Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Primaloft Jacket

This insulated Primaloft jacket is made to keep your warm, even when you're wet. Unlike down, which loses insulating properties when wet, PrimaLoft's® patented microfiber technology repels water droplets so you retain heat and energy to stay warm in wet weather. The lightweight, breathable Primaloft jacket packs down to stuff right into its own pockets. A DWR finish repels water. Dolphin skin jacket cuffs lock out water to keep you dry when handling fish. Insulated jacket has reverse coil zippers with front slash pockets. Jacket in moss, navy. Nylon shell, PrimaLoft fill. Washable. Imported.Primaloft jacket sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primaloft Jacket
Review 1 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Light Weight Jacket,
January 3, 2011
By: Walter1879
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Nice light weight jacket. The hand opening at the cuffs is very small and the velcro strap is very short. I can tighten the cuffs, but only if I pull them tight."
Review 2 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great for $79 sale price,
November 8, 2010
By: well
from new england
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"-warm jacket for fall fishing
-very packable
-good design
-great for sale $$$$
-velcro to short and should be moved to other side but you can live with it
-has one missing element - HOOD
-otherwise one of the best you can have if bought for low sale price
"
Review 3 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm, packs tight, velcro could be longer,
November 5, 2010
By: TarHeel18
from North Carolina
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I travel often for work, usually leaving home in a suit and overcoat (in winter). This tight packing coat fits in my overnight bag and allows a casual warm coat at night without the bulk. I don't mind that the arms are tight at the wrist, but the velcro should be a bit longer in order to fasten, but not bind. In NC, this is a very warm coat."
Review 4 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
April 10, 2010
By: FloridaConch
from Florida
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Though I read all of the reviews about this jacket, I went ahead and bought one, hoping that some of the problems identified in the other reviews were wrong. They weren't. The problems with the velcro on the sleeves are serious ones while the arm hole themselves are simply too small for man's jacket. The primaloft in this jacket is far thicker than Patagonia's similar model. And for the money, Patagonia's is a better constructed, more useful outdoor "undercoating.""
Review 5 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
March 24, 2010
By: mmoo
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Very light, good looking, and very, very, warm jacket. It was just a little short for me and was not a trim fit. I am not skinny, but this had far too much room in the belly area."
Review 6 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Functional but dissapointing,
March 18, 2010
By: LoneStaronaFly
from Crosby, Texas
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I hate to write a less than favorable review but this jacket is not easily wearable. The cuffs are very tight even before the velcro attachment is engaged. I had to send the first one back (a size large, which I usually wear) and have an extra large sent because I had difficulty slipping my hand through the tight fitting cuff. The XL allows room to slip my hand through but the rest of the fit is too big. I know I could return it to Orvis again but the jacket is good at breaking the cool spring wind and is certainly more affordable than the other Orvis wading jackets. One other thing, Orvis could drop the black coloration from the sleeve and make this a pretty good looking jacket. As it is, you might be dissappointed, too."
Review 7 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
March 14, 2010
By: Dunc
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Loved the simplicity of the jacket. Great by itself or under a Gore-Tex shell. The cuffs are very functional on the stream, but a bit much to wear out around town."
Review 8 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product for wearing under a jacket,
February 28, 2010
By: mtnplzur
from SC
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a very warm layer for under a jacket or outside on clear days. The sleeves prevent soaking if you have to reach into the water."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Primaloft Jacket,
February 26, 2010
By: csfish
from Tallahassee, FL
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I originally bought this jacket at full price and have been pleased. It is very warm eventhough it is light weight and packs down into its own pocket. It was a huge savings on sale (over half off), so I got a second one to have a spare for casual wear. The one thing I would improve is to have the outer shell be a quieter material. It is a pretty slick and noisy covering. It would be a great hunting coat if it they offered it with a quiet camo outer shell."
Review 10 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Cold Weather Jacket,
February 23, 2010
By: midwrite
from Ohio
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a great light weight cold weather jacket, period! It's easy to wear, doesn't effect your casting and is very warm. I have a bunch (lots) of jackets and this is one that I always have with me. I have worn it in NE Ohio, PA and NY these past months without any issues.
If I were asked to help redesign this jacket I would add two large fly box pockets, add fleece to the inside of the collar (easier on the face when it's real cold) and make the velcro on the cuffs much longer and wider. These few changes would make this GREAT jacket even more fabulous!
As an aside, in the attached pic, I wore my Patagonia wading jacket over my Primaloft jacket strictly for the hood and exterior pockets....."
Review 11 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Jacket,
February 18, 2010
By: Breamfly50
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I finally broke down and bought this jacket when it was on sale and it is an awesome value. I have already used it in this cold snowy Mississippi weather we have been having and have been well pleased. Thanks!"
Review 12 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Jacket,
February 4, 2010
By: Good
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this on sale for $99 and for that price it was a good deal. It is roomy, very comfortable and warmer than I expected. I like everything about it including the fact that it is very compressible, (one of the reasons I bought it) The only thing I dont like is length of the velcro that secures the end of the sleeves. It needs to be longer and I think the sleeves should be a little larger at the wrist. That aside, it is a great jacket."
Review 13 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, light and compresses,
December 12, 2009
By: starchild
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this jacket when it was on sale for $90. This jacket is really warm, and packs down small. It's light, too. The one I got has different wrist closer tabs than the one in the photo. They are way to short to be effective. I am going to have a tailor either extend them, or remove them. Still, for $90, this was a good find.
I would not pay $179 for this product, however."
Review 14 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
June 16, 2009
By: SFOOrvisShopper
from San Francisco, CA
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Got it this morning at work and it fits very nicely. Plenty of room and I really like the jacket cuffs: No doubt in my mind about how well they'll keep the water out.
Buying this jacket on sale right now was a great thing too. The only downsides to this jacket are:
1) Lack of interior pockets, aside from the single one that the jacket is supposed to stuff itself into
2) the collar could be lined with soft fleece of some sort rather than just being left with the nylon material of the jacket lining.
Other than that, great. The sleeve length is right for a large, as I've got a 34" sleeve length, a common problem with jackets of this sort."
Review 15 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket for Fly Fishing,
January 29, 2009
By: AvidFlyFisherman
from Atlanta, Georgia
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this jacket as a Christmas present to myself and went flyfishing immediately. I was amazed at how it kept me warm and dry. This is the best jacket I have ever bought and worth every cent. Now I plan to buy the matching vest. Its not bulky when you have your fly fishing vest and waders on. Very comfortable! Way to go Orvis!"
Review 16 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and easy to pack,
January 22, 2009
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Very light yet very warm and easy to pack. Roll it up and carry it in the back of your vest, ready to pull out and put on if the wind comes up."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic item for winter fishing,
December 2, 2008
By: toolman
from Billlings, MT
"Unbelievably light and warm. The dolphin skin cuffs and adjustable collar really make this coat. It is worth every penny."
Review 18 for Primaloft Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fisherman,
November 15, 2007
By: corning
"This coat is what every fishing person needs it keeps you warm and dry even in down pours, also very light to wear thanks Orvis"