Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket

Our men's rain jacket is just the right length (35" torso in Large) to give you extra coverage over the seat to midthigh so water falls clear of your lower half. Plus, its two-way zipper keeps the lower jacket from binding or restricting, allowing use in a boat or on a horse. Features include a roll-up hood with one-hand adjustability, fleece-lined handwarmers behind bellows cargo pockets, front slash pockets with water-resistant zippers, inside security pocket, hook-and-loop cinch cuffs, draw-cord adjustable waist, and a two-way full front zipper with snap-down storm flap. Rain jacket in olive. Weighs just 0.3 lbs. Gale Force® ripstop nylon with three-layer waterproof, breathable laminate membrane. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket
Review 1 for Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
functional features,
April 16, 2010
By: Qball
from MAnchester, VT
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"In response to a review posted on this jacket concerning the features.....I believe that they are better than Barbour or Partridge.
If you've ever worn a Barbour wax jacket and actually walked or hiked...you'd find that your totally uncomfortable as the garment doesn't breath at all.
The Orvis jacket has a right hand zip which is not intended for women but standard in the USA, the upper pockets are designed with the zipper closing in an upward fashion so that the contents of one's pockets will not fall out when one leans over and the zip is partially closed.
Detatchable hoods always require a closure of some type that lets in water or wind or leaves exposed zipper teeth on the back side of your collar when the hood is detached
The length is puposely a bit long to allow rain to shed past your hips/backside.
The design was well thought out and has proven itself for me in the field for many years."
Review 2 for Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Raincoat,
March 15, 2010
By: Lisurf2
from Long Island, New York
"Used this coat during a northeaster on Long Island this past weekend, with all that wind & heavy rain my new ORVIS raincoat kept me warm & dry. This was a wise purchase."
Review 3 for Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 11, 2010
By: WDBoss
from Cincinnati, OH
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I received this jacket as a Christmas Gift. The jacket is much nicer in person that it is looking at it on the website. I have worn this jacket more than I thought I would even though our Jan & Feb weather has been brutal. Layer this with a fleece and you can go out in all but the worst weather. I realize now that I am going to get far more use out of this jacket than I realized and would highly recommend this jacket."
Review 4 for Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket! But It May Leak.,
January 7, 2010
By: Tyeeman
from Pasadena, CA
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought this jacket to carry in my pack when fishing lakes in Northern Manitoba. Fished with it on maybe 10 days in two years. When not in the boat, the jacket was hung in a closet. Put it on a few weeks ago to walk my dog in the rain. Two miles later I was soaked. There are no rips, tears, holes, etc. Figured maybe the seam taping dried out. Wrote for a place to have the jacket repaired. Orvis is sending me a placement. That's OK, but I doubt I'll take along on another fishing trip. It's good as a top layer, but it's not a rain jacket. A "mist" jacket maybe."
Review 5 for Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent garment,
September 19, 2009
By: rainbowrider
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very good for both fishing and walking in Spring, Summer and Autumn. Highly recommended. Also very good service from Orvis. A small problem arose (the plastic top came off one of the poppers) and in response to my enquiry about a repair Orvis exchanged the whole garment."
Review 6 for Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Idea - Mediocre Execution,
February 17, 2009
By: arp46
from New York NY
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This jacket is lightweight and very functional -- it can be used 3 seasons with layering during the Winter. However, there are several disappointing shortcomings: the hood cannot be secured closed, the ridiculous leather "stops" just don't work; the zipper failed miserably -- it gets jammed by the lining and my wife, in an attempt to free me from the jacket when it jammed on the street, wound up breaking the pull right off of the zipper; and finally, the snap covers are insecure and can get caught on a chair and pulled off."
Review 7 for Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
October 3, 2008
By: eagle71
from nassau county;keene valley
"sizing is good,pockets deep enough for a prime lens,zipper is accessible,color works in the city,mountains and snow;easy to layer and no discernible gender issues; seems like a good price."
Review 8 for Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
June 19, 2008
By: London
from Ohio
"I bought this jacket to take on a trip to Ireland and Scotland. It is easily packed, even in a carry-on bag and kept me warm and dry for the entire trip. The numerous pockets are deep enough to prevent items from falling out unexpectedly. I would highly recommend this jacket. It's great for everyday wear, raining or not!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
can be improved,
April 7, 2008
By: estveld
from European Union EU
"Dear Orvis,
The material is superb.The design can be improved by:
-making the jacket two inch lower and placing the pockets 3 inch lower.
-using push buttons on the bottom of the sleevesand on the lower pockets and no closure at all on the upper pockets.
-the top-down closure should be the other way around,Your design is for women!
-the hood should be detachable.
All this is standard on f.e. the Barbour and Partridge design.
Looking forward to the perfect design!
"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultralight Breathable Rain Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another winner!,
November 10, 2007
By: Bruno
from St-Lambert, Quebec
"Bought this jacket, intending to put it in the back of my hunting vest as a backup when it rains, and use it on fishing trips. I wanted something light and packable. This jacket will do that just well, but I also ended up wearing it all the time. It breathes, is perfectly waterproof, and has been surprisingly windproof, and is nice looking enough to be used while in town as well.
Highly recommended."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.