wanted one of these jackets and it didnt' disappoint. I'm 5'10" and 195 lbs and ordered a 46 initially but it was a little big. Exchanged for a 44 and the fit is perfect. There's still plenty of room for a sweater or flleece vest underneath. Plenty warm, too, even without the liner. Orvis and UPS delivered it in a timely manner. Exchange was smooth, too. Thanks."
Review 14 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Purchase,
January 9, 2014
By: barbourqueen
"I really like the Barbour line and bought this for my husband for Christmas. He happen to buy one for me as a surprise! I've wanted this jacket for a long time...so everyone is happy!"
Review 15 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Jacket Purchase,
January 6, 2014
By: SamN
from Atlanta, GA (Buckhead)
"Received great customer service without being obnoxious, which is hard to find. I always recieve this treatment at this Orvis in Atlanta."
Review 16 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mens Barbour jacaket,
January 1, 2014
By: Laurenaj
"The jacket arrived as promised on Christmas eve and fit my boyfriend very well and adds to his wonderful style. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 17 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever...,
December 30, 2013
By: TommyCreek
from Overland Park, Kansas
"This makes the 3rd Barbour jacket I have purchased from Orvis. The first was for me over 20 years ago. It is still going strong even though it has been through extreme use. This coat was for my wife and last year I purchased one for our daughter. Now I just have to get them for our sons. That alone should tell you they are the BEST EVER...."
Review 18 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
December 16, 2013
By: PatCCraig
from Saint Paul, MN
"I've wanted a Barbour jacket for quite a while, and just ordered one through Orvis. The jacket looks and fits great. Orvis customer service was helpful in ordering over the phone and the jacket arrived within a few days. I would recommend the jacket for someone looking for a more upscale equivalent to wearing a North Face shell around. It's waterproof and warm enough to get you through most chilly fall and spring days."
Review 19 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great experience,
November 8, 2013
By: MeccaGeronimo
from Northern Virginia
"I purchased this jacket as a replacement for my old Beaufort. I didn't wear it out, I finally outgrew it after 20 years!
I love This jacket for three reasons. Their workmanship is the highest quality- I haven't had a lick of problems with zippers, seams, or stitching unlike the other jackets I've owned. The service from Barbour and Orvis has been great, including rewaxing and alterations to spec. Finally, this is truly an all-endeavors garment, I've worn mine for everything from shooting to a hasty raincoat to cover a jacket and tie.
A few things to be aware of when buying a Beaufort. First, they are lined, but not insulated. They work great as a wind proof and waterproof but need a liner or layers underneath for the cold days. Second, size the jacket to your body and clothing. I'm long armed and broad shouldered, so the clerk at Orvis spent some extra time helping me ensure a good fit. Finally, the waxed cotton does have an "aroma" when new and can "sweat" a little in a hot car or drying room. It becomes much less of an issue after about 90 days of wear, and the jacket gets a nice appearance.
All in all, the Beaufort has been my favorite jacket for over 20 years!"
Review 20 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Beaufort Jacket,
November 5, 2013
By: NeilFTM
from Salinas, CA
"A beautiful jacket, exactly as you would expect of Barbour. I was worried about sizing as it was online purchase, but the guys at Orvis helped me out and I took their advice, it fits perfectly.Shipping was very speedy too, well done Orvis and thank you."